We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is a very friendly Hotel, great staff, very nice rooms. will definitely use this hotel if on a future visit the food is also great so all in all everything you need for a great stop over is here at the Argonaut Hotel in San Francisco

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank lordhuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thanks so much, lordhuss!
I am always thrilled to read a five-star review from a Top Contributor. I'm glad you enjoyed the restaurant, too! The chowder is so addictive, I try to stay away :)...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,222 - 2,228 of 5,994 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Themed hotel with an excellent location if you would like to stay in the Fishermans Wharf area. Even if you associate the Wharf with big crowds and an noisy athmosphere, the location is excellent, at the very end of the street, adjecent to a small park where one of the two cable cars start. So not too much noise, we even slept with the windows open.

You can take a ferry 3 blocks away, bike rental is next door, and all nice italian or other restaurants in front of just one block away. Shopping is more difficult since most decent shops are around Union Square which is 2 miles away ( or a cable car ride )

The hotel is themed as a old fashioned sailboat, all in wood, and loads of references to sea themes, shellfish, anchors,.. Certainly a difference with most other SF hotels.

Rooms are ok in size. Good beds and all other services including a good coffee machine.

What the hotel can do better :
- Service at reception. People were very stressed out and just shouted at us during checkin, trying to get us out of there in less then a second. It was just on the border of being inpolite.
- Breakfast : major turn-off, you need to have bf in the adjecent restaurant. If you ordered bf with the room you get a voucher/person/day. But that just includes the basic bf including a very small bowl of fruit, one danish, OJ and coffee. All the rest is extra. So if you want eggs and more danish you need to pay extra. For a decent BF we ended up paying 20-25$ extra per day per person. Kids do not get a voucher and thus need a full order.

Parking nearby is very expensive, easilly 40$ a day, so if you keep the car there for 3 nights you have to pay up to 160$ just to leave a car. Next time I consider to dump the rental car while staying in SFO.

So, good hotel, good location but prices in general are in line

Room Tip: Ask to get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieterderam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi, dieterderam!
I'm glad you liked the "boutique experience" here with us. I think the designers did a neat job of giving the hotel a sense of place here at the waterfront, and showcasing the history of the building as well.
I see that things came at a fast pace and high volume when you arrived, and that's not the first impression we want to give. I'd be curious to know when you stayed if you have a moment to give a ring with the details so we can make sure to get to the bottom of this!
Thanks a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a recent visit to the city. It was a top notch boutique hotel. The location is wonderful at the Fisherman's Wharf. The evening reception was wonderful and a great way to visit with other guest. The hotel also had a top-notch concierge named Brooke. She did wonderful and scored us tickets for Alcatraz which had been sold out. It was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Its best to try to get a room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VOLSatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hooray! Thanks so much, VOLSatty. I have already forwarded your kind remarks to Brooke and her manager. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Charming hotel with a nautical theme in a great location. While much of Fisherman's Wharf has become very touristy and tacky, the Argonaut is located at a quieter end and right across the street from the cable car turnaround. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. We had a great view of the bay and Golden Gate Bridge. Best overall was the staff, from valet, to front desk, to concierge to wait staff. Very friendly, helpful and efficient. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camella5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you, Camella5,
I'm glad that the service crew aboard the Argonaut made your stay memorable -- or perhaps it was us and the Golden Gate Bridge, which never hurts ;).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I'd stay here again if staying in San Francisco. Lovely conversion of a historic building. Great decor and design. Does not quite hit the service standards for 'excellent'. Downsides, no bar, you have to share the bar in the restaurant, also, there is no outside area for. Relaxing in. Very good is free wine and beer during happy hour (17:00-18:00), soooo good.

Room Tip: Top floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TisGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi, TisGed,
I'm glad you got to hang out with us at the evening wine party. Though the "real bar" is a part of the restaurant, keep in mind this means that the full cocktail menu is also available for dinner on the patio. A great way to enjoy the city as we move into the warmer weather season, especially with the new mai tai's on tap :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The good stuff - the rooms and location of this hotel are fantastic. The rooms are spacious full of character and well equipped. The location, if on vacation, is great - right next to the Hyde/Powell cable car terminus is excellent. On the downside when booking, reservations made a big deal of knowing our kids names because they like to do something special for them. Well we've been here two nights and we're no wiser on what that may be. Infact it feels like they forgot we are a party of four as there weren't enough robes, towels or bedding for all of us (something that hotel we happy to fix once we pointed it out). We were also told to expect good views from the room but despite being on a corner there is not much to see here. Most of the staff were very friendly although the lady at check-in was a little too officious for my liking. That said I'm willing to give her a break as it is August. Traveller tips - when available the hotel will let you use their bikes FOC which could save a family of four a couple of hundred bucks for a day. Also be aware that the attached restaurant opens quite late at weekends which can be more of an issue if you have travelled in from Europe like us. However there are so many alternatives on your doorstep. Also be sure to check out the ice cream at Norman's which is almost hidden just around the corner. In summary I would definitely stay here again but I would try to stay on the top floor so that I got a view and maybe remind them we have children with us.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Fipzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi, Fipzee, and thanks for this heads up about expectations.
We will have to think about ways to better recognize kids by name. I hope they at least got to enjoy the scavenger hunt, Wii games, maritime museum, or apple cider at wine hour? We are also happy to send up a goldfish if they want some "guppy love" :).
Thanks for sharing the info about Norman's ice cream (yum! They serve the local brand called Mitchell's) and our free bike rental program.
The restaurant here opens and fires up the grill at 7am daily, though room service is available for continental items as soon as 6am.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A lovely boutique style hotel right by the bay. Situated in on of the many tourist destinations, but an oasis from all the chaos. Walking distance to the tram to take you uptown.

Rooms are spacious and the beds are amazingly comfortable. Hotel is a little expensive, but most of SF is.

Room Tip: tell them you don't want a room facing the center courtyard. There's no view there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Global_Nomad_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

"Wow" is certainly what we love to read! Thanks, Mark_Global_Nomad.
I'm glad you loved the beds and we were your little "oasis" in the middle of everything. Thanks for spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
371 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
2,415 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,575 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £198 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid restaurant, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing