We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great nautical themed hotel.... Perfect base for seeing San Fran!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great nautical themed hotel.... Perfect base for seeing San Fran!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here with family for three nights and found it to be clean, comfortable, friendly with an attractive nautical interior design theme throughout. From the start we felt welcome and I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting a base from which to see San Francisco Bay. Hire bikes from bLazing saddles two doors down, enjoy a 10 minute walk to Pier 39 or pier 33 for ALcatraz. Then get the cable car (5 minutes from hotel) into 'town' for shopping! But bear in mind cable car queues can be up to 1 hour in high season. Loved hotel..... Very comfortable and would come again if and when we revisit San Francisco. Breakfast fantastic at Blue mermaid Chowder house which is attached to the hotel. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks, Shona B! We'll share your comments with the Blue Mermaid team as well. I just love their thick-cut bacon, be it in the quiche or on the lunchtime Ahi Tuna BLT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,318
    1,522
    336
    124
    54
See reviews for
1,486
2,268
125
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,064)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was my first time staying near Fisherman's Wharf. I wasn't too excited about being in the middle of the action but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. We spent two nights here after a Napa trip. The rooms are small, but very comfortable. The lobby is a cool place to hang out by the fire and enjoy some down time in between your busy day. The museum next door is very informative and interactive. I went on a run along the shoreline in the morning and it was so nice to be out before the throng of tourists. The location is within walking distance of Ghirardelli square and Fort Mason, among many other sites. I honestly think the food at and around the wharf isn't very good (mostly over-priced tourist spots). However the dinner and drinks at Blue Mermaid were quite tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGP626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks, MGP626!
I'm happy that you enjoyed that early run along the waterfront. It's quite a view! Some of our guests also like to take out the free bike rentals or even swim in the Aquatic Park (not for me!).
If you hadn't had your fill of wine tasting, I hope you got to check out the neat Winery Collective tenant here at the hotel. They feature some very rare, limited production wines from our local area and their tasting flight experience is super informative!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Not the ordinary luxury hotel or business hotel. The theme of the hotel matches the atmosphere of the bay. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and nice. The hotel is right next to the cable car turnaround so good for sightseeing too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank may-tok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi, May-Tok!
This unique and setting-appropriate seaside vibe is exactly what we go for. We believe everyone should have a sense of place -- and, better yet, of the rich history of the city's waterfront district. Thanks for checking us out, and also for your kind review and praise of the housekeeping team and front-end staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

After a week of couch crashing and camping, this was quite a treat for our last night in California. I absolutely loved the nautical theme and the location was perfect. After checking in we walked along Fisherman's Wharf, went to the sea lion-less Pier 39 (in summer they migrate south for breeding), got chocolate in Ghiradelli square and then ended with a fresh seafood dinner.

They have a complimentary happy hour 5-6. I don't drink but it was a nice touch. The jars of fresh cucumber-mint ice water in the lobby were more up my alley. So refreshing!

The only hiccup we experienced was a fire alarm going off at 12:30am. The entire hotel had to be evacuated to the street. A manager came out to inform us it was a false alarm but the fire department had to be the ones to come and turn it off. A minor inconvenience but with the overly comfy beds I had no trouble going right back to sleep!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kldiehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks, kmarte7!
I'm happy that even that alarm couldn't overcome the comfort of the beds. Great news.
It sounds like the hotel was a great home base for all of your adventures. We'll have to let the kitchen know their cucumber mint water was just what you needed when returning "home"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in 3 rooms, & rooms messed up initially so a bit annoying at first. However, rooms are tastefully done, if a bit small!

Ours, 421, had a long corridor in it which was rather weird but did have a view of the cable car stop and the bay. The other 2 were both inland view. Good location for Fishermans Wharf but this area of SanFrancisco is a bit tacky and reminded us of a tired UK seaside resort without the amusement arcades! Lots of gift shops & fish restaurants and a Huge amount of beggars and homeless people which was a bit sad. Good location for the GG bridge and trips to Alcatraz though. Not sure why else you would come here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FOXYSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi, Foxyski,
I know that Pier 39 can have its share of crowds and so on, though I have so say there is so much more to do in the area, and we believe in helping guests "Live Like a Local" so we can point you in the direction of the other adjacent areas to the West and South of the hotel. Right here within a few blocks, I also recommend a visit to the Aquatic Park/Crissy Field areas, a boat ride (ferry or even catamaran -- great views!), or even catching the classic cable car next door, especially first thing in the morning before it becomes the hot item :).
Room 412 is indeed one of our few quirky queens. The smaller footprint is hopefully more than offset by the unexpected view of the park and Bridge. That said, the standard (interior) King rooms are often the same price and will be our normal large size, so maybe we will want to book that for you next time. I hope that helps! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Kimpton are always a good bet, but what we particularly liked about the Argonaut were the excellent, chilled-out happy hours, and the awesome concierge, Olivia, who off the top of her head pointed us to a tiny, off the beaten track, authentic and delicious sushi place that fitted perfectly with our location and evening plans.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ist2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hooray! Thanks, Ist2014!
I have just shared this fantastic review with Olivia the concierge and her manager. She will be delighted to know that her recommendation was a hit and made your SF stay that much brighter :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I love this place, but the staff makes the stay. Great value and right on. Jefferson, walk the Wharfe outside the front door.love it! The rooms are super clean, $10 Kimptom Mbr discount on the mini bar or Blue Mermaid restaurant. Great service, great room, great staff and fun decor; sailor blue with all the Maurice theme

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jcrampton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thanks so much, jcrampton2! The staff will be tickled pink to know that they "make" the experience. They like to mirror the warmth and casual charm of the building, and definitely take pride in providing service that is helpful but never stuffy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,826 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,997 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing