We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$195
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$298
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$243
US$195
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
InterContinental San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$273
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$397
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$296
US$247
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$328
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$229
US$208
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$454
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,115)
Filter reviews
6,115 results
Traveller rating
3,807
1,714
385
147
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,807
1,714
385
147
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnautical themeblue mermaidfisherman's wharfthe golden gate bridgecable carchowdermaritime museumgreat locationghirardelli squareirish coffeebuena vistabay viewking suitewine hourwharf areawine receptionevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,341 - 2,346 of 6,115 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Recently flew into San Francisco for the first stop on a week long trip and booked The Argonaut. What a great choice that was! We were told by friends not to stay in the Fisherman's Wharf area but decided to try this hotel anyway. The location was perfect. Close enough to the wharf to enjoy the views and the activities but just far enough away (a couple of blocks) from the busy, touristy crowds. Access to other neighbourhoods and points of interest was easy on foot, by bike, by car, or by trolley with all located close by. Blazing Saddles bike rentals conveniently located in the same building as the hotel. (Rent a bike and ride across the bridge to Sausalito. It's a beautiful ride.)

We were greeted by staff right away and our bags were taken to our room and car was valet parked within minutes. (Try to booked a room with a parking package as the parking is $50 per night otherwise.) Staff worked hard to get us into our room early and were happy to answer questions and provide guidance on what to see and do in the area. We were there celebrating a special anniversary and the hotel was kind enough to recognize this with kind wishes from many staff members and a bottle of champagne on ice. The room was exceptional with a huge soaker tub that was like a hot tub in the room. Historical building with exposed brick and beams in the room, but clean and modern in a style fitting of the area. (There is a marine museum in the lobby.) An added bonus is the Blue Mermaid Restaurant located in the hotel - excellent food and the best chowder I've ever had!) Hotel is perfect for singles, couples and families.

Thanks to everyone for making our stay a wonderful one!

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a bay view to overlook San Francisco Bay and Alcatraz. Become a Kimpton Karma member and get wireless for free along with a few other goodies.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Wonderful! Thank you, Karen R (*we* are the ones who should be thanking *you* :) !)

I'm glad you loved the suite, and I know that amazing soaking tub is quite the perk.

Speaking of perks, I hope you heard about our fun bike rental program: concierge has access to several bikes to loan out each day for FREE to all guests on a first come, first-served basis. If you're an early bird, this is a great way to enjoy that trip over to Sausalito. The views from the Golden Gate Bridge are pure magic!

Thanks for choosing us for your anniversary, and hope to see you again in the years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Argonaut hotel has a perfect San Francisco location. We walked to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 and picked up the cable car just around the corner. The wine reception was very nice and our room was lovely. The nautical theme hotel is clean and modern, very comfortable and helpful staff! Definitely recommend! Only challenge was Valet parking was tricky with a small area to pull up with car...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi, BlissfulTraveler62!
I know just what you mean: with a prime location comes limited curb space! I'm glad the valet was able to take the car right off your hands and get you settle in, though. It's always a pleasure to read the team was helpful and you also loved the nautical decor. The style and history of the building do give us a nice sense of place. I'm such a sucker for brick walls!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Visited my sister, who lives in SF in a very small apt, so I needed a hotel for me and the husband. We picked Argonaut based on its great TA reviews and the good deal we got for a Sunday night ($212 plus tax and $50 valet parking).

Pros:
1. Great weekend location - lots to do. We walked down the strip, got some sourdough, and walked up to Ghirardelli. If you are doing the tourist thing, this is a relaxing home base.
2. Large, clean, nice room. We loved the giraffe-print robes.
3. Friendly staff.

Cons
1. Walked into our room and it was totally smoky. Had to change rooms.
2. AC wasn't working in room #2. Engineer had to come up. He got it fixed, but it was inconvenient to wait ~20+ minutes for him to arrive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCmetrodogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello, there, DCmetrodogmom, and thanks for visiting us! I'm happy to read that you had a great time and enjoyed the personality of the place, including those fun animal print robes :). I do wish that those room glitches hadn't happened, but we appreciate the heads up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Argonaut was our third hotel on a three city break and most certainly our favourite. Great location, brilliant service and spotlessly clean. They served complimentary beer,wine and sangria for an hour each evening in the lobby which was well attended, and a very nice touch. Rooms were spacious and serviced to a very high standard each day. All members of staff that we had dealings with we're friendly and extremely helpful. The decor was very tasteful and welcoming and the bed was extremely comfortable.Nice bar and restaurant attached, only had a drink so can't comment on the quality of the food. Lots of lovely restaurants near by.Our favourite was Fog Harbour on Pier 39, we were only there for four nights but we used this restaurant three times, couldn't fault it. Wouldn't certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madmags27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thanks, madmags27!
Slightly competitive as we are, it's so rewarding to hear that we were your favorite hotel :).
Of course, the sangria party in the evenings didn't hurt, right?...
Seriously, though, thanks for checking out both the complimentary evening reception and our very own Blue Mermaid Chowder House and bar. The GM and bar team have concocted a cool new Mai Tai that is now "on tap" which is fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Argonaut was recommended by friends, and can't say we were disappointed with our stay. Very international hotel, with tourists from all over the world. All of the staff were very friendly and service was exceptional. Served complimentary wine at 5:00 and enjoyed coming down and socializing with other guests.

Average things: Our mattress wasn't the best for what you expect from a $400/night hotel. The televisions is not positioned very well in the room. Needs to be moved closer to the bed.

Overall, would recommend this hotel to folks.

Room Tip: Don't see any advantages on room location
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EarlB731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi, EarlB731!
It's wonderful to hear you had a "Great Experience" here with us, and enjoyed the international vibe with the socializing at the nightly hosted wine party. It's always neat to see guests trading their suggestions for the best places to go, see, dine, etc. San Francisco is quite a gem!
The mattresses are still pretty new (Sealy pillowtops), but we can look into any brands you might prefer for the next remodel. Always open to feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews