We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Columbus Motor Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,113)
Filter reviews
6,113 results
Traveller rating
3,806
1,714
384
147
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,806
1,714
384
147
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnautical themeblue mermaidfisherman's wharfthe golden gate bridgecable carchowdermaritime museumgreat locationghirardelli squareirish coffeebuena vistabay viewking suitewine hourwharf areawine receptionevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,371 - 2,376 of 6,113 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I thought the Argonaut Hotel was a charming getaway. We were there with our two kids, and the room delighted them. We didn't have a lovely view or a big suite, but the four of us managed just fine and the room is bigger than most hotels with two queen beds. The decor was great and the toiletries top notch. While we could occasionally hear a baby in the next room, we heard no street sounds at all.

The whole family liked "wine o'clock," when at 5 p.m. wine, beer, and cider (for the kids) is offered in the lobby. The lobby is packed for this, so you may not get a place to sit, but everyone perches somewhere and relaxes. My kids loved the Wii in the lobby and that they could escape there and play on their own. The fitness room is small, but it had everything I needed. Plus the hotel is right on the water, so it's a beautiful run along the beach toward the Golden Gate Bridge.

The location was great for us as tourists. Easy to catch the F streetcar to the Ferry Market. Easy to walk to the Aquarium and Alcatraz Landing. An easy mile walk to the North End and Chinatown. Right by the cable car and Ghiradelli Square.

We didn't have much interaction with the staff, so I can't comment on service, but everyone we ran into was friendly enough. I thought the hotel was lovely and I'd definitely stay there (or at another Kimpton hotel) again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi, jbrown68, and many thanks for the Argonaut/Kimpton love!
You're right, we're lucky to have two-queen bedded rooms that are larger than the city average. In fact, a lot of our competitors down here can't even offer that room type. An unexpected perk in an historical building for sure. I'm glad the stay was fun for all ages and you got to enjoy a little adult time at the wine party while the kids played on the lobby Wii... when in doubt, send them on the scavenger hunt as well! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Argonaut relies on the location to much, whilst it is right on the wharf the price tag is over the top.
the staff were efficient and polite, The room was small and tired looking the bath room was very small with nowhere to put your toiletry's no tea making kettle only a coffee pot.
The wine tasting in the afternoon was a nice touch but having a Xbox on the wall was not.
Allowing for the location I would price this hotel 50% lower

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi, Alan B,
While our location is a huge asset, we also like to build in value through service, the wine party, and other fun free perks like the bike rentals, wifi, and Starbucks coffee. I see that you are a tea drinker, though, so we can make sure to go over those options with you next time. I do hope you'll come and spend time with us again, perhaps on one of the quieter nights when we are able to post promotional deals on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The attention to detail in this hotel is quite simply unique. Service was good, the room (Specialty View) looked over Alcatraz and the Golden Gate and was exquisitely decorated and spacious for a family of 4. Gym was OK and had basic weights and cardio equipment but was clean and modern. Free wine hour is a great idea and gets every one together in the lobby to create a real family atmosphere. Expensive but fantastic hotel in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf. Would strongly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank jmabilat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi, jmabilat!
Isn't that Specialty Suite View incredible? I have never had the chance to stay in that room myself as it is so popular :). I'm not sure if we had a chance to meet at that manager-hosted wine party, but I'm happy to hear you enjoyed it and got to get to know some other guests, and maybe even swap sightseeing suggestions! It is always fun to see people enjoying themselves there before dinnertime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Argonaut´s location is excellent, a few blocks away from Fisherman´s Wharf (but not the over the top touristy part), also next to the Maritime museum + close to Ghiardelli square. The free museum with connecting door to the hotel is very good for its small size and was always a treat for our children. The hotel has wonderul decor and the Blue Mermaid next door is a great option for dining, with some great fish, crab and char options. The staff were very friendly, our children (7, 6 yrs old) enjoyed the free wi-fi gaming in the Lobby too. We stayed for 8 nights, room rate was reasonable for SF, but we did not manage to get a suite with two rooms. For 8 nights and two adults + two kids, our two queen bedroom got slightly claustrophobic, although we loved the decor and the animal print robes. Would certainly come back but certainly consider reserving a larger suite type room. Only negative was room service served breakfast with dirty dishes, but they got that fixed after we complained and did not charge breakfast on that day. Brooke / concierge gave great tips and had a lovely sense of humor. Lots of rental car options nearby as well, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BrunoBenevolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi, Brunobenevlo,
We're delighted to read this happy five-star review from your family. It sounds like you had a great time in San Francisco, and I'm glad you got to enjoy the Blue Mermaid (anything crab there is my favorite, followed closely by the Ahi Tuna BLT since their bacon is amaaaaaazing :)). Thanks for the heads up on that room service issue that they fixed. We'll also make sure to share your nice comments with Brooke. Her humor and care are so genuine and charming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our first time in San Francisco, and the Argonaut was a great choice of hotel.
The good - the staff were all very welcoming and helpful. Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived, and the desk staff gave us a credit for the restaurant for the inconvenience. The room itself was lovely - we certainly paid extra for the view over the harbour, but it was worth it. We were able to get free bike hire for a day, and the 5pm drinks were a good way of meeting other people. The concierge gave us excellent tips on exploring the city.
The not so good - only a minor issue, but we joined the Kimpton Club believing we could get a $10 credit from the minibar or bar (as advertised). When we mentioned this on check out, we were told it only applied if we had booked our accommodation directly with the Hotel, not an agent. The hotel is expensive, but it is also in a prime tourist site with very easy access to activities and sights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HCICACSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks, HCICACSC!
We love finding out when guests got to take the free bikes out for a spin and put those concierge suggestions to use. San Francisco is so special, and we always want to make sure our guests get to enjoy some truly local experiences here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews