We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in SF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
Ranked #52 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Adagio for one night on a business trip.

I come to SF somewhat often, and am sometimes taken aback by the hotel prices. I typically chalk them up to a tech conference of which I'm unaware. Regardless of the reason, prices can vary a lot. I've seen Le Meridien range from $299 to $650 or so.

On this particular trip, prices were sky high, though not at Hotel Adagio. So I gave it a shot.

I wasn't disappointed at all. The location is good enough, close to everything downtown. Check in was speedy and efficient. And they offered me a corner room, which was very nice. Breakfast the following morning was good, too. I'd definitely stay here again for work.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Robert D – thanks for the nice review! I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was helpful, quick and you enjoyed the breakfast.

Looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip to SF!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great location. Close to Union Square and Powell St. BART station. Very friendly and attentive staff. We had a corner room, nice, bright, and airy. The décor is bold, but pleasant. There was a nice mix of guests - bot families and young business professionals.

Room Tip: I was told the hotel is a converted apartment bldg. that opened about 1 1/2 years ago. There is some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you Bob R for the review! We’re an old building from 1929 – we’ve been a hotel for sometime now, prior to being Hotel Adagio, we were Shannon Court; as such we are a bit unique in our guest rooms are not ‘cookie cutter’. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

very nice rooms, close to union sqr, The bar is the restaurant a little small but good food and service. Don't eat at the breakfast place across the street not people friendly.
Valet parking is stiff but wear isn't it any more. We will stay again.Phil

Room Tip: mattress a little hard. very quiet room love that in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaze50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you Blaze50 for the 4-stars! I’m glad that you enjoyed our hotel and bar – our breakfast is delicious, next time you should try visiting our Green Room.

See you on your next trip!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Comfortable hotel, close to Union Square. The rooms and bathrooms are a little "tired". The shower pressure was poor. The bed was really comfortable. The proximity to Union Square was fabulous. Iris at the front desk was lovely. The coffee and tea in the lobby was a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Ricole S – thanks for the review. We are a Green Hotel and thus we do have aerated showerheads in our bathrooms. I’m glad that our staff was helpful and accommodating during your stay!

See you again soon!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Room 510 was incredibly humid. Pants felt wet when taken out of the closet.
Otherwise fairly quiet, away from the elevator but cleaning lady pretty loud in the morning, slamming the utility closets door back and forth.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLS999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you FLS999 for the review – we will make sure to follow-up with our housekeeping team to ensure that we’re quieter in the hallways.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The staff is extremely helpful and eager to answer any questions you might have. You're in the heart of San Franscico here, so there's many options of activities to do. The parking was cheap for San Franscico. Had an amazing trip and would defiantly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncmara205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you ncmara205 for the 5-star review. I was so happy to read that our staff was helpful and accommodating – I’m so glad that you enjoyed your trip!

See you again soon!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I work in San Francisco every 6 weeks or so and have stayed at quite a few hotels throughout the city. I have stayed at the Hotel Adagio twice in the last month and like it-the rooms are a nice size, comfortable and stylish. The staff is helpful and friendly and when I showed up there a few days ago and realized I had booked the wrong number of nights (too few), the manager politely and professionally addressed and solved my issue that evening. The valet parking is expensive but par for the rest of the city-there is actually a garage next door where the parking is considerably less and allows ins and outs. The hotel is in a good location to walk downtown or over to Chinatown. Breakfast is good. Lounge area is nice with complimentary water and coffee. This is actually considered a Marriott boutique hotel so, if you are a member, your points transfer to stays, perks, etc. which is great for me. Slight drawbacks are you can hear people talking in the hallway sometimes as the walls might be a bit thin (not bad though) and the hotel is close to the Tenderloin area so if you walk the wrong direction you can get caught up in not the nicest neighborhood. The TL actually has a few great restaurants here and there and it doesn't bother me much but the "energy" can sometimes be a bit tiring. A few doors down from the hotel is Millenium-really great restaurant. Overall, good hotel for work or vacation and I will stay at the Adagio again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust20002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you Wanderlust2002014 for the pleasant review. I was so happy to read that our staff was helpful and accommodating – I will make sure to pass on the kind words.

As you stated, we do have some of the best restaurants and bars very close in distance to our hotel.

Hope your travels bring you back again soon!

Best,
Michael Pace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
673 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
571 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,249 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
6,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £157 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing