We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to California holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great start to California holiday”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Chosen on basis of TA reviews, location, and previous Kimpton stays elsewhere. Didn't disappoint - room had view of the bridge and cable car turntable. Quiet, comfortable, great beds. $25 voucher for the Blue Mermaid was helpful. Wine hour is a great idea, and we did our best to attend each day. The location is ideal, and we played at being tourists for 3 days, with a Red and White cruise (on a rare day with no fog), visits to downtown via the F line (which we liked a lot) and the cable car (when we spotted a short line from our room). Concierge staff were helpful, and the guys on the front door kept a watchful eye out for our 14yo as he flexed his freedom with a solo visit to Ben & Jerrys. Hardly a cheap option, but hey, we paid for the view, and we were happy to. This is an excellent holiday hotel - thoroughly recommended….

Room Tip: Premium view = premium price. We felt it was worth it….
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTaffUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi, TravellingTaffUK!
I just love the image of your 14 year-old flexing his freedom to visit the cream shop downstairs! I hope he also got a chance to check out the Wii. Certainly too old for the scavenger hunt ;).
Seriously, though, I'm happy to hear that the doorman and the concierge were so helpful with your daily adventures.
If you decide not to "splurge" on a view room next time, we do have deluxe and standard categories, though I know it's hard to give up a view of the Golden Gate Bridge or Alcatraz....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,504
    1,588
    352
    133
    56
See reviews for
1,584
2,391
133
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was my second stay at the Argonaut and it was just as great as the first one several years ago. The rooms are well appointed with a very comfortable bed, desk and sofa. There's also in-room coffee and a small fridge that was excellent for storing a few snacks and beverages purchased elsewhere. The location cannot be be beat. It's next to a cable car turn around, close to numerous local bus routes and an aquatic area. There are also numerous fantastic restaurants nearby to be choose from. We especially enjoyed grabbing a beer at Jack's Bar which was in the building next door. The staff is also fantastic, especially John the doorman. Will definitely stay at the Argonaut again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phyl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks, phyl51!
We'll have to let John the doorman know that his kind and quirky presence at the entrance has set the right tone once again! The location does give us a leg up, but I like to think it's folks like John that really leave that lasting impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Plains, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Argonaut. You can't beat the location. The valets parked our car and we walked just about everywhere. The room was very comfortable and clean. Nicely decorated in a nautical theme with a very comfortable bed. There are lots of little touches that make things more enjoyable. The staff could not have been nicer. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco. I love that they allow pets. We encountered several well mannered dogs in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYBrownsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi, NYBrownsFan!
(Big night here in SF with the Giants playing the Dodgers :) )
Thanks for the five-star review. I'm glad you enjoyed the comforts and décor of the room, and of course we'll share your high-five with those hard workers in housekeeping who kept the room immaculate for you!
We will look forward to your return. Now that you know the neighborhood, it's time to explore the Marina, the Presidio -- perhaps even across the Golden Gate into Sausalito or Point Reyes for a full coastal experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell, New York
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Argonaut for a get away weekend in San Francisco and we could not have chosen a better base for a fun weekend.
I recall reading a review posted a while back where the individual stated that there wasn't anything to do around the hotel - "WHAT?"
Being just steps from Pier 39, the aquarium, countless fisherman's wharf restaurants, bay cruises, bike rental shops, the cable car line, Ghiradelli's, this location is darn near perfect for a visit.
We walked to the Saturday morning Farmer's market at the Ferry Building and grabbed some great goodies from local vendors including Craftsman and Wolves, rented bikes and rode across the Golden gate bridge to Sausalito and came back by ferry. We ate out of this world good Fish and Chips at the Codmother, some yummy cupcakes at Kara's, rode down Hyde street on the cable car, walked down the serpentine section of Lombard street, stopped at Norman's for a delicous Ice cream sundae, gawked at the sea lions lounging off Pier 39, and visited the Disney family museum at the Presidio.
I don't think we got a very good rate at the hotel based on what other reviewers are posting but we enjoy Kimpton properties, especially those that allow pets. We enjoy some of the guest loyalty perks even though we are not wine drinkers so the wine recption isn't on our "to do" list.
We loved our room, very spacious with a super comfy king size bed and hit the cucumber ice water in the lobby several times.
From the moment we pulled up the dor and handed our car keys to the bellman we felt welcome and that feeling continued for the length of our stay.
We would love to return to SF again and when we do we

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank optiman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks, Optiman32!
I just love that from that first moment onward you felt welcome and also fully engaged by all the things to see and do around here. I just love the farmers' market at the Ferry Terminal on Saturdays, and I'm delighted to hear that Craftsman & Wolves has joined the crew. Their carrot chocolate muffins should be illegal...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a great little hotel in San Francisco. Stayed here for a business trip/meeting at the hotel, and was perfect for a two night stay. Convenient to shops, restaurants and walking neighborhoods - yet, quiet and unpretentious. Friendly staff (the best part), and simple yet stylish/comfortable rooms. All the amenities you would expect from a budget-boutique style establishment. Free wifi too. Robes are interesting (leopard print?), and well stocked mini bar. Excellent housekeeping, and good laundry service. The only thing I was disappointed by was the restaurant downstairs (the blue mermaid) - tepid chowder, and service on par with a school cafeteria. lobby is small and busy, but the wine tasting was a nice touch. Meetings were well set up in conference rooms but they all are internal (no windows). Reception is quite open, so can get busy with tourists wandering in to use the restrooms. Despite being on the wharf promenade - room was very quiet, and well air conditioned/heat (you need both on an average day in SF!). the nautical theme also makes a nice touch from drab and boring. Highly recommend, great value for money.

Room Tip: internal courtyard rooms are quietest, 3rd floor highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi, Chris_Battersea!
I know just what you mean: the designers' nautical theme helps give the visitor a sense of place and a total departure from the "greige" of certain chain hotels (ahem). I'm glad you felt the value and boutique perks all came together. What a pity that the chowder wasn't hot enough, though. Our chowder house is so famous for its creations (esp. that Crab & Corn Chowder) that we need to showcase the dishes well all the time. Thanks for the heads up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Argonaut Hotel is a beautiful hotel situated perfectly in San Francisco for a city break. The staff were welcoming and helpful any time we asked them for help.

Our room sadly didn't have a great view, facing the inside courtyard of the building (you can't have it all!) but the room itself was lovely- nice comfy bed, nice bathroom with hairdryer and all other amenities you want, and a safe in the ample wardrobe. It was a clean, spacious and well-kept room with a huge bed and there was nothing more we would have wanted.

Is it bad to say that one of the nicest parts of the hotel was the happy hour from 5pm-6pm?! A glass of red or white wine or a bottle of beer (San Francisco brewed Anchor Steam), for free, every day! Not to say we are easily swayed by free alcohol, but after a 15 hour journey, arriving to be told you could get a free glass of wine was more than welcome. It obviously gets a little busy, but even if you can't get a seat in the lobby, it's a nice place to stand and chat about what you've seen and done that day.

Having never visited the city before, we wanted to do all the obvious tourist attractions- Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square, and so on, and this hotel was within walking distance of everything, which is a massive bonus. Also, make sure you ask about their bikes- next door is a bike company called Blazing Saddles where you can hire a bike for the day, and when we stayed, they had an agreement that Argonaut Hotel guests can have free rentals. This was a great surprise when we were expecting to pay $35 for the day each for it!

We got the BART train from the airport and then a taxi for the last few miles, which worked out much cheaper than a taxi for the whole journey.

All in all, a lovely hotel, right where you want it to be, and we couldn't have asked for anything more at the start of our American adventure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prettyconverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Wonderful! Thanks, prettyconverse. I'm delighted that we could kick off your American adventure in style. We always do hope that the little perks like wine in the lobby and six free (first come, first served) bike rentals help folks to feel right at home and yet aboard an exciting journey. I like to recommend taking the bikes across the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito, where a ferry boat can escort you back at your leisure, and with more local beer and great views as your reward for that hill through the Presidio :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
1,053 reviews
316 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,547 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We've selected the ARGONAUT due to TA rating, rate (US$ 250++/night) and location.

Except the location, in the middle of a tourist trap, the hotel is really nice - at the price paid. Yes, the rooms are narrow and we had some road noise (Beach Street). But, as I said, at US$ 250++ it's a good deal. We liked the style of the hotel, different than your regular 4* hotel.

A clear negative is the ventilation of the bathroom: it's very week. Therefore you're getting 'bathroom-smell' into the living-/bedroom.

The area, well. Be prepared to walk for good food - or better take a taxi. The restaurants in the area are just terrible, tourist traps. To get some better food walk to 'Little Italy', which is 15 - 20 minutes or 5 minutes by taxi.

Sorry, but parking is too expensive. US$ 46++/day... I parked on Beach Road (Argonaut brings the cars there also) at US$ 25/day via 'Park-Now' online booking. The difference is: Argonaut gives you unlimited in/out, 'Park-Now' doesn't allow you to go in and out.

Room Tip: Not towards Beach Rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hello, HONKiev,
I hope all is well in Ukraine! Thank you for visiting us. I hope we'll see you at the waterfront again, and we'll make sure to be ready with non-tourist restaurant recommendations like Cod Mother and Gary Danko (different ends of the price spectrum, but both beloved by we locals!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,181 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,066 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#62 of 229 in San Francisco
4,120 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,137 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing