We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emperor Norton's Fantastic San Francisco Time Machine
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.00*
and up
Emperor Norton's Fantastic San Francisco Time Machine
More Info
US$20.00*
and up
San Francisco Food Safari
Ranked #57 of 290 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We try to do a tour in each city we visit (food, ghost,walking...). This tour would have to rank as one of my top favorites! Emperor Norton is both entertaining and knowledgeable. We learned so much about SF's unique history! We highly recommend this tour to any age person (child through older adult),as this tour has something for all.

Helpful?
Thank 101LovetoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    10
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend Touring With The Emperor”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

His Imperial Highness Emperor Norton I gives an excellent walking tour from Union Square, through the Financial District and the Barbary Coast, and ending in Chinatown. Along the way you learn a ton of history. Would highly recommend this tour. The Emperor of the United States and Protector of Mexico sets a slow pace with time for photos. There's even a potty break. Tour lasts around 2 hours and covers about 3 miles, mostly avoiding steep hills except for two spots and then only part of the hill. So much more interesting than most tours i have taken.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinleyville, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SF appreciation enhanced by THIS TOUR!!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A friend signed my up for this tour. It was excellent!!! I would recommend it to all, even those who have lived in or around San Francisco all their lives. I look forward to joining the Emperor on other tours of his. Informative, personable, entertaining. The Emperor will point out things you would just walk by and never notice....and he'll tell you about them! Don't miss this.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Merry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great San Francisco Walking Tour”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Enjoyed the first tour from Union Square with the Emporer so much we just took our second Waterfront tour with him this weekend. Just as good. He is very knowledgeable of the interesting history of San Francisco and takes you to spots that you would never know were there. Gives ideas on other places to explore along with places to eat on your own at a later time. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DJKfromSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a wonderful walking tour for both visitors and locals. Emperor Norton is an excellent guide and kept a good pace throughout the tour. My husband and I enjoyed the tour so much we plan to take the Waterfront tour and the food tours as well!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dev0041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emperor Norton's Fantastic San Francisco Time Machine also viewed

 

Been to Emperor Norton's Fantastic San Francisco Time Machine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing