We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great choice in great location!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was my families first time in San Francisco and we booked this hotel based on all the fabulous reviews. I am so glad we did! The hotel is right on the wharf in the center of everything. The hotel staff and doormen?... (I do not know the proper name for the gentlemen who stand outside the hotel) were so friendly and accommodating. The hotel lobby is nicely decorated and the 5pm free "happy hour" was a great way to unwind after a long day walking around the city. The rooms are very nice and clean. We have absolutely no complaints and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thanks so much, SunnyNJ! I'm glad we were the perfect place for you, and that you enjoyed unwinding at the evening wine party. We'll share your praises with the doormen in their fun puffy sleeves and pith helmets, too! They wear that crazy uniform with charm and pizzazz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,531
    1,603
    357
    136
    56
See reviews for
1,611
2,409
133
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our family of four stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights. We had a 1 BR corner suite on the 3rd floor. View was awesome! Golden gate out one side and Alcatraz out the other. We like comfortable not overly elegant when traveling with the family. This was perfect. A nautical theme with exposed beams and brick - they did a great job on the renovation. While we were right on top of the main street that feeds all of the wharf touristy stuff - heard NO street noise at night:) So most important aspect of a hotel - good night sleep after touring all day - A+. Suite has just one bath off of bedroom - 1 1/2 or 2 would have been ideal. Toiletries they provide and offer to provide are outstanding and thoughtful especially with all of the restrictions when flying. They offer a free happy hour every night in their lovely/cozy lobby with wine for adults and juices for the kids featuring California products. It has a big gas fireplace, which was nice as it can be cool. Location is great for touring the wharf (Alcatraz, sea lions, and piers) with easy access to other neighborhoods - China and Italy and access to the street car end line. It also allows pets. So we thought it was a great location for a family trip - but if you want romantic - might look elsewhere. Staff from door men to the check in desk to the concierge were all awesome and helpful when advice was needed. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the west or north side so you can see either Alcatraz or the Golden Gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi, Kathy! Thanks for your review! I just love suite 345. Both 345 and 445 are our "Specialty Suite View" rooms, known for those corner vistas of both the Bridge and Alcatraz. I know you probably didn't get to enjoy the deep Jacuzzi tub with water views in all its glory since it was a family trip, but I do highly recommend taking some of the complimentary wine party drinks upstairs for a good long soak!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Argonaut for 3 days & attended a meeting there of our professional group. Great (tourist) location almost at water's edge & close to Ghirardelli. Busy hotel. Comfortable room, except for the scarily high beds. Forgot to ask why these were so high. Another scary item was an enormous round mirror at the foot of my bed. At night, with lights off, it looked like a monster tunnel. We had no view, but we hadn't asked for one, having a bathtub was more important. As usual, the evening glass of wine was welcome, although this happy hour was a crowd scene. Had to climb a hill behind the hotel to get coffee(Starbucks) in the early morning. Our meeting room was adequate although full of big square columns, which we presumed were unavoidable in an older building in the earthquake zone.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay view, especially if it is your first trip to SF.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank futurist-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi, Futurist-on-the-Go!
Thanks to you and your group for checking out the Argonaut. I see your meetings must have taken place in the Maritime Room. That space does have fun historic columns, and the advantage of indoor/outdoor access to the Del Monte Cannery Courtyard. For the future (so to speak), we do also offer a boardroom space and a 3-part ballroom that I believe is the Wharf's largest unobstructed open meeting space.
Next time, you may like to try one of our accessible rooms with the lower beds. They are still a Sealy pillowtop, but on a different foundation. Also, if you prefer not to make Starbucks in your room, we are happy to deliver room service. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

this hotel is perfect for a first time visit to san fran. we could walk to any pier or any local activity. however in this area everything shuts down by 7 pm and there is no nightlife. the room was beautiful, but when they say no view they mean no view. we didnt have our room cleaned one day until almost 5 pm and the woman told us that they had staffing issues for the day and she had to leave at 530. the staff were abundantly friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thanks, Belinda G! I'm happy that staff was so "abundantly friendly" - love that, great wording! And please know that if you ever want your room serviced at a certain time we can make sure to plan the service to work best with your days' adventures out and about. Speaking of adventures: you might like some of the night life in North Beach (our "Little Italy") or in the young and vibrant Marina district next door. We can make some recommendations of walkable places when you're back in town. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This was a great location; we had a view of the Golden Gate Bridge (in the distance), room was lovely, it's right next door to the tram stop (great for beating the queues) and easy access to all the Piers. Only downside was no bar for an evening drink. There is a wine bar and a restaurant attached to the hotel but these were shut by 9.30. Staff are friendly and as there was no bar we sat in the lobby people watching by the fire which was nice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wutheringheight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi, WutheringHeight!
I am always jealous of folks sipping wine by the fire late in the evening. Another great option (albeit off property) is Jack's bar across the courtyard. They have a lot of local charm and an amazing selection of beers on tap.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel made our stay in America from the moment we met Jon the doorman to the time we left felt like family ,rooms were great ,daughter had her birthday there and when we came back we had a gold fish in our room with chocolate's and sparkling apple juice, well done to all,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haddockSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks, HaddockSussex!
I'm thrilled that your daughter enjoyed the special birthday treats and that John made everyone feel so at home from the first moment. He's a good egg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a fantastic time. Room was spacious and had a lovely bed and good size bathroom. Hotel left a bottle of wine in room to help me celebrate my birthday.You are right next to the cable car turnaround and fishermans wharf and a short walk to pier 39. All the staff were friendly and helpful although I have to say so was everyone we met in this great city. We had a great time here and would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jonanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks, Jonanden!
Happy birthday to you once again, and I'm glad that you loved the friendly San Franciscans here (and especially the Argonaut crew)! Who wouldn't be happy when blessed to live so close to the bay, vistas, history, restaurants... don't get me started! We try to remember that folks come from all around the world to see the sights here. Sometimes I step outside just to look at the Golden Gate Bridge on a quick break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,232 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
2,119 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#88 of 229 in San Francisco
89 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 229 in San Francisco
3,200 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing