We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here three nights and had a great time. Happy hour was a lovely way to meet others and sample local produce. The hotel is well situated for visiting the gate and Alcatraz, and there is a large selection of superb restaurants on your doorstep. The cable car is literally just round the corner and don't forget to visit Ghiradeli's. The staff were super helpful and friendly with some great advice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thanks, Annette H!
I'm delighted that the location here was perfect for you (with Bridge and Alcatraz views and the cable car next door, I realize we've got an unfair advantage, but we'll enjoy every moment of it :)!). We'll share your kudos with the staff as well. It's great to hear their recommendations on the local restaurants and whatnot made the difference in your stay. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,755)
There are newer reviews for Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,279 - 2,285 of 5,755 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The staff were great, the room clean and charming. The hotel puts on a free wine reception for an hour every night which was fab and we ate in the restaurant twice as the food was great and reasonably priced.
The location of the hotel was perfect, with everything being only a short walk or a bus ride.
A great hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks so much, Sam I! These are the headlines we love to read. And thanks for mentioning how convenient it is to get around the city from here. To "Live Local," many of our guests ditch the car and hope a street car, cable car, bus, or even a taxi or stroll around to the many neighborhoods adjacent to the hotel like Marina/Cow Hollow, North Beach, Polk Gulch, etc. It's also fun to zip from here over the Golden Gate Bridge into Sausalito, Muir Woods, Point Reyes, or wine country. I hope you'll come back and keep exploring ;).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The concierge at The Argonaut are amazing (Terry in particular). He offered fantastic, personalised service. A beautiful hotel that is unique and quirky. Highly recommended. The Blue Mermaid Chowder House offers great a menu.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hooray! Thanks so much, Emma. I've made sure to share your praise with Terry, concierge extraordinaire, and I'm sure she'll be delighted to know that she made a big impression. We really try to embrace quirky and approachable both in terms of the physical hotel itself and the service provided. I'm so happy we succeeded and you had a great time! Thanks for checking out our Blue Mermaid restaurant as well. I have been craving the Ahi Tuna BLT all day...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We just returned from a long weekend trip to San Francisco and we loved it, in part due to the great hotel. I wasn't sure of getting a hotel on the Wharf since it's in the heart of the tourism area, but it was lovely.The grand old Delmontie factory gave the hotel a sophisticated loft feel, the exposed brick and redwood beams were absolutely beautiful. Even though outside was teaming with tourism, inside was your quiet oasis. The room ammenities were great, lots of outlets for charging and recharging, an amazing jetted tub, separate WC, in room safe etc. we felt like royalty in the suite. And yet, the hotel was fun, it never had the sense of being too self important or corporate, this is what made our leisure trip relaxing. We had a view of Alcatraz which was spooky and fun at the same time. The staff were great, prompt and smiling, if you needed towels, or tips on where to go, you were served in a timely and exceedingly polite manner. We arrived late our first evening but the front desk were waiting for us with our room keys, very fast and efficient. We took our breakfast daily in the Blue Mermaid connected to the hotel, and we never had to wait more than 30 seconds to get a table. Breakfast was good and the service was top notch. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks so much, AndieCanada. This review was particularly touching to me as I read it because it captures everything that I value at the hotel. I've given the team your high praise for finding that "sweetspot" where they are friendly and efficient but also generate a comfortable and warm atmosphere. And, yes, this historic Del Monte building does give us a leg up in terms of character and style, so we count our blessings! If you haven't already checked out the on-site Maritime Museum or a weekend park ranger-led tour, I definitely recommend it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went here to celebrate my husband's birthday. we had a king with a view. one night we looked at alcatraz and one night at the bridge. both were amazing views. the happy hour was a nice time to connect with other guests...not to mention wine and beer. the staff is where they really shine - Shah help arrange a car for us to SFO and made us special dinner reservations. I love this hotel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank psalm119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you, psalm119,

I'm so happy that your hubby enjoyed a fabulous birthday and you could toast at the evening wine party. We'll make sure to thank Shah at the concierge desk for his part in making the celebration memorable. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a great place to stay if you're here to explore the city of San Francisco. Just across the road from the cable car turning point and a short walk to the piers (for a trip to Alcatraz) it couldn't be better located. We opted for a room overlooking the bay. It was large, clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly an welcoming and will do their best to make your spray is a comfortable as possible. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the bay if you can.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 582Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you, tw_jackson! I am having fun trying to translate this review and think I understand more or less, given my tools :).
I thank you for spreading the word about us abroad! I'm so happy that you will recommend the hotel for other people coming on vacation. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great for a tourist getaway. It is in the middle of the sights and toped with great service, rooms and free bikes, you cannot go wrong at the Argonaut. Oh, by the way, the Buena Vista is next door for the a great breakfast and Irish Coffee or a Ramous Fizz

Room Tip: Do not choose a court yard view and ask for the 4th floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZMAISON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks, ZMaison!
A lot of our guests mention the location, and one actually tells me he likes the Argonaut because he's so dedicated to the Buena Vista cafe :). We are lucky to have them and the cable car as neighbors, and then if that doesn't win people over, the short walk to Ghirardelli chocolate is definitely a selling point...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,214 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
3,288 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £211 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing