We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Clean, conveniently located on fisherman's wharf - right near cable cars and f line. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Parking fee is expensive but everywhere in San Francisco is expensive for parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamjayne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you, pamjayne58! I'm happy you enjoyed the service and Argonaut experience overall. If you rent a car next time, our concierge can help you to get the most out of it for the day and then ditch it so you can take off on foot and live the local life. The city transit system is truly amazing. I will admit the cable car is pretty darn slow, but it's worth it for the experience, and then you can take buses and cabs like we denizens do :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,438
    1,561
    345
    129
    55
See reviews for
1,542
2,349
130
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

If Jason in search of the "Toison d'or" stopped by, I can understand he stayed there forever! The Blue Mermaid restaurant staff is very friendly. One suggestion : to provide with parking space for Segway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edouard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Reading up on Jason and my Greek mythology, I can see that the Golden Fleece was considered a royal rite, and I'm thrilled you felt like royalty here with us at the Argonaut/Blue Mermaid restaurant --- like Jason with the Fleece, or "the cat that caught the mouse."
Next, if you want to feel like the "kid in the candy shop," just head to Ghirardelli Square down the block for chocolates or to hit Kara's cupcakes....And that's where I run out of adages :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartselle, Alabama
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The place was great and the people who work here are even better. We loved the room and the loocation and the set up. The people will help you in any way from directions to places to eat or just talk to you about things you have in common. Would highly suggest anyone looking for a great placeto stay go here.

Room Tip: Side room 425-428
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEFSUSHAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you, JEFSUSHAY! I also enjoy talking with the crew here, and appreciate how "real" the staff are. (It's great when you can trust staff to be authentic, isn't it?!)
I'll let them know you enjoyed their local know-how. I hope you got to enjoy the managers' nightly wine party as well. We are still featuring the wintertime hot toddies, though they have become less popular with this mild winter weather of 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I planned on staying there with my daughter due to the location and easy access to the Hyde Street cable car as well as being just out side of "ground zero tourist trap". The location couldn't be better. I think it's the best location on the wharf. This hotel is a no brainer, it's a good value with a great staff and atmosphere. The concierge was great, Cha-Cha. He knew his restaurants.
My daugher and I watched the 49'ers play Seattle (9er's lost) in the Mermaid bar. It was nice!! Not a bunch of screaming nut-cases. The Mermaid bar was great, I wish they did have a few more beers on tap, but still a GREAT place with good food. If you want to stay at a place on the wharf that FOR SURE you'll enjoy, stay at the Argonaut. I'll be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 713BobM713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
713BobM713, I'm sorry about those 49ers, but so happy you enjoyed watching the game at our very own Blue Mermaid Chowder House. The local Anchor Steam and chef's magic crab & corn chowder can calm any nerves. Remember that as a hotel guest you can enjoy a free side dish of his famous chowder with any entree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Argonaut hotel in SF. This was a great hotel. It is in an old DOLE factory so brick walls were every where and the rooms were very large and spacious. The beds were very comfortable. We chose this hotel because it offered queen size beds, which we need with teenage boys. The rooms also come with animal print robes which my boys had fun wearing!! The hotel is in a great location on the wharf and next to the cable car turnaround. The restaurant has amazing sourdough chowders that you must try. Another nice touch was the hot chocolate and hot toddy bar set up in the lobby in the early evening. It was quite cool in SF while we were there and returning to the warm drinks was such a nice touch. My kids loved this!! The staff were so friendly and helpful. The bellman and doormen were great and gave us so much useful information while we were there. We will now be looking for Kipton Hotels when we travel!!

Green Features: Dogs were allowed in the hotel. we heard a few barking while we were walking the hallways but never while we were in the room..
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TALB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you, Brevin! I'm glad you are now a Kimpton loyalist! I definitely recommend signing up for our free loyalty club when you have a moment since it sounds like you could make use of the perks. Meanwhile, I'll share your shout-out with our chef and chowdermaster. The warm drinks in the lobby will also keep going into March if you want to come back and see us again... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

For the first time in all my travels, I felt like I was speaking to a human being at the front desk -- not a pre-programmed robot reciting memorized lines. The doorman offered me and my friends a long list of restaurant recommendations, and even our housekeeper gave us tips for avoiding long lines at a nearby popular breakfast joint. Every staff member I encountered seemed to know the city inside and out. Everyone was so incredibly down-to-earth and helpful, and I couldn't have felt more at-home during my stay.

The Argonaut had all of the awesome little quirks you'd expect from a standard Kimpton hotel (complimentary wine hour, animal print robes, etc.) but what makes the Argonaut so special is their location. It neighbors Ghirardelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf -- there's so much to do around the hotel that we didn't need to hail a cab once during our entire time in SF! The hotel decor was nautical themed (hence the name, Argonaut) and felt very fitting, like it was meant to be an extension of its surroundings. The room itself looked a little outdated, but it was comfortable, clean, and cozy nonetheless.

I couldn't be more pleased with my experience at the Argonaut, and I can't wait to stay with them again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor facing the Ghirardelli Square, as pedestrians can see into your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberly889275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Kimberly C, you've made our day over here at the Argonaut! Your review reflects so many of our goals and values, and the way you describe the staff's humility and authenticity is so rewarding. As a company, we never script our employees. We try to hire the right people, give them some guidance, and then get out of the way for the most part -- letting them do what they do so well! Thank you, thank you, thank you, for validating this empowerment and sharing your praise with our team. They will be delighted to read this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

we were undecided on the wharf or Union sq. The wharf is the best place to stay and this is a great hotel The staff were very good and helpful We enjoyed the wine hour good local wines but if you want a seat go early Great sleep quality no disturbance and very comfortable bed well laid out bathroom The cable car is next to hotel

Room Tip: ask for a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you, Barry L! We're happy you chose the Wharf, and loved the convenience of our location next to the cable car line to Union Square. Every month, we offer different wineries with a charitable/eco-focus, and lately we've been augmenting with our own very local, very nautical Anchor Steam beer, a great brew from the Potrero Hill neighborhood across town. But, back to you: thanks for sharing, and I'm thrilled you enjoyed such a quiet and comfy night atop our pillowtop bed. We'll share your praise with the crew as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,082 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,988 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#65 of 228 in San Francisco
4,081 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing