We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tropica
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$314
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Diva(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$563
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
2
10
3
11
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
10
3
11
25
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I paid 80$ for a room without WiFi in it, with no TV remote control, only the bath worked but no the shower,the door of the bathroom was impossible to close and on top of these the room was extremely cold that I had to ask an extra blanket during the night. Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agostino230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Not a bad room, basic but does a job, was ridiculously overpriced for the weekend we stayed here, no internet in room, no breakfast and staff were so rude (When they eventually came out of the back room). They gave us no information about surrounding areas and things to do in San Francisco.
-waste of money!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackthebackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I live in San Francisco and stayed here for a few nights in July 2013. Internet rates were ~$130/night, but I was able to get a (smallish) room with private bath for $80+ tax by asking directly through the hotel.

Hotels can be pretty expensive in SF, average rate for a decent place is usually close to $200/night. I used to recommend the Elements Hotel to a certain brand of visitor (just need the basics, spend a lot of time out, location is key), but Elements is no more, having been converted to veteran housing. So, Tropica it is now, which is slightly nicer and a little more expensive.

My room was clean and modern. At the back of the hotel, with great natural light. Bathroom seems brand new. Comes with mini fridge and microwave. Does not seem to be daily maid service. Free WiFi, which is spotty at the back of the hotel (they also have a dedicated PC for guest use at the check in window).

If you like to go out to eat, bar hop,
listen to live music, shop for trendy clothes, location here is ideal - it is literally surrounded by restaurants, with some of the most heralded - Locanda, Mission Chinese, Foreign Cinema, Bar Tartine, Range - all within easy walking distance. Too many bars, of all types, to mention - from Mexican bars with mariachis to some of SF's most creative cocktails. And live music within a short walk - the new Chapel, the old Elbo Room, which has had Sunday late night reggae dance parties for over 10 years, and one of my favorites, Amnesia, a quirky little romantic place with excellent, lesser heard music, from Balkan and Gypsy jazz to bluegrass, punk karaoke, folksy singer/songwriters, etc.

Hotel is less than 2 blocks from 16th/Mission BART, which goes straight to SFO. Also close to Dolores Park and Castro.

Tropica is not for everyone. I give it 3.5 stars overall. But if you want more than a hostel, and can live without full service, and being right in the action is important, this is a very good bargain.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

First of all, i would like to say that the people working in the hotel were extremely nice.
about the room : the room we stayed in had two double bads, for four people.
the room was too small, uncomfortable, without a clothet or any drawers to place our clothes, no table near the beds. there were'nt any mirrors in the room besides the small one in the bathroom that hangs to high over the sink. the lightning in the room was very weak and did not allow us to read at the evening.
in the bathroom : there were no drawers, table or even a shelve to place our toiletries.
but as we said, the people were very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tropica June 2013. We wanted this location as it was near family, but I was worried after reading some of the reviews.

The reservation was made over the phone and when we arrived the lady behind the counter said they didn't have our reservation and no one by the name of the person my husband spoke with worked there. But we were patient and sure enough our reservation was found.

He had reserved a room with 2 twin beds and a bathroom. We got one double bed, but didn't want to try to change. The bathroom was clean. The bedding seemed clean. The room was clean, albeit small, but that was fine.

The room was hot at night as some other reviewers mentioned. We had the window open all the way - which is no big deal in the city as there are little to zero bugs - and that too was fine. The bed had both a foot board and a head board. We're both tall, so I would have liked no foot board.

Be aware that there are no elevators. The "office" is up one flight of stairs and our room was up another flight of stairs.

I would stay there again as the location is great for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews