We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fun experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My mom came to the States for attending my graduation, and then we planed to have a road trip in california. SF was our first destination. Certainly Argonaut Hotel was her very first american hotel experience. The cab driver had no problem to find its location. My mom and I loved the hotel as soon as we got off our cab. The staff there were extremely helpful and welcoming, especially their doormen. The decoration of the hotel was historical and entertaining. We had the bay view room with two queen beds. Our room was adorable and extremely cute. However, we didn't have much "bay view" from our window, which was a bit disappointing for the price I paid.

The biggest pro of this hotel is its location. I know that the fisherman's wharf is a very toursy place to most of the local people. But.... hey, we stay in a hotel in SF because we are tourists, aren't we? there was a in-and-out burger just couple blocks away, and their was cable car station right next to it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mengtian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thanks, Mengtian Y! Sounds like a fun mother-daughter trip! I'm happy the Argonaut was a great location for your sightseeing adventures, and those funny doormen were a warm welcome for you both! "Bay View" room types do face the Aquatic Park and Golden Gate Bridge *or*straight North onto the Bay and Alcatraz. If you'd like to make the visit again next year, I'd be happy to request the Alcatraz side for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,356 - 2,362 of 5,816 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Kimpton's Argonaut was a really nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, affordable good food and comfortable rooms. The location right at Fisherman's Wharf and next to the Trolley car stop also great.

Unfortunately the conversion from a fish cannery factory to a hotel, as we have experienced elsewhere with factory conversions, has resulted in paper thin internal walls between rooms.

We were unfortunately able to share some fairly intimate details of our neighbours domestic arrangements in the early hours of the morning on 2 nights of our stay. We appreciate that whilst the hotel staff were most apologetic there was not much they could do as the property was fully booked with what seemed to be continuous conferences over our 5 night stay.

Our room was at the back with no views of the harbour, so perhaps the better rooms at the front which might be larger, may not have the problem.

Room Tip: Avoid conference times and ask if rooms at the front can be a) guaranteed and b) are better noise in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thanks, David S! Please feel free to drop me a line as I would be happy to investigate the wall configuration in this particular location. I'm happy that you loved the look and feel of the hotel and I'm glad to see from your four stars that we'll have another shot at giving you that perfect Argonaut experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was an absolutely fabulous four day getaway! The hotel was beautiful and the lobby so inviting! John, the bellman was so helpful when we were unloading on such a busy street. I am already looking forward to my next visit to San Francisco and another stay at the Argonaut Hotel!

Room Tip: 4th floor was beautiful and quiet. Ask for water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnMarieT539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

AnnMarieT539,
Thank you very much for taking a moment to share your experience and to praise John the doorman! I'm happy you enjoyed a quiet view room, and hopefully some clear weather. Speaking of our lobby, I hope you were able to stop by our nightly wine party? It is free for all guests, and available 5-6pm. Just a few days of wintertime hot toddies left!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

What an experience. Nautical theme throughout. Amazing reception lounge area.
Excellent location on Fisherman's Wharf next to the cable car turnabout. Pier 39 within walking distance as is the pier for Alcatraz departures. Cable car from the side of the hotel go directly to Union Square.

Rooms carry the same theme, very stylish & comfortable amazing interior design, shutters at windows, exposed brickwork. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Free hot chocolate in reception: decorate yourself with whipped cream, marshmallows, dark & white chocolate chunks. Take out cups/ lids provided.

Happy hour :Free wine & soft drinks 5-6 pm in reception

IT Tablets available in reception and in the lounge area to 'check in' for flights and print boarding cards free.

Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night would have loved to stay longer. One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Very clean.

Pricey valet parking, but it is secure. We stayed after a week of skiing and were able to leave skis and quite a lot of our luggage in the car rather than having to take it all out. The secure parking is only just behind the hotel so if you need anything from the car they are happy to bring the car back to the entrance for you and then return to the car park. Very quick in returning the car when you need it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thanks, Lottie A! "Superb" makes our day over here :).
I'll be sure to share your feedback with the housekeeping staff and with our valet partner as well.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in room 261 from feb-19-23--This is the best hotel in San Fran. The hotel is top class from the front door to the back. I tried to think of a negative, but cannot think of one thing. You are treated like a King from the time you enter, till you leave. What would I change?--Not one thing..look forward too the next time, will stay no where else.....Sean Dixon

Room Tip: 261 is not a bayview but a courtyard view---was great to watch people--and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdixon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Fantastic! Thanks, Mr. Dixon! I know just what you mean: those rooms on the courtyard side may not have water views, but it's still scenic (and historic), and surprisingly quiet because of those thick windows. Since you are such a fan, I hope you have joined or will check out our loyalty club. It's free - - really! Just go to our website, fill out the preference profile, and you're set for a $10 Raid the Bar credit and all kinds of other little goodies when you stay with us. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The nautical theme flows throughout the hotel. It is quirky and we found it to be fun. The rooms are generously sized with comfortable beds. Shower over bath set up is a down side. The wine reception is a lot of fun with as many free drinks as you can mange in an hour. The staff are friendly and attentive. Could not fault the service. This hotel deserves its good reputation. Highly recommended. The location is perfect- right on Fisherman's Wharf but just out of the main noisy hub....perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thanks, Mira G! I'm glad you enjoyed the quirky vibe and the playful-yet-elegant nautical look the designers were going for. I'll tell you, when you work here, it becomes almost like a fetish and you'll find yourself drawn to navy clothing, anchor earrings, you name it :). Nothing says relaxation and vacation like the sea. That and all the free happy hour drinks, I suppose :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel is very clean,contemporary, great service, good breakfasts, smiley staff and a great location . I would highly recommend if you have children as it has so many extras in rooms, and cater for families . We were there over the school vacation so many children and it was perfect. The hotel even hold a free wine and beer reception every evening for residents. Great hotel

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thanks, Carole G. I'm delighted to see it was fun for the whole family. I hope you'll come back and see us again. In case you missed any of the fun little treats for kids, make sure to keep in mind: treasure chest; scavenger hunt; lobby Wii; non-alcoholic drinks at the wine party; DVDs upon request; games upon request; weekend Ranger tours; National Park Service museum of maritime history (fun for all ages ;) )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
2,279 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,371 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £191 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing