We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$395
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$472
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,142)
Filter reviews
6,142 results
Traveller rating
3,821
1,722
390
147
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,821
1,722
390
147
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnautical themeblue mermaidfisherman's wharfthe golden gate bridgecable carchowdermaritime museumgreat locationghirardelli squareirish coffeebuena vistabay viewking suitewine hourwharf areawine receptionevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
4,404 - 4,409 of 6,142 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We only had one night in San Francisco, and friends were coming to meet us, so we spent a little extra for a suite at the Argonaut. It was entirely worth it. The rooms were big and comfortable, and the staff was wonderful and helpful. The location can't be beat. From our room, we had views of the Golden Gate, Alcatraz, and Hyde Pier. It was a great place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioFlores4, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2010

Dear alb2010 ~
I am so happy you had a great time and that it well worth it! Our location can't be beat for beautiful Fisherman's Wharf. We hope to see you back soon.
Sincerely,
Antonio Flores
Hotel Manager
antonio.flores@argonauthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Great location, tram stop was right across the street and it was not far to walk to Pier 39. Glad we booked this hotel as read all the reviews beforehand and this came out best. The Rooms were very spacious and our son especially liked the nautical theme, the hotel was as described on every website. We paid extra for a view and got the Golden Gate Bridge, it was well worth it. Made the most of the free wine hour at the hotel, which is a great idea and they even offer kids non-alcoholic cider. Loads of eating places nearby. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioFlores4, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

Dear jamesy44,
Thank you for the great review ~ I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel during your San Francisco adventure ~ paying a little extra for the view is well worth it ~ next time you should look into booking one of our suites ~ they have a jacuzzi tub you can take a lap in.. :)
Thanks you once again and hopefully we will see you back soon.
Sincerely,
Antonio Flroes
Hotel Manager
antonio.flores@argonauthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This was our first trip to San Francisco and the Argonaut made it a very pleasant stay.
Check-in was easy and quick and the room on the 2nd floor large and comfortable. Be aware that due to the shape of the building many rooms only look out onto the light well, and therefore have no view and also can give a feeling of being overlooked.
The service in the hotel was very good and the wine hour a nice way to meet your fellow guests.
Our stay included a complementary breakfast, which was a nice, unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egglestn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioFlores4, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

Dear egglestn,
Thank you for sharing your experience with our friends on TripAdvisor. We appreciate our guest's feedback especially when helpful tips like yours are passed on to our guests that have yet to stay with us. Our Full American Breakfast package is a great way to experience our restaurant the Blue Mermaid & Chowder House. On your next adventure to San Francisco ~ check out our Discovery Awaits package which includes bikes for you to cruise across the Golden Gate Bridge. We hope to see you back soon.
Sincerely,
Antonio Flores
Hotel Manager
antonio.flores@argonauthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We debated for a long time on what hotel would be best for San Francisco. After reading many reviews, we decided to skip a rental car and put all of our money towards a hotel. The Argonaut has a fantastic location and is an excellent hotel. It is two blocks away from the F line street car (in front of Starbucks and Walgreens) which takes you all the way down the waterfront to pier 33 (Alcatraz tours), pier 1 (Ferry building) and up Market Street to Union Square (mega shopping).

The hotel itself is fantastic. The rooms are bright, clean, modern and well appointed. One of the reasons why we stayed at the hotel is because of their pet friendly policy. We are dog lovers and it was great to see people with their pets. All pets were well behaved - just like their owners. The hotel is super quiet so sometimes you can hear people in the hall way (or hear pets barking). If you are traveling from overseas or you are a light sleeper, bring your ear plugs just in case!

We took SuperShuttle from the airport and it travel time was about 1 hour to reach the hotel (we were the first on and last off). The free wine every afternoon is a great way to wind down, meet other guests and prepare for dinner. The hotel is much bigger than we expected but still has a boutique feel. The staff are great and they have a concierge working every day who will happily help you find anything (including stores that sell Briggs and Riley luggage in our case - we did some great shopping!).

Highly recommend booking Alcatraz tours in advance as we met many people who were unable to go as all tickets were sold out. Try to go on the first boat over as the audio tour is better when there are fewer people (the audio tour is included in the ticket price). Walking to pier 33 took us about 25 min from the hotel. Street life is very lively and you if you are like us, you will easily get distracted by the amazing restaurants and street performers.

Couple of things to note for first time visitors to San Fran. It can be very chilly if not downright cold! Bring a jacket or sweater - even in summer. We were there the first week of August and the temperature was in the mid-50s. There are a lot of street people (homeless) which can surprise and unnerve people. They street folks are generally easy going but can sometimes be noisy.

We loved the Argonaut and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ameripean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioFlores4, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Dear Ameripean,
Thank you so much for writing such an awesome review. I am so happy to hear that you had a great time. We are a very pet friendly hotel and although this time you didn't travel with yours perhaps next time. There's always our Guppy Love ~ be sure to ask about it whenever you stay with us again or any Kimpton Hotel.
Another helpful tip is when you are coming in from the San Francisco airport ~ a taxi is about $12 more for two people then a shuttle and it will get you to the hotel in half the time.
Alcatraz is our number one tourist attraction here in the Wharf and can easily be sold out for weeks ~ we always recommend that you purchace them ahead of time.
Again, thank you so much for the great review and we can't wait for your return trip ~ hopefully with your extend four legged family as well.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
Hotel Manager
antonio.flores@argonauthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

. Upon arrival, I was greeted and treated like a VIP. Staff is friendly and personal, and even though the hotel was full, I was personally remembered the next day.
The nautical theme is both quirky and elegant; decor is beautiful and rooms are immaculate with lots of polished wood and rich fabrics. There is no trace of cleaning odors and no dust. I had an inside room, as no outside room with wharf view was available. Windows overlooked lower roof, and did not open; but ventilation is excellent. Room is very spacious with safe and minibar. King bed, full chaise chair and very ample closet still leaves plenty of room. Extra plugs/charging station on desk is a plus. Bed is firm but comfortable, with multiple soft pillows. Best sleep of a 2.5 week trip. Walk out the door and see Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz. Hyde Street cable car a few feet away. Plenty of curbside space for drop off and pick up. Wine reception and a complimentary drink coupon made the stay enjoyable.
Attached restaurant is good fare and convenient. Room phone to restaurant extension did not work, and I missed breakfast by two minutes. But there are many eateries along the Wharf. I will make this my destination for future trips to San Francisco. Note: I booked last minute through a 3rd party and got a great rate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhorn10121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioFlores4, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

Dear jhorn10121,
Thank you so much for the great review. It sounds like you had a great time. Last minute deals are always a bonus ~ a helpful hint ~ if you contact the hotel directly and speak with our reservationists you sometimes get that great 3rd party rate without all those crazy restrictions. Give us a shot next time before you book online. Thanks again for all of your positive comments.

Till next time,
Antonio Flores
Hotel Manager
antonio.flores@argonauthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews