We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from my first stay at the Argonaut Hotel. It won't be my last. The atmosphere was outstanding. Great staff that are so helpful in every way. Everyone employee we came across had a smile on their face and were eager to help us. The location couldn't be better. Loved the decor of the room. As a boat lover, the boating theme was well received. To top it off, the wine reception was a great touch. Don't worry beer lovers, they have beer too. Will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Wow, how wonderful, Adam C! I love that the crew here stood out with their helpfulness and smiles. Their smiles often make my day, too, and I always try to thank the team for that! As for the beer... well... with a nautical theme like ours and an emphasis on local, boutique experiences, it was hard for us to resist featuring Anchor Steam at wine party :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,388
    1,551
    342
    127
    55
See reviews for
1,521
2,319
128
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,090)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Argonaut promotes itself as a top class hotel and succeeds in most areas. It has an excellent location close to the action and restaurants of Fisherman's Wharf, nice decor in a nautical theme to match the location and friendly and helpful staff who go out of their way to be of service.
But it is expensive, so you would expect these attributes. They do miss a few little things, like no (free) water in the rooms, only one coffee serving and no tea - things you would expect for these prices.

Room Tip: Avoid taking your car as parking starts at $46/night. If you intend participating in their evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi, Jeff P, and thanks for applauding our "classy" hospitality here at the wharf. I'll have to take a look at offering tea in the rooms. We do stock it at the front desk currently, along with that fun array of "Forgot It? We've Got It!" items like toothpaste, fashion tape, shaving cream, etc.
We also try to provide some special perks to members of our (totally free, no strings attached) loyalty program, Kimpton InTouch. One of them is a $10 "Raid the Bar" credit good for items from the minibar or "real bar" at the Blue Mermaid restaurant. If you're a member, just mention the water bottles or whatnot at check-out and we'll deduct them from your bill!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A complete change from most USA hotels.
Informal yet very efficient.
Excellent rooms with character.
Perfect location for the waterfront and beyond with the Cable Car stop just outside.
Happy hour at 5.00pm with free wine and beer sets you up for the evening with only a walk next door into the hotels own restaurant which is very good or out onto Fishermans Wharf to try any one of a hundred restaurants.
This is a definite return stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hinds5747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks, Hinds5747! I am delighted to hear that the design/history and service here helped us stand out from the other US hotels you encountered. We will look forward to your return visit! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Argonaut for 6 nights. I did a fair amount of research prior to booking our stay and I can say without hesitation that we made the right decision. The hotel is great. Clean, friendly staff , great location. Too many tourists? Well, first of all we are tourists and the pros definitely outweighed the cons. We spent one day at Union Square and much preferred the area around the Argonaut. If you think Fisherman's Wharf is busy, try walking around Union Square on a Saturday. We started our vacation at Yosemite, but returned the rental car as soon as we arrived in SF. We purchased a 7 day Muni pass and used it for the cable cars, trolley and buses. The hotel is right next to the stop for the cable car. Jump on early in the morning. No lines. The F trolley will take you down to the Ferry building. Interesting food, shops. If you are there on a Saturday, check out the farmer's market. It goes all around to the back of the building. You can also walk down from the hotel, it is only 2 mi. Stop and see the sea lions at Pier 39. On Saturdays there will be a number of food trucks. Grab breakfast and terrific coffee at Blue Bottle. The hotel has 6 bikes available at no charge, but you have to get there early. We didn't, so we rented bikes at Blazing Saddles which is located right next to the hotel. We rode over the Golden Gate Bridge, to Sausalito and Tiburon. With a few detours it was about 22 mi. We took the ferry from Tiburon back. If that feels too long, it is an easy ride to Sausalito and you can catch a ferry back. The concierge was very helpful securing tickets to a Giants game. In fact, everyone we encountered at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The food around the Wharf has been written about extensively, so I won't belabor the point. The best food we found was actually the crab and corn chowder at the Blue Mermaid attached to the hotel. One night my daughter, who was traveling with us, and I sat at the bar and had chowder and wine. The bartender was great, as was the wine and chowder. A couple nights we were just too tired after a full day to leave the area so we resorted to restaurants near by. Mediocre at best, but my expectations were not that high. We did have "fun food" at the food trucks at Fort Mason, which is within walking distance of the hotel, but is only at that location on Friday nights. Last, but not least, if you want to go to Alcatraz book EARLY. If you actually want to land and walk around, you need to book through the National Park service. We did one of the night tours. It was worth the cost. The ferry that takes you out is very close to the hotel. You can walk or again, jump on the F trolley. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanQueen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
BeanQueen16! I can only imagine that you are referring to L.L.Bean? As a Mainer myself, i was delighted to read your detailed and happy review. I know the chef here will also be delighted to know that his chowder was the standout seafood experience here at the water front. On another note, I used to work in Union Square and I know just what you mean about how it can be crowded with shoppers on a Saturday. Best to retreat to our end of the waterfront and then board a boat to take in Alcatraz or Tiburon! The sailboat loops around the bay are a blast, too, though perhaps not so novel for folks from the Maine seacoast :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Argonaut was the first stop of our West coast trip, I chose it mainly for the reviews on here so knew what to expect. We stayed for 3 nights, the hotel very nearly got 5 stars but ill go into the reason I rated 4 shortly.

so what's great about the hotel.

The location is right on Fishermans Wharf, walking distance to pier 39 and pier 33 for the Alcatraz ferry, the Cable car stop is next to the hotel and is recommended, we loved our cable car trip to union square, hanging off the front. The hop on/off bus is nearby too.

The rooms are tasteful And full of character, there's a great bathroom, the shower is hot and powerful. The bed was very comfortable. We had a well stocked but pricey mini bar in the room, other amenities included animal patterned dressing gowns, in room safe and free wifi for the duration of our stay.

Included in our rate is a free wine hour each day at 5pm.

The staff in the hotel are incredible,management if you are reading this then note, they are a credit to you and your company, particular note to Marilyn, nothing is too much trouble for them which saved the day on our first night in the hotel.

Despite requesting a quiet room when we booked the Hotel months ago, our first night was marred by noise, it kicked of with thumping bass at 10.30pm, I phoned reception and was informed that there was an event which would go on to around 1am, not great, we were offered to be moved to a sister hotel but we could not be moved In the hotel as they were fully booked, I declined. In the end we settled for ear plugs and a credit to the room. Next day reception were so apologetic and we were moved to a stunning room on the 4th floor, we had peace for the rest of our stay.

We ARE light sleepers so the noise is the reason the hotel did not get 5 stars the staff were the reason it did not get lower.

Overall I would recommend the Argonaut, we loved San Francisco and the hotel helped to make our experience a great one.

Room Tip: Check if any events will be taking place in the hotel and request a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grgrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you so much, grgrgray,
It is kind of you to note all of these great highlights of your stay from the location to the service (especially Marilyn!) and we are a bit embarrassed that things didn't work out as planned for that event that happened at the hotel. We will certainly make sure to make it up to you upon your return. Feel free to drop me a line!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Comfortable, clean and friendly. This made our trip enjoyable Being able to travel with pets and stay in a nice hotel makes traveling enjoyable. The rooms were large enough, the location was great and the staff was accomodating. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arizonatraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi, arizonatraveler02!
I'm happy to hear that the hotel was a great home-away-from-home for you and for your four-legged family member. We try to make sure everyone is comfortable here, with dog beds and bowls for the pet lovers, and a non-pet floor for those who may have allergies. My favorite part is the little treat station at the front door. It seems the dogs learn quickly where it's located...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHR
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel, which used to be the Del Monte cannery, for one night as the final point of our amazing trip. We were upgraded to a huge suite, room 456, which was amazing with superb views of Alcatraz. It is very well situated for all wharf activity and piers. shops, restaurants and boardwalks are abundant as are the street entertainers. It is well positioned for the cable car, which is an experience not to be missed. It is the closest I will ever get to a roller coaster ride!! You will queue for ticket purchase then Up to an hour to ride the tram. You must get off at the end of the line and queue for your return journey, but we walked a block and got on at the next stop which made queuing seem rather pointless, people are getting on and off all the time but I think you would need to leave it a couple of blocks before trying. The only downside to the hotel location is that it is dead at night, we went out for a stroll and it was like at set at Universal studios set waiting to come alive. The Irish Buena Vista bar is close but had 3 people in it who soon left, their Irish coffees are raved about but we found them quite poor having had considerably better versions in the UK, including the ones we make at home. All said and done we would return but are better prepared for what to expect in terms of what to do and when. Don't hesitate to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view
See more room tips
Green Features: Very 'green' attitude by the hotel management.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christineCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello, ChristineCAT!
I am glad you loved that huge corner suite and the views from and around the hotel. When I drive into work in the morning, it actually still takes my breath away! At night though, yes, it can get a little quiet down here at the waterfront. Jack's bar next door and Fiddler's Green behind the hotel are some favorite late-night watering holes, or many guests like to walk up into North Beach to check out the cafe's, comedy club, and Beach Blanket Babylon there. You can alternate espresso and vino and keep the night going strong...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,023 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#63 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,053 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#23 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing