We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed at this wonderful boutique hotel back in Sept. for a first trip to San Francisco, along with four friends. Can't say enough positive things about the hotel and location. Rooms were very clean, lobby (with a complimentary daily happy hour) was lovely, and the adjoining restaurant serves delicious chowder. Staff was always helpful, a particular shoutout going to Terri, our wonderful concierge. She arranged many tours for us during the week--all were top notch. Location was perfect--across from the water, easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf and Ghiardelli Square, trolley car hub right diagonal to the hotel. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Try for a room not facing the local bar/restaurant--can get a little noisy if live bands are perform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkb619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thanks, jkb619! I'm happy you loved the hotel and our Blue Mermaid chowder house, too! We will make sure to share your thanks and praise with Terri at the concierge desk as well. I appreciate that you took the time to share your story with us (and the world :)). Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,498
    1,583
    352
    132
    56
See reviews for
1,577
2,387
133
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and used valet parking. Check in was very good.

Our room was clean with a great view of the Golden Gate bridge. The trolley stop is also just outside the hotel.

The location of the hotel is perfect, in the wharf area, close to restaurants, Lombard Street, Alcatraz tour. Try the clam chowder from some of the nearby vendors.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you, MrPeters!
I'm delighted that you loved the arrival experience and your time here at our "prime" location... though... I might have to chastise for straying outside for your clam chowder :). Our very own Chef Connolly does lovely clam chowder, or also a famous crab & corn variation that's very popular, especially during crab season. It's the perfect thing on a cold day, and we can provide a sourdough bread bowl if you really want to go for it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

During a Christmas holiday, we picked the Argonaut and could not have been more pleased. I would rate it as a strong 4. Right on the wharf across from Alioto's, the staff was without exception capable, excellent in performance, and quite helpful. Restaurant too. Funky but nice rooms with a nice, well appointed though not huge, bath. We'd stay at the Argonaut anytime in the future.

Room Tip: I suppose, if you could find one, try to get a room overlooking the Wharf vs. away from it. Ours w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crucian-high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you, Crucian-High! I'm glad you felt we were a four-star hotel with FIVE-STAR service. The folks who work here are a delight as partners and they teach me something every day. I know those amazing views here at the waterfront don't hurt either, do they? We have Bay View category rooms that face the Golden Gate Bridge and others that face Alcatraz and the ships; both still take my breath away after a year and a half aboard this ship!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We started our honeymoon here and it was just perfect. Our room was looking out over the bay with a great view of alcatraz. The hotel was always warm and welcoming and the staff were lovely and helpful. We stayed in a bay view king room and it was more than big enough for two people. The bed was really comfortable. There was also free wifi which is always appreciated We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audreydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello and thank you, AudreyDee!
The rooms are quite spacious (especially by city standards!) aren't they? We're lucky to have that as a feature of the historic brick facade and the way they modernized the whole interior here. We like to think of it as the best charm of the olden days with all the comforts of a modern hotel (like the fast, free wifi that you mention). I hope that the hotel will form a great backdrop in your honeymoon trip memories, and perhaps we'll see you for future anniversaries, too?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stephen greeted us upon arrival with Christmas toys for kids and really made a fuss of them. We were in a big group and arrived late at night, he was a breath of fresh air. Even getting more robes for my sister and daughter! The rooms were lovely. In room Safe. TV. Bathroom very nice. Always kept clean. LOCATION great. Loved San Francisco and loved is place! Free drinks 5-6pm. Can print out boarding passes in special computer in lobby. Lobby lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hello, LMS1983! I'm delighted that you loved the whole experience, and it is so perfect to read of Stephen the doorman as a "breath of fresh air." That he is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife during first week in December. We experienced one of the best customer service in a hotel in US.. the rooms are very clean and has a great decor. It is very quiet ad well.. It is in a great location and ofcourse very close to our favorite place "Ghirardeli Square".. you can also walk along the marina from the hotel to the golden gate bridge. The cable car ride starts right next to the hotel.. One of the nights was even special when we bumped into Tracy Morgan at the lobby ! Valet parking is pricey, but worth it.. Hey it is SFO!! There is a old cafe across (behind ( the hotel and they serve awesome Irish Coffee. . Check it out..

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WorldKites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hello, anonymous fan! I see you went out and got in quite a few adventures. In case you hadn't heard already, we offer free bike rental each morning on a first-come, first-serve basis. That can be another fun way to get to (and over) the Golden Gate Bridge! Just brace yourself: the Bridge alone measures 1.7 miles long ;).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The rooms here are interesting and a bit quirky given that the whole building is a renovated warehouse - it made for a very enjoyable experience and the location on Fisherman's wharf can't be beat. The staff was pleasant and their is an evening wine reception. My new favorite hotel in SF!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A2freqtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hi, and happy new year, A2FreqTrav. It's fantastic to read that we are your new favorite hotel in San Francisco! You're right, the historic location and features here do give us sort of an "easy win" in a character/charm contest, but I also give credit to the designers who built found a tasteful and nautical yet whimsical look for the interior. Tonight, I am pouring at the wine hour you mention, and I look forward to that weekly moment of "false popularity" I feel when accenting the hot toddies with whipped cream :)!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,167 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,057 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#62 of 229 in San Francisco
4,113 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,126 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing