We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #52 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very much enjoyed my stay - lovely room - great staff - exceedingly helpful
2nd visit & both stays were superb - looking forward to the 3rd!
Front desk are top notch - most helpful
Room for improvement - Bar has strange "at will" closing hours, so don't count on it

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voiletdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thanks – voiletdog – for the awesome 5-star review! Bar hours noted – improvement coming!

See you soon!

Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,251 - 1,257 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We checked in over the weekend with a bunch of hipsters. The hotel lobby is lovely and it definitely caters to the 20/30 crowd. The fruit/herb flavored water is a nice touch. The bar seemed very active but you couldn't hear any noise in the rooms. The rooms itself were large but honestly they were so dark that I kept bumping into things. Even opening the drapes didn't help much.
We ate breakfast in the Green Room and while it was mostly good, it did take forever to receive our meals. Loosing hot water in the hotel one morning didn't help matters either. Housekeeping is not the finest. I did expect better.
There seems to be only one high chair in the hotel. We had to share it with another family at breakfast one morning. Quite ridiculous.
Beds are very uncomfortable.
The hotel is on the outskirts of Tenderloin which is not the best of locations but it is well priced compared to other similar class hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BagLadyAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear BagLadyAtl,
We are pleased that you found Hotel Adagio to be a welcoming and active location; however, we regret that you left unimpressed. Please know that we are working on increasing our speeds and satisfaction in our breakfast area (Green Room) based on your comments.

Please know that our hotel and direct area surrounding our hotel is certainly safe. Our prime location near Union Square and many other attractions allows our guests the convenience of walking to visit so many exciting sites our city has to offer. Thank you for your time in giving us and others your thoughts and opinions. We are hopeful that you will return to our hotel and will experience great service on your next visit.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me or the Front Office Manager directly for any assistance.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel during the GDC conference and used my points for an extra night for a day off which was most welcome. Despite being part of Marriott and its bureaucracy, on arrival, the staff immediately combined my two reservations so that I will not need to transfer to another room. The hotel itself is very impressive, very clean and the staff really go out of their way to help you, in a kind, polite fashion with a genuine smile on their face.
In particular I would like to praise Orlando for being more than just part of the hotel staff. His charming personality made me feel at times, as if I was talking to my buddy.
The only downside is that breakfast is not included and is not buffet style (and, as you would expect - more expensive than the caves outside). Also, happy hour has limited selections on discounted items. I guess I was used to staying in Country Inn (also Marriott) and their standard...

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank djshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hello djshark –
Thanks for the great review and awesome information on our property. I’ll make sure that the staff knows they made a great impression! Orlando will love the feedback – thank you!

We hope that you’ll visit us again very soon!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a great stay at Hotel Adagio. Used to stay at the Stanford Court when it was a Marriott property. Like to stay in that family, so opted for Adagio for this trip. They accommodated an early check in for us and helped us with all our needs. It's reminded me of some of the smaller boutique hotels in Europe. Ample size rooms, nice breakfast room and overall terrific stay. Will return as our SF go to hotel now.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks – sandy b – for the great 5-star review! I’m very glad that you enjoyed your trip to San Francisco and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Came to town for a friend's birthday bash! Welcoming staff, beautiful room, great corner room with a nice view. Only criticism was the "water saver" shower head, Ugh! Bed was comfy & bedding was plush! About what you would pay for nice, upscale larger hotel, but with a more personal feel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Counselingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Counselingdiva – thank you for the 5-star review! We’ll make sure to keep the other showerheads on stand-by for your next visit – we can switch them out upon request. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your friends birthday bash weekend!

See you again soon!

In Hospitality,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Prior to arriving the concierge sent us a helpful email of things to do during our stay. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly. The rooms were generous in size; well appointed with couch, desk, chairs, lights, and electrical sockets. Nice colors. The breakfast menu had a variety of selections from healthful to classic fried eggs; everything we ordered was delicious. The location is convenient to many of the city's attractions and public transportation. Our only quibbles were the limited space for toiletries in the bathroom and the fan was connected to the light (this latter issue may be a city ordinance). We would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAJI00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks CAJI00 for the 5-star review! We’ll make sure that the staff knows of their warm, welcoming service and keep it going for when you return again soon!

In Hospitality,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We got an excellent deal at the Adagio through Virgin Holidays and were not disappointed.

Location was important to us as we wanted to be central and the Adagio was perfect in that respect - literally a couple of minutes walk to Union Square & 5 minutes to the nearest BART at Powell. This was our 3rd visit to San Francisco and the Adagio was ideal.

From the moment we arrived to the time we left, I found all of the staff to be excellent. Very friendly & really helpful.

We had a lovely corner room on the 11th floor and were really pleased with it: great views, comfortable bed and plenty of space. Housekeeping were good and all went smoothly.

We didn't have breakfast but enjoyed some drinks and friendly service in the bar area.

My only gripe with the hotel would be having to pay for WIFI in the bedrooms. It is free in the lobby but nowadays I don't think charging for it in the bedroom is acceptable - other than that all was excellent.

Highly recommend the Adagio and we would definitely return. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Try for a corner room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Peter J –
Thank you for the fantastic review – I’m so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Next time make sure to visit the breakfast room, Green Room, for a delicious start to your morning!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
674 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
572 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
6,119 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £161 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing