We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed for a week last month I have stayed at several hostels, and this one is one of the best hostels. I stayed in a 4 women dorm that was super clean and mostly quiet. The common room was a beautiful ballroom that hosted events every night. There had been five bathrooms on each floor that had been kept surprisingly clean. The only remote issue I had is the pillows had been super hard and I ended up using the comforter for help. The staff was quite helpful and had always been willing to answer questions. When they realized they had a ton of SF marathoners in their mits, they even played "Eye of the Tiger" in the lobby for us. Everything you possibly needed is close, Safeway, Starbucks, Chinatown, Little Italy, the waterfront ect. even though the area is a tad bit seedy, but as a single women I never had a issue. Hope I can come back next year for the marathon as it made a perfect home base, and I made friendships that I will never forget.

Room Tip: Top floors in the back have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    221
    67
    24
    24
See reviews for
20
152
247
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed there a while ago but have kept very good memories of the place. The atmosphere was great, I loved the ballroom. In the evening, it was very nice to hang out there for a while to get to know all the other guests.

Rooms and the kitchen were clean, the hostel has a nice location (Chinatown, Coit tower and union square are all quite close), fun activities organized in the evenings. Friendly staff too ! It would be even better if there could be more bathrooms though.

I also had the chance to stay there for July 4th. It was perfect to get to watch the fireworks over SF Bay !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerevol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the private rooms one block away. Comfortable room, shared kitchen. And bathroom (both clean). Great views from deck across the city. Good free breakfast of bagels, coffee and fruit. V helpful staff that got us a discount for hiring bikes and explained the BART payment system to us. Highly recommended, but this is very much a hostel with a hostel laid back atmosphere.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The staff was fantastic! The room was a tiny private double that was clean and had a TV with a library of movies to watch (no broadcast tv). The window faced an alley and a brick wall. For me, that made it a bit claustrophobic. The shared bathrooms were usually clean and usually available. The location is just a few blocks away from being ideal. It is on seedy Broadway with uncleaned street and strip joints, but just a couple blocks away is Chinatown or 'Little Italy'.

It took me a couple nights to sleep through the noise, but I am older. The noise came from shutting doors, not rowdy behavior.

Room Tip: Book early, they fill up. It seems like 2 beds is the same cost as a private, so if you're trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cucumber6101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for five nights and had a private room in another building a block away. Had the best of both worlds - access to all the awesome facilities of the hostel - wifi, web, food, ballroom etc but with the quiet when you want it and kitchen facilities too and the best was the third floor terrace with a great view of the bay bridge. Some parts are a little dated and you'll need to share the bathroom, but it's got a great location and vibe so sure to enjoy your stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed at this hostel for 5 nights and it was a beautiful experiance. You'll have to like old buildings as I do. I mean the rooms aren't realy modern but they are definitly clean. But the most beautiful thing is the Ballroom, it will be the place where you hang out, eat, listen to great music and play drinking games.

The range of activities that they offer is also amazing. I recommend taking a ride in the Green tortoise bus for those of you who like National parcs you will be served. They have nice activities for those of you who are more night life oriented. Whatever your age, in a couple or solo this hostel has one of the nicest vibe out there.

You're at walking distance from the financial district, chinatown, little italy, fisherman's wharf. I highly recommend this hostel !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cysho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at the Green Tortoise for 7 nights, after having stayed at the one in Seattle, and I loved it! The decor has great "San Francisco vibes", the staff was really nice and check-in/check-out went really smoothly.

I stayed in room 9, it was really big, there was a sink, which was practical, and the lockers were big. The only thing I would recommend would be to add personal curtains to the bunks, so you can't bother anyone if you want to read late or something!

The breakfast was great, bagels, orange juice, oatmeal! The free dinners were good, and well-organised, there was plenty of food and you can volunteer to help!

The bathrooms were okay, kind of small, but you get used to it! I never had to wait for one, even in the morning! And the wi-fi worked great.

You can book a shuttle to go back to the airport, it costs around 14$ plus tip, and I really recommend it!

Overall, I had an awesome stay, and I highly recommend staying here! For the price, you are within walking distance to a lot of attractions, and the amenities are great! =) Next time I visit, I'm staying there!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marigold154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,825 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Property: Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Address: 494 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4515
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tortoise Hostel in San Francisco is a full service, fun, comfortable, and welcoming hostel. Located in the North Beach area (Little Italy), famous for entertainment, bars, bookstores, and Beat Generation history. The hostel is close to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, famous bars and restaurants & public transportation that can take you all over the Bay Area. We are a SOCIAL hostel, so come & be included in our events held nightly in and outside the hostel. Lots of Freebies, breakfast daily, dinner 3 x a week, wifi, sauna, massage chair and lots more! Please NOTE *No elevators, *All shared bathrooms along the hallways (but private use)*Average age 22-30 & next to an *Adult entertainment & club area that can be noisy on weekends & in peak season.** WE ARE BEST SUITED TO BACKPACKERS IN SEARCH OF COMMUNITY, OUR HOSTEL DOES NOT PROVIDE "HOTEL STYLE" ROOM SERVICE TO MAINTAIN VALUE FOR MONEY) Room types available from us are mixed (CO-ED), female, standard private (one Queen bed), twin bunk private, triple (double bed below, single above) & quad bunk style (2 double (full) sized bunk beds). Group inquires welcome. We are also famous for our "hostel on wheels" customized sleeper coach adventures that offer private charters & tours to many exciting destinations seasonally - Alaska, Canyons of the West, Cross Country - East and West bound, California Coastal Crawler, Yosemite, Death Valley, Baja, as well as Burningman and the Oregon Country Fair. Please contact us directly for more information, we also have a hostel in Seattle. We look forward to making your San Francisco experience a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing