We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and fun launching point for exploring San Francisco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable and fun launching point for exploring San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

My wife and I spent five nights here with our two teenage daughters. While it is true that the Argonaut is in the tourist area, it is on the far west end and just away from the concentration of T-shirt shops and junky stores but still within walking distance of the meeting points for tours and cruises. The hotel has a great location adjacent to the National Park, historic ships, a beautiful waterfront park and views of the bay. One of the great things about the location is the proximity to the cable car turnaround (a few steps), the F Line electric trolley (two blocks), and the number 30 bus (two streets south) that goes from the Marina neighborhood, through North Beach (Italian), past Chinatown and on to the Union Square area. I think we got a better feel for the city by staying here and using various forms public transportation which took us through many different neighborhoods and parts of town. (I highly recommend a multi-day muni pass which covers all public transportation.) Our first room was above the restaurant and we could hear the restaurant music. When I complained, we were immediately moved to another room which we found to be very quiet and comfortable for the week. The staff were all friendly and helpful - we encountered no bad attitudes. My wife and I agreed that we would come back to the Argonaut even if we were coming without the kids. We did not use the hotel restaurant or room service.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,317
    1,522
    336
    124
    54
See reviews for
1,486
2,267
125
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
orlando florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

Great hotel, Clean, large rooms, get one facing Golden gate bridge and cable car turn around. Staff very helpful and friendly. PERFECT location, cable car out your door, bus one block away another cable car 4 blocks away, trolley line two blocks away. Get a muni pass. Stay for three nights March 16 - 19th could not have been better ,

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank searchinggreatfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

We had a great two night stay in Dec 2008. Hotel staff were very accomodating with our 18 month old- providing a cot, toy and stroller for him. The staff were friendly and upbeat. Our room was also upgraded. Our only dissappointment was the food at the downstairs restaurant- way too expensive and did not meet expectations.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRPMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lassen National Forest, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

As other reviews have said, the hotel is very loud. We stayed in room 240 over St Patricks Day weekend, so perhaps it isn't always so noisy. The people above us were stomping around all night. A man in the hall was screaming obscenities. I needed to wake at 5:30am for a race. Because of the noise I didn't sleep even though the beds were very comfortable.

The hotel is beautiful & fun, but I probably would not chose to stay there again because it is so loud.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here in November 2007. The rooms were great. The room was a tad small but the bathrooms were very nice. Our room was very clean. The entire staff was exceptional. The staff was always willing to go that extra mile or bend over backwards for you. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bocko57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, Uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

We can thoroughly recommend the Argonaut Hotel and would stay there again. We booked a room for 5 nights in Feb en route from the UK to a ski trip in Utah. We had requested a quiet room in advance and were pleased to be situated away from the elevators towards the end of a corridor. The view was an internal courtyard but that did not matter as being quiet was the most important feature for us. We too enjoyed the 5pm wine reception as it helped break the ice to chat to other travellers around the welcoming fire in reception.
We found the location to be excellent at the end of the Powell -Hyde cable car for which we had free rides because we had purchased the City Pass. This is well worth the $59 cost for entrance to several museums including Alcatraz as well as unlimited public transport for a week.
All staff were welcoming and helpful especially the manager who had responded promptly to direct advance emails seeking advice re transfers etc.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, SK, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

Sometimes when a hotel stay goes well there is simply not much to say.

The staff and management at the Argonaut are doing a great job at making the hotel a confortable place to stay. The evening wine tastings in the lobby are a great extra and a good way to connect with other guests.

We stayed at the Argonaut for 3 nights and found it to be very clean and quiet. The location can't be beat and even if you take some time and get away from the tourist area interesting places are just a quick taxi ride away.

We would highly recommend the Argonaut to others.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plobvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,825 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#52 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,996 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing