We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #57 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at the Adagio for four nights in September. We were delighted with our 11th floor corner room and I loved that the hotel had kept some of the original features of the building. Everything else was modern; big flat screen TV, data socket and plenty of sockets to charge phones etc.
The room was spotless, the bed incredibly comfortable and the towels were lovely and soft.
The coffee and chilled water in the lobby were great and we made good use of the free wi-fi.
All staff we encountered were very friendly. We had emailed the hotel before our arrival, which they had responded to and they acknowledged as we checked in. Scott the concierge had also emailed us. During our stay he looked into 49ers tickets for the first game of the season. We didn’t pursue this but Scott was very helpful.
The location is very handy for Union square; it’s in the theatre district with a number of private art galleries nearby and is very convenient for transport. Yes, there are homeless people in the area. I do not mean to sound blasé; I was quite shocked not least because many of them seemed to be suffering from mental health problems. However this is a problem for San Francisco as a whole, it’s not just an issue for Geary Street and the Adagio.
We didn’t eat at the hotel as there were so many options nearby; I liked Honey Honey and Lefty O’Douls for breakfast. The Trip Advisor SF city guide was brilliant for locating places.
The city was buzzing while we were there, the Americas Cup yacht race was just starting and there was the 49’ers game at the weekend which brought an influx of people. We did the tourist stuff and visited Alcatraz, walked across the Golden Gate Bridge and rode the cable cars.
We had a great time in the city and loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MushysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you, MushysMum! It certainly is delightful to hear that you had a fabulous experience and loved Hotel Adagio! Your extensive details on all that we offer, as well as our nearby surroundings, will certainly be helpful to other travelers also seeking a fantastic stay in San Francisco. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back on your return travels to the U.S.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights; goodish location three blocks from Union Square.
Front desk and concierge very friendly and helpful.
However, the hotel was seriously let down by the breakfast experience on the only day we tried it.
The waitress couldn't remember our order, even though it was only fruit with toast and granola with yoghurt. When it came, 40 minutes later, the fruit had bacon with it, the granola had no yoghurt at all...in the meantime other guests had received the wrong orders, or sat down then walked out after being ignored, or been advised to eat elsewhere by those already having the misfortune to have been served.
Fawlty Towers brought to San Francisco!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

We are disappointed that we let you down, Rikwhitt, and apologize for any inconvenience that this caused you. Thank you for your patience with us. We have followed up on your concerns and our restaurant manager has addressed them with the proper staff members. Be assured that this will remain an isolated incident. We take great pride in serving each of our guests with great care and attentiveness. Please keep in mind all that you did enjoy and give us the pleasure of accommodating you again. We would enjoy delivering an improved and overall impressive stay on your next visit to San Francisco.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located within easy walking distance of Union Square. There is a welcoming entrance lobby which merges into the bar and there is also a small breakfast room. Staff are very helpful and welcoming, and unfailingly polite. Here you will find a large iced water dispenser and coffee. The room we stayed in was luxuriously furnished, the bed comfortable and nice thick fluffy towels and sometimes face cloths. There is a fridge. Toiletries do not include shower/bath wash. We had one breakfast which was good and two excellent bar meals. A bowl of fries was more than two of us could manage! Tables by the window are near impossible to sit at because there is no place to put your feet.

Concierge facilities excellent and the town car ordered for us arrived promptly and the owner driver was a real gentleman, his car being clean and comfortable. I would recommend this service.

Unfortunately there are no coffee making facilities in the room but there is a supply in the lobby but we often found one of the containers empty in the evening. The thing we did not like was the nail-breaking sliding door on our bathroom toilet. If pushed fully in by housekeeping is was very difficult to get back and at all times stiff to move.

On San Francisco generally I would mention that there are huge queues for the trams and tour buses, which is a waste of tourist time, and we were shocked by the number of homeless begging on the streets especially at the weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

It was certainly a pleasure to accommodate you on recent visit to the U.S., Janette P. Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Adagio for five nights. It is very nice to receive your lovely compliments on how comfortable you were in your room and that you enjoyed unfailingly polite service. We appreciate and have passed on your insight on the sliding bathroom door to our housekeeping team. Thank you for your review and for sharing your San Francisco experience.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked this hotel when planning our visit to SF on 31/08 till 2/09/2013. Booking was done via Marriott web page. Hotel was excellent!. Located close to Union Square and to O'farrell where is a big hub for numerous car rental companieswhere we picked our car later on. Clean, quiet and pretty spacious room. Our room was waiting for us although we came significantly earlier than official check-in hour. Doorman Carl helped us with luggage and provided us to our room. Check-in procedure went smooth. We have had an impression that everybody there was happy from our arrival to SF which was our second visit to this fabulous city ( in my personal opinion - the most charming city I have visited so far in USA where we do travel for holiday since 4 years). We booked package with american breakfast which is served in hotel restaurant although this restaurant is independent from Marriott. Anyway - breakfast was very OK. Staff in restaurant also very nice and supportive. Free internet available in lobby. You know what we liked the most - that everybody there treated us like somebody important and they really did all possible that our stay there surely will remain in our memory. A certain negative point ( but not really related with hotel itself) might be connected with numerous homeless people in close neighbourhood, asking for money. But we did not meet anybody aggressive towards us I must trully admit. Anyway -this was slightly surprising for us Europeans as we rather do not meet such situation as intensively or often as we noticed in USA. As mentioning - we can not blame hotel for this but for any case we were rather avoiding to walk after dark. Also - in close distance to hotel there is a Gallery where we could see actually a very unique Chagal's drawings! Very nice stay. Taste of vegeatable drinks served complimentary in lobby - unique and refreshing after full walking days. Hotel highly recommended from my side

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bolek g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear bolek g,

Thank you for your high recommendation of Hotel Adagio! We appreciate you taking the time to give us and other travelers your thorough and detailed feedback on your experience. It was certainly our pleasure to do all that we possibly could to make your stay a memorable one. We enjoy providing our guests with the exceptional service they deserve. Your business is extremely important to us. We hope we have earned your guest loyalty and that you will include us in your future holiday travels to the U.S. Again, thank you for staying with us and for completing the review on our San Francisco hotel.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

very clean and safe.
stylish hotel.
well located, very close to Union Square so ideal for shopping and the main sights, like the Fisherman's Wharf. Golden Gate Bridge is closeby.
really great staff.
24-hour gym ~ quite basic however ok

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallen444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear rallen444,

It's so nice to hear that you not only enjoyed an excellent experience at Hotel Adagio, but also our ideal location near all the main San Francisco sightseeing attractions, shops and restaurants. Thank you for noting our stylish renovations and great staff. We hope your business travels bring you back to enjoy another outstanding, 5 star experience with us.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I reserved the large suite that includes a large balcony to host a pre-wedding reception for a friend of mine. It was beautiful. They put out strings of lights and candles that made the balcony come to life for the party. The room was great as well. It had a fireplace, a separate bedroom, a large dining table, and plenty of space. Some reviews I read before making reservations made it sound as if it was in a place I should worry about. Not at all. Go for it. You will like it--especially if you get the suite.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Wowee_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you, Wowee_S, for sharing the details of the 'Suite Life' you enjoyed at Hotel Adagio! It was a pleasure to go above and beyond to make your pre-wedding reception come to life. Ensuring our guests enjoy everything about their experience is what we do best, and we are passionate about doing all we can to make every stay a special and unique one. Thank you for the excellent rating. We will look forward to being a part of your next visit to San Francisco.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Great location. Rooms on small side but clean. Air conditioning. Coffee available downstairs near lobby stayed on 9th floor view of city. Price ok for location. Within walking distance to most places of interest

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa_meetzelpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear theresa_meetzelpn,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Adagio. We are pleased that you took advantage of our incredible location which is, as you mentioned, within walking distance to so many San Francisco attractions. Your high rating and review gives us hope that we have earned your guest loyalty.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
601 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
5,645 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £146 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing