We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, million dollar view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here 2nights, 1 at either end of our wine country vacation. We requested a bay view room, which is definitely worth the extra charge. Our room looked out at the Golden Gate Bridge and the trolley stop The hotel is in a perfect location, right on Fisherman's wharf near Ghiradelli square. Our room had the original brick walls and were nicely decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was fine, but nothing special. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was the big screen tv in the lobby with a Wii game hooked up to it. While we were trying to relax and enjoy the complimentary wine tasting in the afternoon, there were 5-6 very young (ages 3 - 7) kids playing Wii, running around the lobby. I think it's a great thing to have for families, but it shouldn't be in the lobby!

Room Tip: Request a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hello and thanks, Diana H!
Normally the Wii is "fun for all ages" (wii bowling with wine, anyone...) but I can see this wasn't the case here. We'll have to keep eye out and make sure everyone is being neighborly in the lobby :). I'm delighted that everything else was super smooth and you loved our location and views, plus those cool brick walls do kick things up a notch, don't they? We love working with the National Park Service and protecting this historical building!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,318 - 2,324 of 5,887 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Argonaut Hotel. It couldn't be in a better location - right on Fisherman's Wharf and we had a lovely, spacious, comfortable room. The service was fantastic and we were made to feel incredibly welcome. The hotel operates a happy hour every evening, with free drinks - which created a very friendly buzz! Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks, LCBLondon! I am glad you enjoyed the "friendly buzz" of the wine party in the lobby, and maybe got to meet some fun folks from around the world or from our own back yard! The best part is reading that you felt so welcome. Come back this summer when we're featuring one of the special refreshing summer cocktails we like to add on to the normal wine selection... see how I tempt you ;)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel provides such a great seafaring experience. The nautical décor matches Fisherman's Wharf, and even has part of the national park museum in a corner of the hotel's lobby entrance. The rest of the park is walking distance right across the street. It provides a welcoming wine cocktail hour each evening, and a nice corner restaurant with delicious seafood. The rooms and amenities are enjoyable, especially if you get a room overlooking the bay. We had our window open every night soaking up the street sounds, great water/ ship views, and could even see Alcatraz Island in detail with a zoom camera. The room service was great, and private tour busses came right to the lobby door for city excursions. I would highly recommend this atmospheric hotel to anyone who wants to see San Francisco in a unique way.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room that overlooks the bay and the ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hi, Jan D,
We are lucky indeed that the hotel has this cool brick exterior and all the history "baked right in." Did you know that the building is actually looked after by the National Park Service? They also run that on-site museum and the park ranger tours. When the designers did our renovation, we like to think they made things fun and nautical without being over the top. Just the right mix to give that sense of place, and that seafood at the Blue Mermaid to round things out. Thanks for staying and dining here with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The nautical decor was what attracted me to look more into this hotel, and that was just the start of a string of positives. On arrival, the staff was attentive to help with your luggage. Check in was quick (it benefits to be a Kimpton member, access to free wifi). All the rooms with a Bay view were occupied so ours had a courtyard view (that's ok, nights were quiet and we were out most of the time anyway), Room 484. I had trouble with the safe and they sent their engineer right away. The bed and beddings were so comfortable. The fun animal skin patterned robes, slippers, and an umbrella were provided as well. And when it rained one day, the front desk had more umbrellas handy for the guests' use. We were very happy with Argonaut's service overall. Location is convenient - close to so many restaurants, the Hyde/Powell cable car turning station, Ghirardelli, Bay cruises and the streetcar on Jones St to take us to The Embarcadero.

Room Tip: Request for a room with a Bay view when you book. If you can't have a Bay view, a courtyard view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_NYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hi, Travelling_NYer!
I see you are a member of our loyalty club (Kimpton InTouch), and I'm glad you enjoyed the free wifi perk! Keep in mind that loyalty club members also get to enjoy a $10 "Raid the Bar" credit off their bill. It's also a good idea to keep your profile current with your preferences so you can enjoy your choice of pillow (foam/feather), newspaper, etc.
For those skeptics out there: yes, this is a FREE loyalty club. I know, right? I'm not even a "joiner" but I think this is a pretty great deal, myself.
I hope this means we'll see you back at the Argonaut again soon, NY friend! All of we Kimptons have the quirky leopard robes waiting for you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great hotel, great location. Right on Fisherman's Wharf. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable rooms, excellent food in the restaurant. Quirky nautical design. Enjoyed complimentary drinks in the evening happy hour. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiRatcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks, DiRatcliffe -- "Perfect" is just about the most we can hope for!! I'm delighted that you enjoyed the service here and that you got to unwind at the evening wine reception. We have been having fun featuring the local beer -- what Argonaut crew member could resist a local brew with anchors all over it :)?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The front desk staff were professional and courteous, both on arrival as well as check out. The décor of the hotel matches it's location and the hotel site's photos and TA's photos are what you will find. Our room was on the third floor; I thought the corridors could use some updating. The room overlooked the street but was quiet. The windows have shutters so you can let in the light but still have privacy. The bathroom was on the small side but did have adequate counter space for 2, linens/towels were all of good quality, bed was pretty firm. Amenities were sparse but the offered a number of items by request, a cost-saving method to be sure but do I really want to have to ask for a shower cap? We would have appreciated having another chair in the room besides the desk chair. There was a very low ottoman but that was not a great option. Room service order was delivered quickly. In-room coffee is from Starbucks.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook an open area in the interior of the bldg. Not horrible, but not aesthetic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvonSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi, AvonSanJose,
I know just what you mean: isn't it nice when the hotel and its rooms match up to the photos? The rooms really are large by city standards, and it's not a trick of the lens!
In addition to shower caps, our little "Forgot It? We've Got It!" program includes rental of a clothing steamer, hair straightener, or even free nail clippers! We try to think of all the possibilities, and of course we're happy to run out and fetch something at the nearby Walgreens if you're ever in a bind. If you'd like to make sure a shower cap is in your room prior to your next visit, please just drop me a line. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Argonaut for 6 nights in mid-April and had a fantastic stay. We stayed in the bay view king on the fourth floor. Our room was so quiet we didn't even know there were other guests in the hotel until we would make our way to the elevator. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows too, it was like we were in our own bed at home. The room had plantation shutters with a window that could be opened and each day we opened the window before we left! Each day the mini bar was always nicely restocked. We have absolutely NO COMPLAINTS about this hotel. The staff was very accommodating; the restaurant within the hotel was very good (the clam chowder was DELICIOUS!); it was a fantastic experience! We would definitely stay at the Argonaut again on our return to San Francisco!

Room Tip: pay the extra money for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBMKTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Fantastic - six nights and no complaints?! I am so happy to hear it, CMBKTM!
We will share your compliments with the team -- and with the chef!
It sounds like the room was a nice quiet retreat for you, convenient for your adventures but also a place to recharge. Sightseeing is hard work after all :). Thanks for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,433 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £180 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing