We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #54 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The room was very comfortable and the bed was extremely comfortable. Staff was welcoming and accommodating. Great restaurants very close to Adagio. Coffee and tea provided in the lobby along with refreshing fruit infused water.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Marie B – 5-stars! You adored us – you really did! I’m so glad that you and your honey enjoyed your stay with our comfortable hotel!

See you again soon,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    583
    174
    44
    30
See reviews for
296
474
50
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

As the name suggests this place runs at an easy pace and is an Excellent hotel to get your bearings in the brilliant city of San Francisco. It's Close to the centre of the city and with car and bike hire nearby too

huge canisters of ice cold water at reception and free coffee on tap a very welcome touch. The area has a number of mid-level restaurants and diners but is well located for those with bigger budgets too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hattamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you hattamr – for the lovely 4-star review. I’m so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us – where you could unwind, relax and enjoy the city within a few blocks.

We hope to see you again!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The staff was extremely helpful in check-in, booking, knowledge of the area, and helping secure travel to the airport. The rooms were absolutely amazing. Very clean, trendy, and spacious are words that I would use to describe this hotel. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCSUGirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
NSCUGirl03 – Wow, 5-stars! I’m so glad that you found us amazing, clean, trendy and spacious!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff but the hype was not meet inside. The rooms are clean but the bathroom was a massive disappointment, very dated with only half of it behind a door. One lift was broken when we arrived but promptly repaired. They began refurbishing the bar area which was very noisy during the day. The lobby area is a nice place to relax if no building work is going on but to pay $10 a day for wifi in your room in 2014 really is capitalism and greed not customer care. At $450 a day for a room wifi should be a given. I can't recall the last time we stayed anywhere in the world in the last 3 years that it was not complimentary for guests to get wifi. If it was not for the amazingly helpful staff we would have cancelled and found another quieter hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Andre B,
Thank you for your review. I was sad to read that we didn’t exceed your expectations, as we always strive to exceed guests expectations and satisfaction with staying at our hotel. But I’m very glad to hear that the staff was helpful and accommodating.

As you stated, we did just recently have to refurbish the bar area – unfortunately it was a necessity with the aging building (built in 1929). I would love for you to come back to visit – to enjoy the bar’s freshly made cocktails!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

After a long flight from UK the hotel Adagio was a lovely hotel at which to arrive. Based ourselves here for 4 nights in SF and proved a good choice. Reception gave a warm welcome and they and the concierge were extremely pleasant and helpful.

Room on 15th floor was spacious modern and clean

Breakfasts were good although a little expensive...went across the street a couple of times for first taste of "authentic" breakfast cuisine!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you Nigel L – for your great 4-star review! So glad that we could accommodate you and your family during your visit to San Francisco!

We look forward to your next stay – maybe a weekend getaway!?

In Hospitality,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

While they advertise this hotel as "boutique", I felt like I was staying at a regular Marriott. The decor, amenities and overall experience is average. Doesn't have anything special or out of the ordinary that would make me feel that I'm staying at a boutique hotel.
Rooms are spacious and clean, and the hotel is really well located. If just looking for a hotel in a good location, this is a good one. If looking for something more out of the ordinary, keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manatisalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you Manatisalas for your review. We are a historic and unique boutique hotel built in 1929 and renovated in 2011. While we may not offer all amenities all the time, some amenities are available upon request.

As we always strive to exceed guests expectations and satisfaction with staying at our hotel, I am sad to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us.

Give us another chance and we will guarantee you a wonderful experience!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It is a modern, very comfortable hotel in a great location close to everything. The staff was great - efficient and very helpful. The room was immaculately cleaned and quite big. There was coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7, but for greater convenience I requested a coffee maker and it was brought to the room at once.
I would definitely stay there again. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: free wifi in the lobby, but you have to pay to have it in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you Elena m for your fantastic review. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your stay with u!

See you again soon!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
5,327 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing