We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar, Average rooms, not at union square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #54 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good bar, Average rooms, not at union square”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

If you are expecting a hotel close to Union Square this is not it despite being advertised as such. Others across the road also make the same claim, As a first time visitor to San Francisco I did not feel comfortable walking from here the few blocks to Union square after dark. Loads of beggars about outside, and the hotel shuts it's doors in the evening, this is not inviting and there must be a reason for it. Once inside the bar area was excellent and served a good selection of meals. Upstairs the rooms are ok but clearly dated although an attempt to freshen them up has been made with new colours. Marriott is usually my favourite chain, but this autograph hotel felt very ordinary. Overall it was OK, but considering the price the rooms should be better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ian B –
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Our area is 2 ½ blocks to Union Square and is completely safe not one of dubiousness but rather of typical homelessness as in any large city. We are continuing to improve our product. I am so glad that you enjoyed our Mortimer’s Bar – they do mix up a great craft cocktail!

In Hospitality,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    570
    165
    44
    28
See reviews for
278
470
46
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Pros:

-Fantastic Staff - everyone was very nice and helpful - better than most hotels!
-Location is great - don't wonder off to the Tenderloin area of town a few blocks away, very shady
-Affordable, but the weekend I was there Major brands were the same price and have stayed at some that are much nicer.

Cons:
-Rooms are not the biggest in the city as advertised
-Breakfast was good, but seemed like a new restaurant type issues with food coming out staggered and not flowing right.
-Our A/C unit was having issues and the floor was very wet.
-They did not have enough cleaning staff, on Sunday they turned checked out rooms first and our room was not cleaned until 4 (even with us being out since 8) - not what is expected in a quality hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
John C –
Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate both sides – so that we can continue to improve on our product and services. We are in the heart of beautiful downtown San Francisco just steps away from Union Square. The neighborhood is more “diverse” than “shady”. We are surrounded by some of the best hidden bars and restaurants in the city. As we always strive to exceed guests expectations and satisfaction with staying at our hotel and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our staffs service.

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I am a former resident of San Francisco and have always been used to staying at the classic hotels (St. Francis, Clift, Fairmont, Sir Francis Drake). The Adagio was a nice adaptation of one of the older San Francisco buildings to a modern small hotel. Reception was friendly and breakfast was great (included because we are Marriott Gold level members). Only complaint is the extremely high ($49) overnight parking fee, but that is typical for San Francisco. I would not hesitate to recommend the Adagio for those who want a modern hotel in downtown SF.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTAnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
JTAnewport – Thank you for the review! I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our modern yet smaller boutique hotel and that our staff was friendly.

We’ll see you on your next trip up north to San Francisco!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stay here when I'm in San Francisco for work and everyone is always so accommodating and friendly. I tend to order room service a lot and the guy that works in the evening is simply the nicest guy ever! Was just there last week and will be staying there again this week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Lisa P – you loved us – 5-stars are Adagio Awesome! Thank you so much for your review. I was very happy to read that our staff was so accommodating and super friendly.

See you on your next get-a-way!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I booked two nights here before we headed up to Napa. Arrived late the first night and they were out of rooms. Moved us to another hotel - nice Marriott property - but I hate moving hotels. Would have preferred to stay there two nights, but they were sold out. Moved back over to Adagio the next day and ran into the GM, Michael. Things turned around after that. Upgraded our room, paid for our first night and went out of his way to make dinner reservations for us at La Mar (great spot). Service was great and this little boutique hotel is quite posh. Bartender was very helpful and friendly. Great location and really enjoyed our one night here and kudos to the above and beyond service from the GM to make turn a rough start into a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNewby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
JohnNewby66 – Thank you so much for your feedback. I’m really glad that I was able to meet you in the lobby and that we were able to make up for the moving of hotels – definitely not an ideal situation but glad that we could turn it around for your trip. I was very glad to read that our staff was also very friendly and helpful for your stay.

See you on your next get-a-way!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollister, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

very nice hotel. great location. bartender very friendly and helpful. Check in people very helpful and friendly. Room was clean. We had a nice corner room so that gave us more room. Bathroom big and clean. had nice sitting area with a couch. I did trip over the glass table when I got up in the middle of the night but I should have turned on a light.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Glanda Z – Glad that you enjoyed your stay and your room was well appointed to your needs. Thank you so much for your review – hopefully no stubbed toes were given by that darn coffee table!

See you on your next get-a-way!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for one night at the Adagio and it was a good choice. They have a great location near Union Square, a nice bar, and valet parking. Our room was fairly large, considering it is a city hotel. The bathroom was nice, the towels and bedding were above average. The hotel staff were professional, especially one of the concierges, who was very informative.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bauercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Bauercat---I loved reading your review! So glad that you enjoyed not only our location to everything San Francisco but that our staff was professional and informative. Thank you so much for your review – we’ll see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 229 in San Francisco
5,103 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing