We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

i have to go to oracle world for my job every fall and this was one of the best hotels ever! the staff is friendly and down to earth, they even gave us a pet goldfish for my daughter during our stay :-)

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the bay are best, inside rooms overlook a somewhat ugly courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jferst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hello, JFerst, and thank you! It's great to hear that we are your new favorite for those Oracle Open World business trips. Your daughter must have been thrilled to tag along for some fun in San Francisco. I'm glad she loved her goldfish friend in the room, and I hope she got to check out our Scavenger Hunt or Wii games, too? Off property, I have to make a plug for the sea lions over next to Pier 39. I could watch those guys all day, and it's fun for all ages to see them in action!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,252
    1,492
    332
    122
    55
See reviews for
1,459
2,227
122
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Our stay was fabulous and we were treated as well as our dog. Jerky treats, dog bags, towels for wet paws, and a basket full of toys all readily accessible upon entering the hotel. The wine reception was particularly friendly and enjoyable sitting in front of the cozy fireplace. Be sure to ask for a room with a bay view. Ours looked out over cable cars, Ghiradelli's, and the Golden Gate.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squiditz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi, m b!
I'm so happy that all two- and four-legged folks felt pampered and enjoyed a fun and relaxing stay with us! The view rooms overlooking the Bridge are my personal favorites. As the weather improves, you can dine on the patio with pets, provided they stay on the OUTside of the courtyard railing due to health code. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

As soon as you step into the hotel it feels very comfortable and homely. We loved the nautical feel .. Wine in the lobby from 5 - 6pm was a lovely bonus, we expected a small taster but received full glasses - a very relaxed end to a days sightseeing. We didn't need staff more than to check in/out and order a cab, but the were warm, friendly and polite. Dogs are welcome in the hotel, which may not be to everyone's liking, but it didn't spoil our enjoyment and we would chose to stay here again

Helpful?
1 Thank AliinAus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you, AliinAus! "Perfect" is enough to make my day! I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel amenities, and I do sometimes chuckle about the idea of wine "tasting" here from 5-6pm, because we're really more into wine DRINKING :). We are currently featuring Anchor Steam beer (how could we resist a brew that is both nautical and local?!) and some wintertime hot toddies too. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Service was impressive and everyone so nice. Room had a great bed, sunny and cheery, clean, comfortable, pet friendly and quiet. Great San Francisco location. The lemon water in the lobby was delicious. Never made it for daily happy hour but staff offered us a drink on the house one night while conversing with him. It was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripfan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi, RoadTripFan66!
I'm glad you found the bed comfy and the room cheery. What's more, I'm happy to hear you "caught" a crew member here being so sweet about offering you a glass of vino from the bar after our wine party had concluded for the night. I'm lucky to work with the team here. They look after each other and our guests with real heart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I love Kimpton hotels. They are thoughtfully designed with so many conveniences and amenities, how could you not be happy?? But, really this hotel is even better than I have come to expect from Kimpton.

I had a room with a view of Alcatraz. Just beautiful and I could hear the sea lions barking! For a hotel in a very busy area of the city, the room was remarkably quiet. The bed was very comfortable, and I seriously WANT one of the star-shaped Argonaut pillows that decorate the beds. The hotel is near the cable car turn-around, so getting to downtown was very easy, and the neighborhood has lots to do and see.

The restaurant was amazing, and the crab and corn chowder which was recommended to me by the fellow who checked me in, is just delicious! Kimpton has totally changed my attitude toward hotel restaurants!

But what really makes this hotel special is the staff. Everyone I met from the front desk staff to the concierge, to the housekeepers and wait-staff were so friendly, kind and helpful. The Argonaut is a happy place to spend some time when you are in San Francisco. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I was in 349... which is beautiful. and although near both the elevator and the ice machine was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjkingmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you, cjkingmd. I know exactly what you mean about "hotel restaurants" and I'm thrilled that Kimpton turned that paradigm upside down for you. I've let the chef know how much you loved your experience, and his award-winning chowder in particular. It is so addictive! Don't remind me :). I will share your praise with the front of house staff and those hardworking housekeeping folks as well. Thank you for recognizing their efforts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We booked here because of 1. The views promised on the waterfront and 2. The reviews here. We arrived to probably the friendliest front desk staff we've ever encountered and the were happy to tell us our room was ready early. The Bellman out front were just as friendly at all hours of the day.
We had booked the King Bay view room and were so glad we did. Our window faced right out to Alcatraz and the pier so we had lovely views all the time. It was surprising that given we were on such a busy street at new years the room was well insulated.
Decor was fun and modern, room and hotel very clean and inviting. We loved our stay and will book here again.

Room Tip: Ensure you nook the Bay view. It is a little more but you may be disappointed if you get an interior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hello, there, Jennenz! I'm happy to hear the view rooms and friendly team lived up to the high expectations you had after reading other reviews. Thank you for adding to the five star count! Guest feedback is invaluable to us. It's also great to know we helped you kick off the New Year with a nice quiet rest. Best wishes for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Our family of 4 (2 kids ages 5 and 4) stayed at the Argonaut over Thanksgiving break. The location is absolutely great - at the end of Fisherman Wharf, so everything is walking distance without the chaos. Our room was on the 4th floor, facing the Aquatic park so we had no problems at all with noise issues. Our window also faced the cable car stop (Hyde-Powell) and we could see the long lines every day. The room itself was really huge and clean. I loved the brick walls in our room, and the nautical theme was soothing and clean (exactly as pictured on the websites)
Service from the bell hop to the front desk was always courteous and pleasant. We absolutely enjoyed the complimentary wines during happy hour in the lobby - the kids got cider and felt so grown-up drinking out of their wine glasses! We ate twice at the restaurant and enjoyed both meals a lot. Being a Kimpton, all of their hotels are pet-friendly but you would never notice any fur or smell. This hotel is no exception! I would definitely stay there again!!
The only negative to the hotel is that the walls are a bit thin - I woke up at 4am a few times to the sounds of the neighbors being amorous... thank goodness my kids are heavy sleepers!
Oh, and valet for a large SUV was $60 a day (its the area rate!) so we parked a few blocks away in a parking garage for $30 a day with in-out privileges.
I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor, if you are concerned about street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi, Mary_S_F77! I do have to give credit to our housekeeping team for taking great care of the public areas and all guestrooms. We were renovated just under two years ago, though from the look of the rooms, you'd think it was even more recently than that! I'm glad the kids slept through that nighttime show and of course all kids love grown-up wine goblets for their sparkling cider, don't they? So cute! They are also welcome to try the wintertime warm cider with whipped cream... and no bourbon of course. (I want to keep my job!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,689 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,961 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing