We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$576
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$195
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$432
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$267
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$421
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$328
US$266
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$296
US$247
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$454
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,113)
Filter reviews
6,113 results
Traveller rating
3,806
1,714
384
147
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,806
1,714
384
147
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnautical themeblue mermaidfisherman's wharfthe golden gate bridgecable carchowdermaritime museumgreat locationghirardelli squareirish coffeebuena vistabay viewking suitewine hourwharf areawine receptionevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,520 - 2,525 of 6,113 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here between Thurs 1st & Sun 4th May 2014 and it has everything a tourist of San Francisco would want, great 5 star service, right on Fishermans Wharf, only a 10 min walk to Pier 39, the Trolley Car Turning Circle close by and the hop on, hop off bus main stop just around the corner and too many excellent restaurants near by to try them all, we had just a great stay. Free beer and wine daily between 5 & 6pm helps, but with lovely rooms and excellent service throughout, can be the only choice for top end hotel lovers in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_cadmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks, the_cadmans!
I love to see two "perfect location"s posted in a row! Woohoo!
I'm not sure if we had the chance to meet at the wine party, but I'm happy you enjoyed it and the service overall. Did you get to see the silly and charming sea lions at Pier 39? They are my favorite part!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The service at this hotel was outstanding. From check in to check out nothing was too difficult for the staff. A surprise extra was that they got boarding passes without our having to sign onto a computer. I had sent a wheelchair in advance of my stay and they assembled it without our asking. When we needed to change rooms due to our request they were most accommodating.
Andrea and Denise were especially helpful as we're other staff

Room Tip: If you are slightly handicapped ask for a handicapped room as the commode is a bit low
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bckay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi, bckay1, and thanks for your review! I am glad the staff was so helpful, and YES we are all about making boarding passes easy with three ways to do it, all of them FREE: in the business center, from the fun new lobby iPads, and via the front desk agents for the full service option. For the ADA rooms, please know that we have many options, including rooms that offer accessible features and others that offer those features plus a "roll in shower" (tub alternative). Feel free to drop us a line if you have any questions about which one you want to reserve. We will look forward to your return! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

travelled to San Francisco as a group of 6 to celebrate our parents 50th anniversary. Even upon arrival we were so surprised by the amazing staff. We arrived at 9 AM and even though check -in wasn't until 3PM they not only made rooms available to us but even put us all on the same floor. When we returned from a bit of sightseeing and lunch my parents were thrilled to find in their room a bottle of champagne and truffles.

The doormen were so courteous and very funny! The concierge were above and beyond helpful!!! as were the front desk staff. The wine hour every night was such a lovely treat and a great way to begin our evenings. The hotel is perfectly located and the rooms were so nice and clean and very quiet. We couldn't have asked for more!! it made for a perfect 5 day home away from home! thanks to all the staff that made our parents' 50th anniversary a memory of a lifetime!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We're flattered, Linda B! What a heartwarming review, and rewarding for us to know that we were a meaningful part of this 50th anniversary.
The doormen are funny indeed, and it's always a great idea to tap their knowledge and take full advantage of the concierge service. I'm also still picking up tips from our own guests at that nightly wine reception. It's fun to constantly see the city through new eyes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Could not have asked for a better location - on the same block as the famous Hyde-Powell street cable car turntable and catty-corner from the famous Buena Vista Cafe - home of Irish Coffee. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help with any questions we had. The decor was lovely, and I have NEVER had more comfy pillows in a hotel! Free wine/beer happy hour between five and six gives you time to make the evening bus tour with CitySightseeing or catch an early dinner and just stroll the wharf. A very short walk to Ghirardelli Square, the park below or the beach. I would stay there again in a flash.

Room Tip: There is no pool, so that doesn't figure in. Rooms on the "cannery" side are quieter than bay or park view rooms. We had the cannery view. Noise was never a problem (I'm reading trip advisor's suggestions about what people want to know here!). I am guessing you will save money if you get an interior - or no real view - room, but the point of coming to SF is not staying in your room, right? Two days into our trip, the staff recognized us and we knew them by name. Unbelievably friendly, extremely helpful, I can't say any more than that!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thanks so much, ColleenH! I'll have to tell the crew here their "wonderfulness" made the difference in your stay. I'm sure the proximity to Irish coffee followed by the fluffy pillows you mention didn't hurt, but we'll give the staff all the credit ;).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here 2nights, 1 at either end of our wine country vacation. We requested a bay view room, which is definitely worth the extra charge. Our room looked out at the Golden Gate Bridge and the trolley stop The hotel is in a perfect location, right on Fisherman's wharf near Ghiradelli square. Our room had the original brick walls and were nicely decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was fine, but nothing special. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was the big screen tv in the lobby with a Wii game hooked up to it. While we were trying to relax and enjoy the complimentary wine tasting in the afternoon, there were 5-6 very young (ages 3 - 7) kids playing Wii, running around the lobby. I think it's a great thing to have for families, but it shouldn't be in the lobby!

Room Tip: Request a bay view room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hello and thanks, Diana H!
Normally the Wii is "fun for all ages" (wii bowling with wine, anyone...) but I can see this wasn't the case here. We'll have to keep eye out and make sure everyone is being neighborly in the lobby :). I'm delighted that everything else was super smooth and you loved our location and views, plus those cool brick walls do kick things up a notch, don't they? We love working with the National Park Service and protecting this historical building!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews