We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Another great hotel from the Kimpton chain. Good sized room, fun decor and accessories. Free wine every evening. Minutes away from the tram stop. Would happily stay here again. The only negative was the cost of the valet parking -$50 per day! Luckily the major car hire places are two minutes walk away, as is a public car park.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbkr_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi, Jbkr_12,

Thanks for the five stars! I know, parking pricing in SF is crazy so, as you mention, it can be wise to rent a car at the end of your visit and reduce your amount of driving in the city. Sometimes our website also has some promotional "parking package" offers, and of course if you've joined up with our free Kimpton Karma Rewards program, you'll be in on any off-season room rates for the wintertime, too!

Thanks for being a fan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,434
    1,559
    345
    129
    55
See reviews for
1,539
2,347
130
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The front of the Argonaut is literally on Fisherman's Wharf - our teenagers loved this, along with the Ben and Jerry's next door. The hotel itself is very well organised - very focused on service and thinking ahead. We had a King Suite and a Twin Deluxe with interconnecting doors. The King was gigantic, with a sofa bed in the living area. Mermaid Inn food excellent with good service. Not cheap, but we thought for SF and the facilities, location and service a good deal.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BristolDanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks, BristolDanish! Always thrilled to see five stars, and especially from a Senior Contributor. But why did you have to make me so hungry for ice cream :)?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Argonaut. I was there 2 nights and really enjoyed the prime location on which it sits. Its very clean and the staff was so nice and helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerale2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks, gingerale2011! We really appreciate the word of mouth and hope to remain the most popular hotel in Fisherman's Wharf. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed just one night with my wife and oldest daughter. We love Kimpton Firesky in Scottsdale and thought we should try this Kimpton Property as well. Glad we did. The Fisherman's Wharf location could not be better. You are almost at the waters edge. Close to shopping and restaurants. The swim club is right across the street if you want to go for a swim in the bay. There is a small beach about 100 meters away. There is a pier about 500 meters away that gives you awesome views of Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. The Argonaut is great for runners. A running trail is right out your front door. About 2k to Crissy Park and 6k to the Golden Gate Bridge. Staff is extra friendly, free wifi, free nightly wine bar 6-7. Clean hotel with well appointed room. I think the bathrooms could use an update. When other hotels try to nickel and dime
me to death I feel that a Kimpton is trying to give me things for free.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackfish915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi, Jackfish915,
I appreciate your review and the fact that you noticed we try to give out freebies left and right to make folks feel at home. If you are a member of Kimpton Karma Rewards (free to join, of course!), you receive fast, free wifi, and a $10 "Raid the Bar" gift for each stay, as well as your preferred pillow type and the chance to earn stay credit for your room reservation and dining. Even without membership, everyone gets to enjoy the nightly wine party (5-6pm, including sparkling apple juice for the kids and non-drinkers here), and other fun stuff like the free bike rentals. As you mention, we hope to be a prime spot for the athletes and adventurers out there.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at the Argonaut took place in July of 2014. A smaller room expected us this time, with no view towards the bridge nor the bay but the building itself. Otherwise, the standard remains high, though this particular room could benefit from some attention and we couldn't get away from the impression that overall, what we paid for this one was a little bit pricey. Otherwise, nice little touches abound: a marine theme everywhere, evening wine tasting, very friendly and impeccably dressed personnel, perfect location... A good hotel through and through.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Swisscheese_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi, Swisscheese_Zurich,

I hear you. I know it's true that on a very high occupancy night in the city, a price that might have gotten you a View category room at one point will provide standard (interior) accommodation due to the demand. I hope that you will stay tuned for deals, though, and for occupancy dips with the View rooms become more economical once again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosenberg, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Lovely hotel built out of the Cannery and right on Fisherman's Wharf.. Nautical theme décor, with a lot of personal touches. Friendly staff, always willing to help. Called for a wake up call and they answered with my name. I would recommend a street view. We had an inside view and there is only the window across to see. Could not get any closer to Ghirardelli Square and the Maritime museum. Wine and Beer social is a great touch. Pet friendly. Ask the staff about the stone that is placed above the room number and you will get a variety of answers.

Room Tip: Get a street view window!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything in San Francisco is geared towards going green
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks, Daniel M! I'm happy to hear the staff's service and all the "personal touches" stood out during your stay. Of course, free wine and the local Anchor Steam beer never hurt, right :)? Hope to see you once again! Meanwhile, I will have to inquire about the sea glass detail myself...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

No matter how much you try not to end up in SFO's Fisherman's Wharf... you will - sooner or later! So instead of staying in the middle of the city, where limited touristy things are happening and to be seen - why not stay in the middle of it all in hotel ARGONAUT at the Fisherman's Wharf? You'll be extremely centraly located to do all the things you will do as a tourist anyway. Most of the bicycles, the segways and the go-karts are rented out on Fisherman's Wharf. Most of the bus-tours leave from here anyway, the Alcatraz-Ferry is right there and all the other boat-tours as well. The hotel itself has charm! Not one of those anonymous lookalike hotel-blocks, yet not with the B&B touch that gives you the creeps when you want your peace. Solid 4 star service and standards, sprinkled with a special Argonaut-feel, that will not make you regret having chosen a hotel with a location in the middle of it all.

Room Tip: A room with a partial bay-view is nice, but in the end - go out there! Explore the city outside your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarcH275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi, Marc H,
I smiled to see that we see eye to eye: better to admit you are a tourist and embrace a location where there are things to see and do, right :)?!
And we're glad you had fun being immersed in the feel of the waterfront at our property. The historic charms of the brick and beam do give us a leg up on the competition. The museum here run by the National Park Service (our friendly land lord) is free and quite interesting, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,981 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#65 of 228 in San Francisco
4,079 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing