We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant SF base”
Review of The Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grove Inn
Ranked #10 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were so relieved to have chosen friendly Grove Inn rather than a downtown hotel for our recent SF visit. Comfortable beds, an unpretentious home-like accommodation in a very pleasant neighborhood, a good breakfast (croissants, very good coffee, fruits and cereal), cordial host and convenient access to transit (two bus lines pass the house and City Center is a 10 min downhill walk away) and many attractions made this a fine choice for our recent trip. Host was helpful arranging budget airport shuttle as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank roudland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh Z, General Manager at The Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are back open after two years of renovations and all the rooms have been updated and are even more comfortable. Our continental breakfast now consists of locally baked bread with spreads and cheeses, fruit, and yogurt. We hope to see you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stay at the Grove Inn for 5nights while we were in San Francisco. The inn is well located and the staff very kind and attentive. However, the breakfast is non existent (1 very average croissant / person) and the shower head in our room could not stand still.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh Z, General Manager at The Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Thank you for your review. After thirty years of being in business it was time to update all the rooms and do a major renovation. We are now serving a very tasty breakfast made up of great coffee or tea, locally baked bread with organic spreads and cheeses, organic fruits and orange juice, and yogurt. Our rooms feature very comfortable beds with luxurious cotton sheets and towels. We hope to see you on your next visit to San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Grove Inn is in a great part of San Francisco and for a fabulous price. Don't expect turndown service and modern decor. This place is charming and nice enough. Stayed three nights and it was very quiet, comfortable beds. The rooms are larger than what you'll get in a swank downtown hotel anyhow. Then you have the benefit of being in a neighborhood versus downtown with all the noise. If you only come to SF to shop, then by all means, stay in Union Square. If you come for culture, food, and sight seeing, stay here! It's near several great neighborhoods: Hayes Valley, The Mission, Castro, Noe Valley, Alamo Square with it's beautiful views and painted ladies is just a block away! The owners are very nice and easy to work with. Seriously, don't think, just book this place if it's available.

Room Tip: Double bed rooms are slightly larger than queens. The beds more comfortable as well (extra down padd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FoodTravelerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh Z, General Manager at The Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2015

Thank you for your positive review! After two years of renovations we are open again. We still have comfortable beds, but now they are new comfortable beds, with new luxurious 100% cotton linens and towels. We have kept all the charm of the rooms and kept our most beautiful furniture and added new furniture as well. The rooms are looking great. We are of course, still in the same quiet, convenient location. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My first stay at the charming Grove Inn was in 1990. I have been back, year after year. Other parts of this wonderful city may be more obvious choices for visitors, but this neighbourhood is so delightful.
Formulaic hotels may offer a lower price than being here: but what price, a unique experience in an historic building (originally a Gold Rush boarding house 1865)?

I simply wouldn't even think of staying anywhere other than the Grove Inn.
Klaus, the inn-keeper, is utterly charming. The accommodation is immaculately clean. Breakfast is provided. Fast wifi is complimentary - and: importantly for some of us, who need to work whilst away from home: it is a *secure* site, rather than being "public" wifi. And the wifi is in the bedrooms, rather than just being in a lobby area.

Staying in the Grove Inn is a huge pleasure and also feels like a privilege, to inhabit this wonderful building, even temporarily.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are charming, and the location of the Inn means that it is peaceful wherever you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Perpetuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh Z, General Manager at The Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2015

Thank you so much for the positive review! We have opened again after a two year renovation, and we are excited for past guests to come and see how nice the place turned out and give us feedback. Klaus, my father, is still here. We still offer a great continental breakfast, featuring locally baked bread with spreads and cheeses, fruits, yogurt, and coffee or tea. We have wifi in all the rooms, but we have upgraded the speed, so if it was good before, it is now better. We hope to see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I think some of the other reviewers have done an excellent job listing the positives of the Grove Inn: it's located in a nice neighborhood, you can easily walk to Alamo Square and also the Panhandle section of Golden Gate Park, transportation is a breeze, Klaus (the owner) is friendly and informative, the beds are comfy and the rooms are clean, the price is a bargain. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mtns2coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We have stayed at the Grove Inn a half dozen times. The location is perfect for us. Buses and/or the Muni stops are very convenient to the inn. No matter what your destination, the de Young and Golden Gate Park or the Ferry building and China Town each is easily accessible. Our host, Klaus Zimmerman, has a fantastic knowledge of the city and is always ready to help in locating restaurants, music, a local farmer's market, and with good directions.The Alamo Square Sea Food Grill, just across the street, is a must. Our room at the Grove has always been clean & comfortable, the morning coffee is fresh and bold, and there is always an Examiner and New York Times to read.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chicagotravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I was travelling with a friend all around california and our last stop was in San Francisco. Grove Inn is a calm, clean and lovely place. If you really wanna feel what is a life near the painted houses, you should stay there. Klaus, the lovely host, is very kind, and such a good cultural live book of culture, amazing conversations. I stayed only 3 days there and it was like was living home. The room is cute and every day you have an amazing buttered croissant on the breakfast. If you wanna noise, nightclubs and see movement, grove inn is not the place. But if you wanna feel the city, stay calm and feeling like home in a hotel, you really must stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aline_Andrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
701 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
999 reviews
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
335 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 72 in San Francisco
444 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Inn

Address: 890 Grove St, San Francisco, CA 94117-1712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £114 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove Inn, family owned and operated since 1983, is opening it's doors after extensive renovations. All of the rooms have been freshly updated and tastefully decorated. Originally built as a Gold Rush boarding house in the 1800's, the Italianate Victorian style inn is located in San Francisco's historic Alamo Square district. The Grove Inn is located in a picturesque part of the city, one block from the famous "Painted Ladies" Victorian houses, and centrally located in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Inn b&b
Grove Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing