We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite hotel in San Fran” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
home
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in San Fran”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

my husband and I have been here many times and have never been disappointed...the service is excellent...especially at the front door, those guys are amazing. I just love it when people go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of and having a good time...they make you feel special....the accommodations...AWESOME....comfy beds, the view, and the decor. check out the maritime museum, starts at the hotel and the best part goes across the street....incredible. the food at the blue mermaid...yummy,,,get some chowda...very tasty. We will be back for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marykrohne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,315
    1,521
    336
    124
    54
See reviews for
1,484
2,266
125
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,062)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here on our way back to Oregon ofter dropping off our youngest at college in LA. We booked on a discount site without knowing which hotel we were getting, and couldn't have been happier. Great location for my husband's early morning run along the bay and his all-important Starbucks stop when he was through. (Starbucks is on the corner of the hotel). The cable car was right across the street. The Buena Vista is kitty corner to the hotel (a must stop for Irish coffees) and Ghirardelli Square is a very short walk away. The room was decorated uniquely--nothing cookie-cutter about it. The bed and pillows were great, the room spacious, and the service was warm. We didn't make it there in time for the wine reception in the afternoon, but would have loved to have! Our rate was significantly lower than their published rates, and the woman at the front desk still upgraded us when we arrived. Would happily stay again, especially at the rate we got.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marty727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esher, surrey, UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at The Argonaut for 3 nights at the time the Americas cup trials were going on. This meant that the whole area was a bit of a madhouse! Leaving that to one side, the nightly wine tasting also means that there are queues of residents waiting for their free wine which to my mind isn't worth bothering with. On the positive side,the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Our room was okay but the bathroom was just like a cupboard. If you like to be in the heart of the tourist area then you'll probably like the location. The Mermaid kitchen is great for dinner and breakfast and there is a great bar next door called Jacks. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacki_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Oh, no, miss Jacki_Dee!
I'm so sorry that the America's Cup crowds put a damper on your stay. I hope that your fond memories of our staff and Blue Mermaid restaurant may draw you back to see us again at a more normal time. You might like to relax in one of our upgraded suites with an oversized bathroom and soaking tub -- though I'm with you, the sun on the patio at Jack's bar is pretty relaxing in itself!
Hope you'll reconsider, but thanks for visiting us regardless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend for the Alcatraz Invitational Swim. Ideal location for that event, and of you want to be in the (very touristy) Fisherman's Wharf area - if my for the swim, would not be my choice. But hotel is wonderful, staff is so nice, free wine during cocktail hour an the concierge found us grey places for dinner. Only complaint about the room was the view across a partial roof to other hotel rooms - not exactly scenic. Would stay here again for the same event in a heartbeat, just be aware you're staying in a very touristy place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_von_Winckler, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
KHib! Your "wonderfuls" are wonderful to hear!
So glad you loved the hotel and our staff, and our concierge was able to connect you with great places for dinner. It's true that Fisherman's Wharf is a very popular destination, but we take pride in knowing some of those local experiences and sharing them with our guests! Thank you for your review, and hats off to you for surviving that swim!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
177 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband & I chose The Argonaut for our honeymoon in San Francisco from Sept 3 thru 7th. The location was perfect, close to the wharf, wonderful dining & shopping. We were incredibly disappointed that we had no view (our room faced other rooms) and we could hear our neighbor's entire conversation in the early morning (not muffled either!) It was quiet at night tho & the staff is outstanding! We did try to get another room but there were none available.We didn't spend as much time in the room as we thought we would, wouldn't spend the money again for the accommodations. The cleaning staff gets 5 stars!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparkysgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hi, Sparkysgrl,
Congrats to you and your new husband, and good for you for getting out and about exploring the Wharf on your honeymoon! I'm glad that your room was very quiet at night (indeed our 90 interior rooms are known for that), though that is odd about hearing your neighbor that one day. Feel free to drop us a line with some particulars and we'll look into that! Meanwhile, I'm glad you loved our location and staff. I'll share your extra kudos with our all-star housekeeping team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

A truly top-class hotel, impeccable service, beautiful touches all round, lovely design in the rooms, great room service, superb location - cannot fault the place, and well worth the admittedly quite high) cost. Treat yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Richard - your review brings a smile to our faces! I'm glad your stay was top-notch and that you felt pampered and so well-treated. This is our goal each and every time! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed at the Argonaut for one night during a layover in San Francisco. A great location for a little slice of SF under time constraints. The staff were really lovely and helpful. The rooms were spacious, the beds really comfortable, and the room spotless. Great food and sights really close by.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,816 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,996 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#19 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing