We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #58 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a nice corner room. We liked the size of the room and the quality of the bed linens and towels. Good location near union square. The bar was just being updated. We didn't eat in the restaurant.

Room Tip: High floors noises near the street level. W we were on 11th floor. That was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Susan R - thanks for the review! I’m so glad that you and your lovely enjoyed the getaway to San Francisco! I love our linens too!

We look forward to your next visit – our craft cocktails are ready for mixing!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

After just leaving the Hotel Adagio this morning, we were thoroughly disappointed. Where to start?

Rooms
We are a Mother and 27 year old Daughter on our first trip to America, supposedly on a two week trip of a life time to the US, with San Francisco as our first stop. When we arrived at the hotel, although the young receptionist was truly lovely, she checked us into the wrong room, a small double room, when we had booked a large 2 queen bed room, over 6 months ago. After all, who really wants to share a room with their mother? When we quickly returned to reception, the same lady said that they had none of those rooms available so could not move us, but we would be top priority to be moved first thing the next day. After complaining about sharing a bed, she finally moved us to apparently a better room with a double and a sofa bed. When the doorman came to make up the sofa bed, he pulled it out, only for us to find sheets already on the bed that looked like they were not clean, and then threw a blanket on top and left. Needless to say we shared the double bed!

The next evening when we returned from a day of sightseeing, we were told that because we had not told the reception staff in the morning that we wanted to move rooms, they could not move us and would have to wait until the next day to see if any rooms were available. This was a different receptionist that was very rude to us and not at all sympathetic.

When we did eventually get moved, on night three of four, the receptionist and doorman, who were different from the previous days, were extremely helpful and apologetic, and made us feel right at ease.

Breakfast
For the first 3 mornings, breakfast was perfect, wonderful food and brilliant service. The breakfast room is a little small for the size of the hotel, but we did not have any problems being seated...for the first three days. On day 4, the last morning of our stay (a Saturday) the queue for the breakfast room was fairly long, we had about a 15 minute wait to be seated, and another 10 or so minutes for our order to be taken. The waitress looking after us on this morning clearly didn't listen to our order and got it completely wrong, with only one breakfast turning up after it had been waiting on the counter for 2 or 3 minutes and got to us cold. This waitress was quite rude about it, even though she had taken the order wrong. When it did eventually get sorted and we received the bill, she did discount it for us, but was in no way apologetic.

'Famous' cocktail bar
Without any mention of it on the website, or when we checked in, the cocktail bar was undergoing refurbishment so was closed for the duration of our stay. Yet again, another disappointment as we were looking forward to 'happy hour' as this particular bar had been recommended by our tour operator.

Location
The hotel is in a brilliant location, about 3 blocks from Union Square, where there are lots of shops, the cable car and the tour bus stops. Apparently there are lots of restaurants, but we chose to eat more down at Fisherman's Wharf.

All in all, the hotel was clean and in a good location, the service of some staff let it down and spoiled our stay in San Francisco somewhat. Even though we have been offered an upgrade for our next stay, we will not be returning to Hotel Adagio, and I doubt we will be returning to San Francisco because of it. Let's hope the rest of our USA adventure is much better!

Room Tip: Ensure that you confirm you room on check in to make sure they get it right!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Claire L,
Thank you for your review. I was sad to read that you and your mother didn’t enjoy your stay with us.

We would love to talk with you regarding what was mentioned in the review. At your convenience, please call the hotel at 415.775.5000 to speak with Patricia – Director of Rooms regarding your stay.

In Hospitality,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was situated within a stones throw of Union Square, which gave easy access to everything. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient and the doormen greeted and wished you a lovely day everytime you went through the main door!

Rooms were clean and spacious and bathroom facilities were good, we were a party of 4, 2 adults and 2 teens sharing 1 room and there was plenty of room for us all. Beds were comfy and roomy.

Easy access to bus tours and public transport and taxis from the hotel or Union Square, restaurants and shops, only downside is unfortunately the high volume of down and outs and the close proximity of the sirloin area which means you are hassled a lot for change and food as you walk around. So sad to see but does make you feel a little unsafe and uncomfortable.

Our room was at the front over looking Geary Street and if you have the window open, which we didn't realise at first !, it can be noisy with shouting etc in the early hours, but that's the city, just check the windows!

Room Tip: We agreed to have no house keeping to save water for the duration of our stay and got free wi fi we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank holibob1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you – holibob1972 for the review! I’m so glad that you and your family enjoyed your getaway to San Francisco!

We look forward to seeing you and your family again on your next vacation to the states – we’ll keep the Green Program for you!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed for one week and enjoyed every part of it. Staff was helpful and very polite.
room was clean and large for what I am to understand for San Francisco.
Easy walk to all attractions or short cab ride to the rest. Would stay here again on next trip back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you – TripAdvisor Member for the great 5-star review! A week long vacation – and you enjoyed every minute of it – I’m so glad!

We’ll see you again for your next getaway!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel was in the middle of things and was quiet, nice decor. The location was close to Union square but away from all the people not as noisy as the hotels on Union Square. Stsff was very helpful, didnt get to check out the breakfast area slept in.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you – Ron Y – for the great 5-star review! I am so glad that you and yours enjoyed your stay with us and the staff was helpful.

Next trip – try the Crab Hash or French Toast for breakfast! Yum!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I really enjoy this Marriott managed property. I not only get my Marriott points and nights, but get to stay in this lovely, boutique hotel. The staff is wonderful and the rooms are very nicely appointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellelynnking56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

TripAdvisor Member – thank you for the great 5-star review! I’m so glad that you enjoyed our hotel, not only as a loyal member of Marriott but as a guest who enjoys the uniqueness of our hotel!

Maybe your next trip will be for leisure?!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel for our first time in San Fran as we were looking for a boutique hotel with a little luxury, close to the city. The staff were very helpful, the room was well equipped and the location was easy to get around from, though the neighbourhood left us walking quickly back to the hotel at night.

Overall a good, solid hotel, but we would probably try a hotel in another neighbourhood when we next return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Kate W – thank you for the 4-star review! I’m so glad that you both enjoyed our lovely boutique hotel. While San Francisco overall does have it’s share of interesting characters, it’s not one of danger – but rather typical of any large city.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon!

Best Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
601 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
5,634 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £146 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing