We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible-unfriendly”
Review of Taylor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taylor Hotel
Ranked #209 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible-unfriendly”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We booked a room for 4 nights, but when we got there, we were so disappointed! smell bad when we got in the building. There was no real reception & the personnel was unfriendly, had to knock many times to get personnel attention at the end we decided to withdraw. we couldn't breath since the room smelled terrible, more than a public restroom. paid $175 without touching their beddings!

Room Tip: terrible smell and dirty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pruneperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    21
    22
    38
See reviews for
11
39
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castelnovo ne Monti
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The worst hotel I have ever been. We booked a room for three night, but when we arrived they told us there weren't free room for the first night, so they send us to another hotel, in a disreputable quarter, where we were really afraid of the people in the streets. Then we returned to the Taylor hotel: the room was dirty and smelly, the bath small and old, they did't change towels and sheets. It was a nightmare. You will not save money booking here, you will only blow your staying in San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giovanni_Benassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Davis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This place was cool. It was a new experience because we had never stayed in a hostel-style hotel. After reading all the positive and negative reviews we were a little worried about the quality of the hotel. We would both recommend bringing extra pillows because the beds are a little concrete hard. but over all if you are looking for the basics and not really staying in the room the whole trip, this is a good place. And PS: For all you urban clothing wearers, Hundreds clothing store is literally on the next corner (you can see it from your window) which was an added bonus for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nay39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The Price was good and it was perfectly located.
The room was really small and smelt like Indian Food all the Time. Underneath the bedsheets were drops of blood. Really grouse. They never Change the bedsheets or the bath towels.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanjaHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I booked at Taylor hotel with some trepidation given the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. However we were happy with our stay there. I would say the hotel is dilapidated, rather than unclean. If you are a 5 star person then you will not enjoy staying here. But if you don’t mind “no frills” and are only looking for a safe place to store your bags and to sleep in then you will enjoy your stay here.
There is a little bit of noise during the evenings from outside, but this did not prevent me from having a good night’s sleep – indeed it added a bit of “flavour” to staying in the city
I found the owner, Alli, to be super friendly and helpful. We had a few questions and date changes leading up to the trip and all of me requests to the hotel were dealt with promptly and professionally.
The location is convenient to Union Square, and from there it is easy to get a cab to many locations, or to walk to where the tourist bus and one of the cable cars stop. I would suggest stopping off at the half price ticket booth and seeing whether there is a play that takes your fancy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRAM_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2010

The hotel in right in the middle of the action, by Union Square. It was spotless. Also, the lady at the desk was so sweet and accomodating. The noise was a little much for me since I am not from a city and not used to so many trucks and cars. The microwave and fridge worked fine and they were happy to lend me a hair dryer. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jheichemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN FRANCISCO
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2010

...if you don't have any expectations other than simply a place to crash for a night, NO MORE than two. Reasonably priced ($48/night online) for a room (about 10'x15') with a private bath in a good location. My room had a small fridge, a microwave, tv/cable, small closet, chest drawer with broken drawers. Be warned: They don't make the bed nor change the sheets nor vacuum nor clean your room, unless you keep hounding. You have to request clean towels and bathroom tissue, and then go claim them at the reception desk. No phones. No hair-dryer. You have to take out your own trash. Nothing you can expect from your normal hotel. Dingy, very dirty. There's stuff that have been on the carpet in the hallway for weeks, so you know they don't vacuum there either. Wi-fi is sloooooooooooowwww to the point where your laptop can freeze and crash. You are not allowed guests in your room. You have to get buzzed in every time. You have to pay for your entire stay UP FRONT. I paid for a month up front, thinking I could find a permanent place within that time, and I was told that if I find a place sooner, the rate would be pro-rated. I should have dug deeper. I was able to find a place in two weeks. Ashee (the owner, I think) does allow for pro-rated rates; however, he works out the numbers in such a way that whether I stay for the two weeks or the full-month, pro-rated or not, he's getting all the money either case. Sleazy.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOODWORKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#168 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#170 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Music City Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dakota Hotel
#186 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#148 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Layne Hotel
#201 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor Hotel

Property: Taylor Hotel
Address: 615 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1015
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Taylor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taylor Hotel San Francisco offers inexpensive European style budget hotel accommodation at bargain rates for value minded tourist and business traveler, students looking for a budget lodging in San Francisco Union Square area at reasonable hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Taylor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing