We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location just on the outskirts of the touristy area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location just on the outskirts of the touristy area.”
Reviewed 17 April 2009

This hotel is in a great location because you're right at the edge of the tourist area, but close enough to walk just about anywhere. The hotel is very nice with a nautical decor. The rooms were very clean and large with cozy beds and high quality linens. There was also free internet service. I am very picky about the cleanliness of hotels and I would give it 5 stars, the room smelled fresh and clean and was in perfect condition. Now the biggest downfall of this hotel is the noise. We could hear the people talking in the room next door and we didn't need to turn on our TV because we could hear theirs perfectly. I would say the walls are very thin! Another problem we were on the 3rd floor and had kids running back and forth above us until midnight. When we complained the front desk sent security to the room and the noise stopped shortly thereafter. Finally we thought we had peace and quiet and we started hearing rap music and a loud bass (boom! boom!). It was outside our window which faced the side street. We called the front desk again and they told us they couldn't do anything about it and we should call the Police. Well, not the answer I wanted to hear. I told them I wasn't going to pay for my room and would speak to the manager in the morning. The phone rang about 15 minutes later and they had sent security outside to find the cause of the boom! boom! and found it was a car parked on the street. They finally did call the police and the noise was gone, but it was about 1am and needless to say we had a terrible nights sleep. The next day the manager who was very nice offered us a room on the 4th floor (top floor) with a view of the bay. We moved there and it was very quiet and had a much more enjoyable stay. The staff were very friendly although they didn't have a concierge and when asked for a restaurant suggestion from the front desk they were not knowledgeable at all. The most helpful, friendly and knowledgeable person was the doorman. Not sure what his name is, but he was wonderful and offered great advice as to where to go and what to do. You are right by Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, Pier 39, cablecar turnaround and can walk just about anywhere from this location. We actually took the cablecar to Chinatown and walked back to the hotel. It's a great area to rent bikes and ride to the Golden Gate Bridge. I would recommend this hotel, but stay on the 4th floor if you want a peaceful nights sleep!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arielmm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,500
    1,587
    352
    132
    56
See reviews for
1,581
2,389
133
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

It wasn’t the most expensive hotel, but I still had some better options that would have probably better suited my girlfriend and I. Just wanted to switch up the hotel location, from the financial district/union square area to some water, but from the guy playing the drums across the street, kids screaming next door, and kids doing back flips above us I would have preferred something less family/touristy and gone with a slightly more mature scene. They did give me some free wine in the Lobby probably to numb out the kids yelling. Pros were view of Alcatraz, price was fair, being a tourist is fun for at least 1 hour and there is a fair amount of T-shirt shops, tours and Dungeness crab places. Cons are Nautical theme might drive you insane if you take any psychedelic drugs, loud, and Tourist Traps are heavy in numbers. Next time going to stay away from this area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolarolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I have been working as a travel documentary producer for the last 10 years, and have stayed at my share of international hotels. However, the service level that the Argonaut displayed when our family of four turned up this April, blew me away. From we entered the hotel, everything was all "YES, WE WILL TAKE CARE OF THAT". And unlike some posh 5-star hotels I have been to, there was absolutely NO stiff upper lip.
The room (no.444) were beautiful, and more than big enough for the family. It also had a great view of the Golden Gate Bridge.
The free wine tasting in the lobby between 5pm and 6pm was a brilliant move, as it made it easy and natural for the guests to mingle and meet in a totaly relaxing environment.
The location is excellent, with a very short walk to all kinds of public transport, and on the fringe of the tourist area. This makes it easy to avoid the VERY touristy areas, but at the same time, it gives you access to the plus sides of the location.
If you plan to stay in San Francisco, I can recommend the Argonaut with all my heart, a superb and perfect establishment that are closer to 5 than 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NilsFromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We wanted to meet with family, be comfortable/quiet and see the Bay. We had a tremendous stay that met and exceeded all our criterion. Every staff person was very friendly and helpful - especially John the Doorman. Our room was gorgeous, on the top floor with a Bay view. It was very roomy and we enjoyed the nautical theme. The shutters kept out the light at night. This part of the wharf was very quiet - no outside or inside noise. The bed was very comfortable too! The location allowed us to walk around and see a lot. Very enjoyable - we will return!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizandleesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2009

I grew up in the SF Bay Area so have stayed in the city many times. My teenage daughter and I wanted to make a quick trip to the city over spring break and I found an incredible rate for the Argonaut on Expedia so decided to go for it. We stayed just for one night on April 6, 2009. As other reviews have mentioned, the staff was excellent. I left my cell phone in my car after the valet had taken it to park, and the phone was back at the bell desk in 10 minutes. There were a lot of kids at the hotel (spring break) and the family above us had kids stomping around. I called the operator to ask if they could contact the room and the noised stopped within five minutes. The rest of the experience was great, the hotel was overall very quiet especially compared to many of the hotels around Union Square where you hear garbage trucks in the middle of the night. The ONLY downside was that there wasn't any water (filtered or otherwise) in the workout room...and most hotels of this caliber provide that. Otherwise, would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDogCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Good hotel with very comfortable bed and stellar location, especially for families. Loved the decor, the wine tasting, and proximity to running and bike paths as well as the cable cars and other main transportation lines. BUT the walls are like paper. I was staying with my teenaged daughter and we were woken every morning (and once in the middle of the night) by our amorous neighbors. On the other side was a family with young children..also very loud. They really weren't that loud but we could hear EVERYTHING! So I can only hesitantly recommend the hotel as it is hard for management to guarantee a quiet room.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Like other reviewers, I did a lot of searching before booking Hotel Argonaut from March 18 - 21. I favoured a hotel near Union Square but my partner wanted to be near the water. Many years ago we'd stayed at Fisherman's Wharf but figured Hotel Argonaut was far enough away from the tourist "tackiness".
Got what we thought was a good price on expedia.com for a 4 * SF hotel. Just missed out on a Deluxe King Room so booked the Standard King. We needed somewhere really comfortable after a long haul flight and we were not disappointed.
Arriving late morning and being warmly greeted by John the Doorman (what's nautical about a pith helmet??) and Kevin the Porter, we were pleased to find our room was ready. The desk clerk allocated us "a quiet room on the top floor" and it certainly was.
The room was bigger than expected and comfortably furnished. Bathroom was a good size with lovely Aveda toiletries.
All staff with whom we dealt were friendly and helpful. The evening Doorman (sorry, don't remember his name) suggested an Italian restaurant nearby which was delightful and the food delicious.
I'm sorry travelrunner had such a bad experience only a few days before us. Hotel Argonaut was everything we hoped for and more. Our room was blissfuly quiet (unlike if we'd stayed at Union Square!), the bed super comfortable and it was a most convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,168 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,059 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#62 of 229 in San Francisco
4,116 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,127 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing