We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than you might think”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Kinsman, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Much better than you might think”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Took my kids to SF for Phish shows, and decided to try a hostel. We had the 3 bunk room. Only negative was the shared bathrooms, but it was relatively easy to find a clean one on the floor, and an employee seemed to be cycling constantly through the floors cleaning. As good as any hotel room, when you are really not planning on staying in the room other than sleep. We did not use the kitchen, but it was nice, as was the common room. Employees were cordial and helpful. It was a unique experience that will never be forgotten.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dyrwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Glad the music brought you to us. Thank you for the great and thorough review - our staff works 24/7 to give all of our guests (backpackers, adventurers, musicians, fans, artists, yogis, parents, children) the most comfortable and memorable San Francisco experience. Hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    223
    68
    24
    24
See reviews for
21
155
252
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Green Tortoise Hostel for about a week. My experience was nothing short of perfection. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the free meals were terrific. There's a great vibe from the fellow travelers, and the accommodations are very well laid out. Private showers are a major plus for me, and the beds were quite comfortable as well. Green Tortoise does hostelling right, and is easily one of the best hostels I've stayed at in both the US and Europe.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
We are an authentic backpackers hostel, so it's so easy to meet fellow travelers in our place and have a memorable time. We are about community and helping our guests have the best time possible in our city. Hope to see you again. All the best, GT Mgt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Recommended by a friend to stay here and so glad I did! Made some amazing friends in other fellow travellers and staff! Great atmosphere, very friendly and homely vibe, can't wait until I can go back again! Would recommend anyone to stay here whoever you may be, if you want to meet people, socialise and have a good time then this is the place.. No issues around cleanliness or noise control either, all was good!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thanks for Loving us! We love hearing how great a time you and other travelers have had at the hostel and in the City. Don't forget to check out our Adventure tours on our sleeper coaches, they are amazing too! Join us on Facebook! All the best, GT Mgt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Been a great stay the past week and we will be back again later next week for a couple of nights to finish our stay in San francisco!

Free Breakfast and Free Dinners have been great.
Clean bedroom and shower rooms.
Wifi excellent
Location is only about a 10-15 minute from some of the main locations and a lot of transport available close by.
The Rock, paper, scissors pub crawl was a bit of craic and great for meeting fellow travellers.

It's our second time staying at the hostel after first visiting two years ago and it's been just as good as our first experience. This time we've been in the second building but it's been great and some excellent views from the balcony.

Weather has again been great. Seems like the start of October is a good time to visit!

Room Tip: If travelling as a couple the second building a block from the first building is a good option and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Yes, September and October are great warm months to visit San Francisco. Thanks for taking the time to review us and mentioning all the perks. It really does make your stay more affordable when a great breakfast is included daily and also 3 free dinners a week. Check us out on Facebook! :) GT Mgt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at the Green Tortoise for 3 nights, and it was such a great experience. Rreally safe location, with some nice places to eat in nearby little Italy. Super helpful staff, fast WiFi, great kitchen and common room, incredible free breakfasts and dinner, and absolutely loved the free live music. Met so many great people, thanks GT!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thanks for the excellent review! We do take pride in what we offer and in our facilities. Its a great atmosphere to be in as a traveler meeting so many people from all around the world! See you again soon. Like us on Facebook. :) GT Mgt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Amazing! Absolutely loved my time here. This hostel has the best vibe and is super homely. The staff are helpful and friendly. The beauty of the Green Tortoise is that it has one main communal area and because of this your always meeting new people. I met so many amazing people here. The free pool table was a great addition. The pub crawls organised were great and because alcohol is allowed in the common room, your night doesn't have to end at 2am. The rooms were cosy and comfortable and plenty of bathrooms. The breakfast and free dinners were perfect. Definitely helped to make my San Francisco experience amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hi Melbourne, Australia! Thanks for staying & the great review! See you next time in our sunny city by the bay. (Sept & Oct has great weather) Best, GT Mgt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Firstly thank you to the wonderful staff at Green Tortoise. From taking my booking months in advance to offering helpful tips to going out of their way to re-unite me with my Ukelele (that I had stupidly forgot to take home to Australia with me!) I was sure it was gone forever!

I found the location of the hostel great, close to chinatown and the italian distric so lots of restaurants and bars. Easy walk down to the Embarcardero and Fishermans wharf, from which you can easily catch the muni trams & buses downtown. San Fransisco is a very walkable city if you avoid the obvious hills and inclines, you will learn to go 'around' rather than 'up' & over them! There is a set of stairs right beside the hostel that will lead you up to Coit Tower which, if you're fit enough is well worth the view. Just wait until the fog burns off!

The staff at GT SF are terrific, very chilled, educated and friendly at all times. The hostel provides great entertainment and free meals on alternate nights. The rooms are spacious and kept clean and the beds are comfy with a lamp for individual use late at night. I highly recommend staying here to anyone new to San Fransisco and look forward to heading back there soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z0eAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Now you are a part of the Legend! Thanks for encapsulating the essence of the Tortoise and our gorgeous city. If you loved the hostel, you might like to check out our travel company that has custom designed sleeper coaches that can take you all over the US and Baja, Mexico. :) Cheers, GT MGT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,023 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 50 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Property: Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Address: 494 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4515
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tortoise Hostel in San Francisco is a full service, fun, comfortable, and welcoming hostel. Located in the North Beach area (Little Italy), famous for entertainment, bars, bookstores, and Beat Generation history. The hostel is close to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, famous bars and restaurants & public transportation that can take you all over the Bay Area. We are a SOCIAL hostel, so come & be included in our events held nightly in and outside the hostel. Lots of Freebies, breakfast daily, dinner 3 x a week, wifi, sauna, massage chair and lots more! Please NOTE *No elevators, *All shared bathrooms along the hallways (but private use)*Average age 22-30 & next to an *Adult entertainment & club area that can be noisy on weekends & in peak season.** WE ARE BEST SUITED TO BACKPACKERS IN SEARCH OF COMMUNITY, OUR HOSTEL DOES NOT PROVIDE "HOTEL STYLE" ROOM SERVICE TO MAINTAIN VALUE FOR MONEY) Room types available from us are mixed (CO-ED), female, standard private (one Queen bed), twin bunk private, triple (double bed below, single above) & quad bunk style (2 double (full) sized bunk beds). Group inquires welcome. We are also famous for our "hostel on wheels" customized sleeper coach adventures that offer private charters & tours to many exciting destinations seasonally - Alaska, Canyons of the West, Cross Country - East and West bound, California Coastal Crawler, Yosemite, Death Valley, Baja, as well as Burningman and the Oregon Country Fair. Please contact us directly for more information, we also have a hostel in Seattle. We look forward to making your San Francisco experience a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing