We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Time's a Charm (Just like the First)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownards, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Second Time's a Charm (Just like the First)”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our second stay in the Green Tortoise and I have to say, if anything, my opinion of it has got even better.

As with our previous stay, we booked a private double room, however instead of being in the main building, it was in the annex located only a block away from the main hostel. This made the experience even better!

It was quieter than the main hostel, but still had everything you needed including wifi, kitchen facilities and shared bathrooms. The rooms also had vcr combi TVs and a wide selection fo old school vhs tapes. I loved this and made plenty of use of it! You also have your own washing machine and tumble drier downstairs for a minimal cost.

The best thing about this building was the view! They have a balcony out the back with gives you great views of the light show on the Bay Bridge.

We had two different rooms, as we left the city for a couple of days, and when we came back we got an even better room, 303. The views over the financial district, including the Trans Am building. We both loved it!

As with any other room, you also get the free breakfast every morning and three free (yummy) vegetarian meals a week. Plus they hold so many activities during the week. We went along on the pub crawl, and it was great to meet other guests while getting really cheap drinks!

Another plus is the staff. They couldn't have been more helpful. Anytime I needed info on a bus or activity, they were able to give me great advice straight away. Also, I realised when I got to the airport after leaving that I had left a bracelet with sentimental value behind. I phoned straight away, and within the day, Flora had emailed me back saying they had found it and would ship it back.

I Definetly plan on heading to San Francisco again, and no question, I will be staying at the Green Tortoise, keep up the good work guys!

Room Tip: Try and get a private double room in the annexe building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, General Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Larissa so glad we could get your bracelet back to you and that you really were able to dive into the great amenities we have at the Green Tortoise. We sure hope that we can prove your third time's a charm too so come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    223
    68
    24
    24
See reviews for
21
155
252
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights in a private room with a friend at Green Tortoise Hostel and it was such a pleasant stay. The staff n cleaner were very helpful. Room was clean!!! I highly recommend this hostel!!! Two thumbs up!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
...and two high fives to you. Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others about your experience here. The Green Tortoise has such a great global community and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Well I've stayed in some city hostels before but not like this! Fabulous welcome, staff are amazing, could not have been more friendly or efficient. Great ballroom for eating, socialising, hanging out. Well equipped, clean and spacious kitchen and facilities. Free breakfast! Great bedroom, spotlessly clean, good quality bedding and linen. Bathrooms are ok and clean. Loved the vibe, way more personal and fun than most city hostels, will definitely visit again!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MissKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Miss Kathryn - we couldn't have asked for a greater review. So glad you had a great time and that it comes from an experienced traveller. We like to think our staff as personal inside guides to the magical secrets of San Francisco and glad to hear they probably shared some of their deep wisdoms with you. Come back and visit us and be sure to tell your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spagna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place smells like sixties, in the heart of North beach. Easy to meet people, free dinner, nice people. Great places of live music really close to the hostel. Surely a great atmosphere to enjoy San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tureinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks for your good words. North beach oozes culture and rich history and we like to think the Green Tortoise is a grand meeting place of the old with the new, a place for everyone to feel comfortable and to have a great time as they explore San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

stayed 4 nights in sept 2013. poistion (north beach, between little italy and chinatown) is perfect to visit the embarcadero and downtown. our double room was clean, even if very small. the hostel is very well organized in every aspect. we loved the big common room and the kitchen. the atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. it is worth the money you spend here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antpiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hostel in great location, walking distance to most of the main places (Union Square, Little Italy, Fisherman's Wharf etc.). Hostel staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast and evening meals provided on some nights. Rooms and bathrooms clean. We had a private double room - it was very small but expect this would be the case with most of the hostels. Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hi Sonia - we're glad you had a great time and that you shared that with others. Our private rooms are comfy and cozy, some bigger, some smaller and we hope yours fit just right! Were glad you enjoyed all our meals - we know how much fuel you need for those San Francisco hills! Come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I couldn't have anticipated the overall quality that the Tortoise would show me; previous hostel stays in the Bay Area left me with a lack of real enthusiasm for the hostel itself and only an excitement for the city. However, after last weekend perceptions were changed and a discovery was made. Excellent staff, interesting and varied guests, great location, and an awesomely funky-cool building make for a must-stay. I will definitely recommend the Tortoise to friends and fellow travelers. Until next time, Cheers!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirtparkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
You are now a genuine Tortoise! Thanks for your review and for sharing the spirit of the Tortoise to those you think will love our memorable hostel as you did. Come back and visit us or travel with us on our Green Tortoise Adventure Buses for our hostel on wheels experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,023 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 50 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Property: Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Address: 494 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4515
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tortoise Hostel in San Francisco is a full service, fun, comfortable, and welcoming hostel. Located in the North Beach area (Little Italy), famous for entertainment, bars, bookstores, and Beat Generation history. The hostel is close to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, famous bars and restaurants & public transportation that can take you all over the Bay Area. We are a SOCIAL hostel, so come & be included in our events held nightly in and outside the hostel. Lots of Freebies, breakfast daily, dinner 3 x a week, wifi, sauna, massage chair and lots more! Please NOTE *No elevators, *All shared bathrooms along the hallways (but private use)*Average age 22-30 & next to an *Adult entertainment & club area that can be noisy on weekends & in peak season.** WE ARE BEST SUITED TO BACKPACKERS IN SEARCH OF COMMUNITY, OUR HOSTEL DOES NOT PROVIDE "HOTEL STYLE" ROOM SERVICE TO MAINTAIN VALUE FOR MONEY) Room types available from us are mixed (CO-ED), female, standard private (one Queen bed), twin bunk private, triple (double bed below, single above) & quad bunk style (2 double (full) sized bunk beds). Group inquires welcome. We are also famous for our "hostel on wheels" customized sleeper coach adventures that offer private charters & tours to many exciting destinations seasonally - Alaska, Canyons of the West, Cross Country - East and West bound, California Coastal Crawler, Yosemite, Death Valley, Baja, as well as Burningman and the Oregon Country Fair. Please contact us directly for more information, we also have a hostel in Seattle. We look forward to making your San Francisco experience a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing