We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay in SF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor and made my reservation with points from my credit card. Both my wife and I were really looking forward to visiting the Argonaut based on the reviews. I can say that this hotel exceeded my expectations. The service from the Front Desk, the Concierge, the Housekeeping Service, and the FREE Wine / Beer tasting in the evening made this trip memorable for both of us. Having a location right around the corner from the beginning of the Cable Car to being right next door to the Cannary and The Wharf makes this the perfect location in San Fran for a visit. I cannot recommend this hotel higher! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared beautiful!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majcigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Hi, Magcigar!

"Awesome" is just the word we love to see! I'm glad you loved the locale here and of course a free nightly wine party never hurts, does it? I hope you got to sample some of the chef's chowder. Crab and corn is the huge hit. Before you come to see us again, make sure to join our loyalty club so you can also enjoy a $10 "Raid the Bar" credit on each stay. It's now good in either the "real bar" or for the minibar in your room. Cheers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,768)
There are newer reviews for Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,477 - 2,483 of 5,768 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I recently visited San Francisco and had the pleasure of staying at The Argonaut Hotel located near Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel was great but who really stood out was this delightful Chinese woman named Laverne. Absolute pleasure to deal with and quite frankly, the reason I'm writing this review. (She's that good)
My wife and I have a small bed & breakfast in Cape Cod and would hire her to run our business in a heartbeat...as a matter of fact, I just might be calling Laverne. Thanks for taking such good care of us and we'll definitely be returning next summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a bay view of Alcatraz and/or the Golden Gate Bridge.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Lucky for us, I think that rockstar employee is pretty well in love with San Francisco and unlikely to bail on us for the East Coast, but I can't blame you for wanting to snatch her up! I'm so happy that you loved our crew and the stay overall.
The views are definitely great this time of year when the fog has let up and you can get that clear view of the bay, the Golden Gate Bridge, or Alcatraz from our View category rooms. And, heck, even if you economize with an interior room, it's a hop-skip-and-a-jump to get to the little Aquatic Park vista at the water's edge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Awesome location for our family vacation. Service was excellent and we loved our pet goldfish! We stumbled across a great seafood restaurant within walking distance - Scomas. Also, cable car stop right there

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank kmhayespcola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi, there, kmhayespcola!
I'm glad you found your way to us and to Scomas for some local seafood. They have such a cool location and view on pier 47, but of course I can't resist making a plug for our beloved Chowderhouse here with the outdoor patio!
We'll let Popeye the goldfish know that your family says hi :). See you next time! Thanks for your five-star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Having enjoyed our first trip a couple of years ago, we sprung for a fourth floor suite.
Room 445 on the corner must be the best in the hotel, quiet, huge, with views of the Golden Gate bridge and Alcatraz from lounge, bedroom, and even from the hot tub in the bathroom with wine in hand - doesn't get much better than this if you can upgrade - after all, its about the experience in the round. the happy hour is great - meet different people daily, no real walk ins from the street (our experience from both trips).
Kevin & Dawn

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunchingMolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Well thank you, Kevin & Dawn! It is delightful to have people choose to return to the hotel, and I'm so happy you got to indulge in Specialty View Suite this time. That is my favorite hotel room in the city and worth every penny if you love views, space, and the crazy-deep soaking tub.
Those of us who work here also get a kick out of the wine hour. As you say, it feels private to guests yet very energetic with so many folks visiting from around the globe. I have learned a lot about different cultures, and it's interesting to hear people compare San Francisco to other world cities. (With ours being the best, of course ;))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

What a great hotel, superb staff, really spacious and comfortable rooms and a great loaction.
Really can't fault this hotel. Would have to be one of our favorites ever.
We had a double room on the 3rd floor looking out over the water to Alcatraz. The view was amazing across the bay.
Breakfast was fine, nothing special but a great looking restaurant. A strong nautical theme runs throughout and it feels like a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room on higher levels to get you a view over fishermans wharf. The noise from t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexanderfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hi, Alexanderfz,
Thanks for the fantastic five-star review. I'm glad you loved the hotel and the views are such a great way to soak in the feel of San Francisco, aren't they?! Thanks for checking out the restaurant as well, though it sounds like we may have to steer you toward one of our specialties next time. I definitely love the bacon quiche or the benedicts... or, if you want to stay healthy on vacation, the oatmeal is great as far as that kind of thing goes ;).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Firstly the staff were brilliant very helpful! secondly the hotel is very clean and comfortable with a homely holiday feel.
we stopped here for 4 nights before going on to Los angeles, the location being right on fishermanswarf meant we did not have to drive as you have everything on your door step, fishermanswarf is the place to stay in San Francisco!! You have shops, bars, great places to eat, boat trips and form the hotel you can see the golden gate bridge and Alcatraz as well as you have a small bay beach which was brilliant seeing as we were here when they had a heat wave! The hop on hop off buses are a must to see all the sights in SF the first stop is basically right out side the hotel which was very good.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable! I cant say a bad work about this Hotel, I have been lucky enough to visit some beautiful hotels due to being a Travel Agent and this hotel is one I hope to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: as for a room to look over the bay so you can see the golden gate bridge!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxgeorgia04xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks, xxgeorgia04xx!

High praise from a travel agent is the hotel manager's dream :). I'm thrilled that we rank at the top of all the hotels you've visited, and I'll make sure to share your kind words with the "brilliant" crew working here as well! If you have the chance to come back here or travel to other Kimpton Hotels in the states, I'd definitely recommend our free loyalty club, Kimpton InTouch, which will set you up with a minibar welcome amenity, newspaper of choice, preffered pillow type, etc!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel, which was converted from a former cannery many years ago, was unique enough to avoid the "cookie cutter" category, but also offered some personal amenities usually found in bigger hotels. It's part of an deluxe group of hotels (Kimpton), but they know how to make you feel at home...without the attitude. For instance, we arrived shortly after they finished their nightly happy hour in the lobby (no charge), but the bellman asked if we would like a glass of wine (on the house) while we were waiting in line to check in. Off to a good start. The rooms are comfortable, but not what they could be with more windows or light sources. But, I'm sure one of the conditions they encountered when deciding to restore the old cannery warehouse was leaving the exterior as is, since it's a historical landmark. Thus, the limited amount of windows for each room. Nonetheless, they aim to please and you won't spend much time in your room while you're walking distance to so many attractions. If you don't feel up to walking, you're not even 1 block away from the main turnaround of San Francisco trolley cars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floor (3rd or 4th) if you want to see anything from your room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks, Ken S! I love reading about the team showing friendliness and professionalism "without the attitude" -- so Kimpton! We try to be people serving people, and never robotic :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,223 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,296 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £210 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing