We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable end to our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Memorable end to our trip”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Wish we had stayed longer at this great hotel. We were tired from our long flight from Melbourne and delighted we could get into our room at midday. The staff were really great and even remarked on the fact we were having our second Saturday!
The room (as well as the whole hotel) was well appointed and any disappointment that we didn't overlook the wharf was soon forgotten as it was quiet and just right for catching up on the missed nights sleep.
We had dinner in the restuarant which was very tasty and good value for money.
The high light (apart from the lovely bath products) had to be the free 'happy hour' which was open to anyone and was great to get to know people.....optional donation to charity.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and knowledgeable....I loved the uniform the porter staff wore.....all just added that bit of extra something.
Unfortunately we only had 3 nights booked which wasn't long enough to explore this vibrant city.We will definitively be using this hotel again as it's location was just right.
I will be searching for Kimpton group hotels where ever we go from now on, great value for money.

Green Features: I thought the idea of a free bar with donations to charity was a really good way of getting people together and raising much needed cash.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msox106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,492
    1,582
    352
    132
    55
See reviews for
1,574
2,385
133
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Argonaut Hotel was such a great find for our family trip to San Francisco. The hotel is gorgeous, stylish and well appointed with nice places to sit and enjoy a glass of wine or take a break at the end of the day. The staff were so friendly, and especially attentive to our kids who both looked forward to returning to the hotel each day with updates for their 'friends' at the bell stand. High-fives and visits to the treasure chest always followed. The room was comfortable, spacious and had everything we needed to be comfortable during our stay. The kids even got to 'take care' of a goldfish for the duration! Just part of the kids' welcome - which also included kid-sized animal print robes (to match our own) and a scavenger hunt through the lobby. All around just a fantastic place to stay, and while the Wharf area is very heavily touristed, we felt that the hotel was perfectly situated for all of our exploring and we could truly escape the crowds into our own oasis. The Blue Mermaid restaurant was also one of the highlights with equally friendly staff, great food and excellent value. Highly recommend it - and we'll be back on our next visit to the City!

Room Tip: Do ask for an outside room - the interior courtyard doesn't have the charm that you'd want i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmargani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here only one night, before flying back to Australia. What a wonderful place. All the staff from the doorman onwards were very friendly and helpful, which is the most important thing for us. Such interesting decor,with beautiful rooms. Loved the chowder in the hotel restaurant. We're sorry we couldn't stay longer. Right near Fisherman's Wharf and very easy to get into the centre of town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lottiesandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks, lottiesandy! "Stay too short" is the ideal complaint for any of us to read. I'm glad the location and decor were perfect for you, and thanks for checking out the chef's famous chowder. Sometimes it is fun to try the sampler, though of course the specialty of the house remains the crab & corn recipe. I think it's the salty/sweet combo that does it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from my first stay at the Argonaut Hotel. It won't be my last. The atmosphere was outstanding. Great staff that are so helpful in every way. Everyone employee we came across had a smile on their face and were eager to help us. The location couldn't be better. Loved the decor of the room. As a boat lover, the boating theme was well received. To top it off, the wine reception was a great touch. Don't worry beer lovers, they have beer too. Will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Wow, how wonderful, Adam C! I love that the crew here stood out with their helpfulness and smiles. Their smiles often make my day, too, and I always try to thank the team for that! As for the beer... well... with a nautical theme like ours and an emphasis on local, boutique experiences, it was hard for us to resist featuring Anchor Steam at wine party :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Argonaut promotes itself as a top class hotel and succeeds in most areas. It has an excellent location close to the action and restaurants of Fisherman's Wharf, nice decor in a nautical theme to match the location and friendly and helpful staff who go out of their way to be of service.
But it is expensive, so you would expect these attributes. They do miss a few little things, like no (free) water in the rooms, only one coffee serving and no tea - things you would expect for these prices.

Room Tip: Avoid taking your car as parking starts at $46/night. If you intend participating in their evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi, Jeff P, and thanks for applauding our "classy" hospitality here at the wharf. I'll have to take a look at offering tea in the rooms. We do stock it at the front desk currently, along with that fun array of "Forgot It? We've Got It!" items like toothpaste, fashion tape, shaving cream, etc.
We also try to provide some special perks to members of our (totally free, no strings attached) loyalty program, Kimpton InTouch. One of them is a $10 "Raid the Bar" credit good for items from the minibar or "real bar" at the Blue Mermaid restaurant. If you're a member, just mention the water bottles or whatnot at check-out and we'll deduct them from your bill!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A complete change from most USA hotels.
Informal yet very efficient.
Excellent rooms with character.
Perfect location for the waterfront and beyond with the Cable Car stop just outside.
Happy hour at 5.00pm with free wine and beer sets you up for the evening with only a walk next door into the hotels own restaurant which is very good or out onto Fishermans Wharf to try any one of a hundred restaurants.
This is a definite return stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hinds5747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks, Hinds5747! I am delighted to hear that the design/history and service here helped us stand out from the other US hotels you encountered. We will look forward to your return visit! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Argonaut for 6 nights. I did a fair amount of research prior to booking our stay and I can say without hesitation that we made the right decision. The hotel is great. Clean, friendly staff , great location. Too many tourists? Well, first of all we are tourists and the pros definitely outweighed the cons. We spent one day at Union Square and much preferred the area around the Argonaut. If you think Fisherman's Wharf is busy, try walking around Union Square on a Saturday. We started our vacation at Yosemite, but returned the rental car as soon as we arrived in SF. We purchased a 7 day Muni pass and used it for the cable cars, trolley and buses. The hotel is right next to the stop for the cable car. Jump on early in the morning. No lines. The F trolley will take you down to the Ferry building. Interesting food, shops. If you are there on a Saturday, check out the farmer's market. It goes all around to the back of the building. You can also walk down from the hotel, it is only 2 mi. Stop and see the sea lions at Pier 39. On Saturdays there will be a number of food trucks. Grab breakfast and terrific coffee at Blue Bottle. The hotel has 6 bikes available at no charge, but you have to get there early. We didn't, so we rented bikes at Blazing Saddles which is located right next to the hotel. We rode over the Golden Gate Bridge, to Sausalito and Tiburon. With a few detours it was about 22 mi. We took the ferry from Tiburon back. If that feels too long, it is an easy ride to Sausalito and you can catch a ferry back. The concierge was very helpful securing tickets to a Giants game. In fact, everyone we encountered at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The food around the Wharf has been written about extensively, so I won't belabor the point. The best food we found was actually the crab and corn chowder at the Blue Mermaid attached to the hotel. One night my daughter, who was traveling with us, and I sat at the bar and had chowder and wine. The bartender was great, as was the wine and chowder. A couple nights we were just too tired after a full day to leave the area so we resorted to restaurants near by. Mediocre at best, but my expectations were not that high. We did have "fun food" at the food trucks at Fort Mason, which is within walking distance of the hotel, but is only at that location on Friday nights. Last, but not least, if you want to go to Alcatraz book EARLY. If you actually want to land and walk around, you need to book through the National Park service. We did one of the night tours. It was worth the cost. The ferry that takes you out is very close to the hotel. You can walk or again, jump on the F trolley. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanQueen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
BeanQueen16! I can only imagine that you are referring to L.L.Bean? As a Mainer myself, i was delighted to read your detailed and happy review. I know the chef here will also be delighted to know that his chowder was the standout seafood experience here at the water front. On another note, I used to work in Union Square and I know just what you mean about how it can be crowded with shoppers on a Saturday. Best to retreat to our end of the waterfront and then board a boat to take in Alcatraz or Tiburon! The sailboat loops around the bay are a blast, too, though perhaps not so novel for folks from the Maine seacoast :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,160 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#44 of 228 in San Francisco
2,052 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#63 of 228 in San Francisco
4,111 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
3,118 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing