We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Still Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Argonaught and again I am not disappointed with our stay there.

Our check in was lovely and smooth , we had two rooms a long side each other as we were travelling with friends and the quality of the furnishing has not changed since the last time we stayed there , they are so well maintained that they almost like they have been refurbished but you know they haven't

It is a nice little touch to have the wine tasting every evening in the reception between five and six and although we didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening we ate there for breakfast and it was absolutely lovely , the only things missing this time is that I had waffles and strawberries the last time I stayed there but unfortunately they got rid of the waffle maker and have not replaced it but tried their home made granola and yogurt and it was beautiful and probably better for me.

We had exceptionally good nights sleep and the Hotel is an excellent location at the quieter end of Fisherman's Wharf which I prefer as it is a little busy and I should think could be very noisy

Once again Thank You The staff and the Argonaught Hotel for making our stay so pleasurable

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks, sheena1962! It is doubly fun to receive a five-star review from a Top Contributor on this site and a repeat guest. We are delighted that you feel the hotel has been so well maintained; I will make sure to pass this along to the housekeeping and engineering teams.
Other than the prime location at the West end of the Wharf, the other reason for the quiet is that the building was renovated with double-pane glass windows -- priceless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,503
    1,587
    352
    133
    56
See reviews for
1,583
2,390
133
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chardon, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Most importantly, our room was very quiet! The entire staff has been very nice. The decor is creative, and the entire hotel smells clean. I would definitely stay here again. The loaner bikes are also a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutofKontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi, OutofKontrol,
What a name, it is a wonder Security didn't report you :).
Seriously, though, I am glad you enjoyed such a quiet getaway here with us, and it sounds like you got to take the bikes out for a spin, too! (For those inquiring minds at home, we typically have a half dozen on hand and they are loaned out through the concierge on a first come, first service basis. It can be a great savings, and a wonderful way to explore westward to the Golden Gate Bridge if you are feeling adventurous!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with friends at the begining of our 2 week "California Dream Tour". After a long flight from the UK this was an ideal start.

Based at Fisherman's Wharf which is a nice place although a little tacky to be honest. Reminds me of an up market Blackpool in some ways....

Anyway the cable car stop is just outside the hotel and the Argonaut is a gem right in the middle of everything. 15 minutes from downtown by cable car which worked well for our group.

Frisco was a little cooler than we had planned so we probably won't stay again if we fly into SF airport again but if you are planning a stay in Frisco then this place is a great place to be located.

Happy hour at 5pm was fun too....

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ianjburnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi, Ianjburnett, and thanks to you and your friends for choosing the Argonaut! I'm glad we were a "gem" to you and the location and service were top notch. For our best weather, I must say I recommend September and October :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

First a big thank you to Emily ( the manager) for the delicious cheese and fruit platter that awaited us upon arrival.

We had requested room 416. That was not available but we were told we could have it after a few days. We liked our 316 room that had a Golden Gate view so stayed put for the 8 nights.

The bay view rooms are great, really spacious and luxurious. They are expensive but heavenly to stay in. The only comment I would make is that at 650 Australian dollars a night, perhaps a light continental breakfast could be included.

There were a couple of minor glitches at the start. Emily came to the fore and addressed same, also sending us a bottle of red wine and delicious Ghirardelli chocolate squares; a nice touch.

The staff are great. A big thank you to Brooke who is a superb Concierge and also to the other Concierges who were really helpful. Thank you also to Cailin, Jennifer and Lauren at reception, John and the other doormen and to the housekeeping staff and the lovely wine reception folk. Anyone I have left out, it is inadvertent...

Very good CS skills on Cailin's part. We had made a call to New York, spent less than a minute on the phone which cost $18 plus. When I expressed surprise at the cost, Cailin immediately offered to discount it by half.

The evening wine reception is excellent. We met so many interesting and fun people during our stay, at the evening receptions.

This hotel is in an excellent location, walking distance from Gary Danko's if you want to treat yourself to a sublime dining experience.

Andersen's bakery around the corner from the hotel on Beach has the most divine pastries, bagels, ganache cake, etc.

We had a truly excellent stay.

Room Tip: Bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizziebackcourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hi, "lizziebackcourse," and thanks again for visiting us at the Argonaut. It is too funny to see my name in print, famous for all to see here :). I have also shared your review with the other crew members whom you were kind enough to mention by name as well. It is so gratifying to them to learn that their customer service made a lasting impression! Hope to see you again and meet in person on your next visit. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed for 3 days with friends and family. Front desk very helpful, even before trip as changed one king size, for two queen sized beds to accomodate my daughter at eleventh hour. We had bay view room, overlooking Alcatraz and main st leading to Fishermans Wharf. Hotel in great location, close to cable and streetcar stops and easy walking distance to most places (if you can cope with the steep hills).
The doormen were very helpful and knowledgeable as was the concierge. Happy hour 5-6pm with free wine and cocktails was nice before shower and dinner. Attached restaurant looked good and quite busy, but never used it.
Room decent size for city, beds were comfy, bathroom small and shower wasn't that great.
All in all, a good stay and would recommend.
I

Room Tip: Choose bay view room for lovely view. We had room 353, was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spurslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hi, spurslass!
Isn't that view fantastic?! It is always hard to choose a favorite among the view rooms: Golden Gate Bridge side or Alcatraz side... a true "first world problem" I suppose!
Anyhow, we're delighted you loved the room and found it to be spacious, and the team helpful. Some of those doormen have been with us a decade, and their Wharf knowledge is pretty neat! I joke with them that they have the best office, and they let me "visit their office" when it's time to escape mine at the back corner of the hotel :).
I hope that next time we can tempt you into the restaurant as you mentioned. Remember guests can receive Chowder Cards through the front desk, which are good for a free cup of their famous Crab & Corn Chowder with any entree. So addictive...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Excellent location and interesting hotel as it was previously a cannery, and was converted to a hotel in partnership with the national parks service. Room was quite small but was compensated by the fact that we could see the ocean and the Hyde Powell cable car turnaround whilst lying in bed! The staff were very friendly and helpful and we loved the bottle of champagne left in our room to celebrate our wedding anniversary. They have the best 'happy hour' ever with complimentary wine and beer every day - a great chance to chat with fellow guests. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi, Brindle, and congrats again on the anniversary! Thanks for spending it with us!
I'm happy you loved the "bonus" view from that room. That's the way our queen rooms work in general: the smaller ones have a neat little view and the ones on the other side of the hotel are a bit larger. Of course, for our famous amounts of space, the kings, queen queens, and suites are the way to go. I also love the soaking tubs in the suites, but those are hard to come by in the summer time ;).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Yeah the place is smack in the middle of the tourist area, but the hotel is meticulously maintained, comfortable and makes you feel like you are in a special oasis in a sea of tourists. Used the hotel for business and will return again and again going forward to the large comfortable rooms they have here compared to many SF hotels. On arrival well after the evening cocktail hour had ended, we were offered a glass of wine at check in. Nice touch, but I would be remiss to not mention one of the most cheery and helpful front desk employees I have ever encountered in my global travels. Thank you Lavon for the warmest reception and the fantastic restaurant recommendation you gave to us. You made reservations in a pinch and the suggestion was amazing! Kudos for being just as cheery on departure which made the memory of staying (even if just for business) at the Argonaut a special one. Will definitely return to this hotel. Doormen were great, just an all around great experience. Dont let location turn you away, only a short cab ride to business district.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor or higher as the second floor becomes the ground floor given the topography. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you, palmster! We will make sure to pass along your praise to the housekeeping ladies, Lavon at the front desk, and those doormen in their signature pith helmets, too!
We are delighted to serve as your "oasis" in the waterfront, and I'm happy you enjoyed the nightly wine party. If we didn't get a chance to meet: thank you and hope to see you next time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,176 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,062 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#62 of 229 in San Francisco
4,118 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,131 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing