We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but your money is worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I really liked this hostel! The building is huge...specially the common area, so at first is a little bit hard to know people but the activities organized at the hostel are perfect for that and at the end you will be meeting fellow travelers everywhere.

I stayed in a 8 bed dorm and the place was nice, with a sink and mirror onsite. The beds are quite comfy but I would like them to be like the GT Seattle (with curtains). Also, during summer some of the rooms can get really hot and the only thing to cool the room is a fan, so it can get a little bit warm but not too much because, well..is San Francisco. I booked in advance and I got the best deal for that area, considering that accomodation in SF is going up! its crazy the prices you pay there... specially during events like festivals or summer peak. The hostel was fully booked so if you want to go make sure to book in advance to get a fair price...I was thereduring the golden gate music festival and it was insane the rates for accomodaton in the whole city (bed dorms for $55/ Motels for almost $150)

Free dinner nights are awesome! And even if you missed them...you can go to the kitchen and they will have the leftovers in the fridge so you don't have to spend more money those days. Breakfast is good and they have free eggs for you cooking them whatever you like.

The hostel is pretty clean and well kept, but the building is a little bit old (like the rest of the buildings in the area) so it can be noisy depending on your neighbours. There are five bathroms per floor so make sure to shower early...or pretty late, as I figure it out (bathrooms were perfect after 3 pm and most of them available).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NicolasRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend in the private annex (private rooms are in a separate building down the road). It was clean & comfortable with a TV, dresser and a little balcony with views of the city & the water.
Green Tortoise is a great, fun & super friendly hostel for young travellers on a budget, with free breakfast & dinners, activities (though the co-ordinator seems a bit "over it") and it's in a really good location.
I would recommend it to anyone wanting to meet other travellers and have an excellent time in San Francisco.

Room Tip: The private rooms on the top floor in the annex have better access to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ell-louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We must have stayed in over a hundred hostels between Europe/SEA/Oz/NZ and the green tortoise is definitely the best we've seen so far in the US. Granted the rooms are pretty small, but the staff are great, fast check in, all the facilities you need, FREE breakfast and dinner!!!! And the location is perfect for touring around SF. It's not the most modern but it's clean and I would definitely recommend to a friend :) wifi is fast enough too!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Susanmary88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014


I stayed 4 nights at the hotel. Every night I could not sleep for the noise of their own customers at the corridors at 3:00 am(if you complain they said you that they can,t do anithing, they sai that you must put ear-plugs). The rooms are not much clean and smalls. It,s a lot of expensive for the kind of hostel. Resrooms are always full. It was a bad experience. Not recomended.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eloiperich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Hi there,
I’m sorry to hear about your bad experience and I wish I could have done something to help out. If there was anything wrong or dirty with the rooms we would have been happy to fix it at the time. We recently had all of our carpets professionally cleaned.
We do understand that there are numerous bars in the area as well as the common room being frequented by music and parties. We try not to let the parties carry on too late and we are so sorry that it disrupted you.
Unfortunately San Francisco is an expensive city. We try to help guests keep costs low by providing free breakfast daily, free dinner three times per week, discounts to local restaurants and bars as well as discounted airport shuttles, bike rentals and parking. We always do our best to provide as many amenities as we can while still keeping prices low.
We would love for you to give us another chance if you are in SF again.
-Green Tortoise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Thanks for free dinner when I was on the ropes. Such a great place. Clean and friendly. All you need. Great locale too!!! Yeessssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Weeeeeeeeeeee e!!!!! The staff are cool and keen to share a tea with ya

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Adeycullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

You are more than welcome for the free dinner! We love being able to provide free breakfast every day and free dinner 3 days per week. Our staff loves being able to get to know guests. So glad we got to share a cup of tea with you.
Come see us next time you’re in town.
Cheers,
Green Tortoise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

As far as hostels go, this is a really, really good one. It has a real community atmosphere with events on most nights, free breakfasts daily, free dinners several nights a week. The big common room off of the lobby is gorgeous, a great place to just sit and chill out or meet other travellers. Kitchen is big and well-equipped, everything labelled and it all just seemed really thought through, right down to how to wash your dishes! Keep in mind that this is quite an old building so there are no elevators to be found. If you brought an enormous suitcase and your room is on the third floor you might have issues. Remember kids, this is a hostel not a hotel, so no one is going to lug your bags up for you! Backpackers should be fine. Bathrooms were clean and functional, although the rooms themselves can get kind of stuffy/dusty. Also keep in mind that this is a 'party hostel' which means on weekends the place will get loud and stay loud until well into the morning, but on the higher floors it's less noticeable and as long as you've got earplugs (and if you're staying in hostels YOU SHOULD HAVE EARPLUGS) it's not really a problem. Overall, a great place, especially if you're travelling solo.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows out onto Broadway St can be quite loud/bright all through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed for a week last month I have stayed at several hostels, and this one is one of the best hostels. I stayed in a 4 women dorm that was super clean and mostly quiet. The common room was a beautiful ballroom that hosted events every night. There had been five bathrooms on each floor that had been kept surprisingly clean. The only remote issue I had is the pillows had been super hard and I ended up using the comforter for help. The staff was quite helpful and had always been willing to answer questions. When they realized they had a ton of SF marathoners in their mits, they even played "Eye of the Tiger" in the lobby for us. Everything you possibly needed is close, Safeway, Starbucks, Chinatown, Little Italy, the waterfront ect. even though the area is a tad bit seedy, but as a single women I never had a issue. Hope I can come back next year for the marathon as it made a perfect home base, and I made friendships that I will never forget.

Room Tip: Top floors in the back have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#117 of 231 in San Francisco
435 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#29 of 231 in San Francisco
424 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 54 in San Francisco
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 54 in San Francisco
473 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 54 in San Francisco
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Address: 494 Broadway, Cross street - Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-4515
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: £26 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tortoise Hostel in San Francisco is a full service, fun, comfortable, and welcoming hostel. Located in the North Beach area (Little Italy), famous for entertainment, bars, bookstores, and Beat Generation history. The hostel is close to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, famous bars and restaurants & public transportation that can take you all over the Bay Area. We are a SOCIAL hostel, so come & be included in our events held nightly in and outside the hostel. Lots of Freebies, breakfast daily, dinner 3 x a week, wifi, sauna, massage chair and lots more! Please NOTE *No elevators, *All shared bathrooms along the hallways (but private use)*Average age 22-30 & next to an *Adult entertainment & club area that can be noisy on weekends & in peak season.** WE ARE BEST SUITED TO BACKPACKERS IN SEARCH OF COMMUNITY, OUR HOSTEL DOES NOT PROVIDE "HOTEL STYLE" ROOM SERVICE TO MAINTAIN VALUE FOR MONEY) Room types available from us are mixed (CO-ED), female, standard private (one Queen bed), twin bunk private, triple (double bed below, single above) & quad bunk style (2 double (full) sized bunk beds). Group inquires welcome. We are also famous for our "hostel on wheels" customized sleeper coach adventures that offer private charters & tours to many exciting destinations seasonally - Alaska, Canyons of the West, Cross Country - East and West bound, California Coastal Crawler, Yosemite, Death Valley, Baja, as well as Burningman and the Oregon Country Fair. Please contact us directly for more information, we also have a hostel in Seattle. We look forward to making your San Francisco experience a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing