We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love the Decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The nautical decor was what attracted me to look more into this hotel, and that was just the start of a string of positives. On arrival, the staff was attentive to help with your luggage. Check in was quick (it benefits to be a Kimpton member, access to free wifi). All the rooms with a Bay view were occupied so ours had a courtyard view (that's ok, nights were quiet and we were out most of the time anyway), Room 484. I had trouble with the safe and they sent their engineer right away. The bed and beddings were so comfortable. The fun animal skin patterned robes, slippers, and an umbrella were provided as well. And when it rained one day, the front desk had more umbrellas handy for the guests' use. We were very happy with Argonaut's service overall. Location is convenient - close to so many restaurants, the Hyde/Powell cable car turning station, Ghirardelli, Bay cruises and the streetcar on Jones St to take us to The Embarcadero.

Room Tip: Request for a room with a Bay view when you book. If you can't have a Bay view, a courtyard view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_NYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi, Travelling_NYer!
I see you are a member of our loyalty club (Kimpton InTouch), and I'm glad you enjoyed the free wifi perk! Keep in mind that loyalty club members also get to enjoy a $10 "Raid the Bar" credit off their bill. It's also a good idea to keep your profile current with your preferences so you can enjoy your choice of pillow (foam/feather), newspaper, etc.
For those skeptics out there: yes, this is a FREE loyalty club. I know, right? I'm not even a "joiner" but I think this is a pretty great deal, myself.
I hope this means we'll see you back at the Argonaut again soon, NY friend! All of we Kimptons have the quirky leopard robes waiting for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,317
    1,522
    336
    124
    54
See reviews for
1,486
2,267
125
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great hotel, great location. Right on Fisherman's Wharf. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable rooms, excellent food in the restaurant. Quirky nautical design. Enjoyed complimentary drinks in the evening happy hour. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiRatcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks, DiRatcliffe -- "Perfect" is just about the most we can hope for!! I'm delighted that you enjoyed the service here and that you got to unwind at the evening wine reception. We have been having fun featuring the local beer -- what Argonaut crew member could resist a local brew with anchors all over it :)?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The front desk staff were professional and courteous, both on arrival as well as check out. The décor of the hotel matches it's location and the hotel site's photos and TA's photos are what you will find. Our room was on the third floor; I thought the corridors could use some updating. The room overlooked the street but was quiet. The windows have shutters so you can let in the light but still have privacy. The bathroom was on the small side but did have adequate counter space for 2, linens/towels were all of good quality, bed was pretty firm. Amenities were sparse but the offered a number of items by request, a cost-saving method to be sure but do I really want to have to ask for a shower cap? We would have appreciated having another chair in the room besides the desk chair. There was a very low ottoman but that was not a great option. Room service order was delivered quickly. In-room coffee is from Starbucks.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook an open area in the interior of the bldg. Not horrible, but not aesthetic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvonSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi, AvonSanJose,
I know just what you mean: isn't it nice when the hotel and its rooms match up to the photos? The rooms really are large by city standards, and it's not a trick of the lens!
In addition to shower caps, our little "Forgot It? We've Got It!" program includes rental of a clothing steamer, hair straightener, or even free nail clippers! We try to think of all the possibilities, and of course we're happy to run out and fetch something at the nearby Walgreens if you're ever in a bind. If you'd like to make sure a shower cap is in your room prior to your next visit, please just drop me a line. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Argonaut for 6 nights in mid-April and had a fantastic stay. We stayed in the bay view king on the fourth floor. Our room was so quiet we didn't even know there were other guests in the hotel until we would make our way to the elevator. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows too, it was like we were in our own bed at home. The room had plantation shutters with a window that could be opened and each day we opened the window before we left! Each day the mini bar was always nicely restocked. We have absolutely NO COMPLAINTS about this hotel. The staff was very accommodating; the restaurant within the hotel was very good (the clam chowder was DELICIOUS!); it was a fantastic experience! We would definitely stay at the Argonaut again on our return to San Francisco!

Room Tip: pay the extra money for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBMKTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Fantastic - six nights and no complaints?! I am so happy to hear it, CMBKTM!
We will share your compliments with the team -- and with the chef!
It sounds like the room was a nice quiet retreat for you, convenient for your adventures but also a place to recharge. Sightseeing is hard work after all :). Thanks for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed her for 7 nights and will be doing so again soon (I am in the process of booking) The staff are great, location perfect and the room was just what we wanted. I can recommend the bar for drinks and food. Also a special thanks to door men (is that the right word?) who where so helpful when I was confused about directions- looking forward to coming back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Owner at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks, Abai C! How flattering that you are already planning your return visit! We will have to share your thanks with the doormen, unless you get to them first :). Please give a call if you have any special requests. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
210 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Spent 3 nights here over spring break. Two friends had recommended the hotel when I put a shout out for ideas on Facebook. It was easy to find and the valet staff made it easy to come and go as we spent a lot of time in Marin and driving around. Everyone at the door was happy and welcoming. Check in was great. Our rooms were large, clean and the decor was really fun. I loved the octopus wall paper in the bathroom. The animal print robes were a fun change from the standard white. We would definitely come back and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrissleGirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks, BrissleGirl66! It is so neat to hear that we have "Argo fans" out there who were helping to spread the word about us! Better yet, we're happy their recommendation worked out well for you :). We like to have some fun here, and everything from those amusing doormen to the octopus wallpaper should tie into that. Also, the treasure just is not just for kids -- we started an adult version at the front desk. And maybe you would like a goldfish buddy in your room...?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Talk about convenient location! right beside the trolley to head into the city and right at Fishermans Wharf to walk along to all the attractions and Alcatraz. The hotel theme was just beautiful and rooms were lovely - a little smaller than we'd had the rest of the trip but still lovely. We were only here for 3 nights and the weather was terrible and rainy for most of it but San Fran still never disappoints. From the hotel to the city - it has the most amazing character!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracysmallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Two perfects in one headline -- we love it! Thanks, Tracysmallman!

I am glad the rain didn't get you down. (After the drought, many locals were taking it as a sign that it was finally time to check out the local museums or ... dare I say... do taxes :).)

I hope we were able to warm you up with some complimentary wine or chowder. When in doubt, it's all about putting on a silly leopord print robe and enjoying an in-room movie after dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,825 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#52 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,996 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing