We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you need.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #191 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All you need.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Though a little older this place isn't bad at all. The staff are helpful and friendly and there is free parking and wifi available. Me and my girlfriend stayed here 3 nights and found its location good to see most of San Francisco easily enough. This place was more then adequate for our trip and the rates were reasonable enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    47
    62
    40
    53
See reviews for
50
68
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Desk clerk, Rocky was friendly & helpful. Even coming to my aid when I couldn't get the heater to work. He was able to.
But the room itself was in need of a good cleaning.No furniture is moved when vacuumed, the edges of the whole room was dirty. Bedspread & blanket, stained, dirty & in need of replacement. Along with the dirty grayish yellow rough washcloths. NASTY!! TV old with big vacant hole where once was a built in VHS player.Metal strip between Carpet & linoleum wasn't screwed down completely, snagging my sock.
Girl that laid out danishes was sweet. This place is in dire need of a face lift, if they want happy & returning guest.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

booked here for 2 nights wish I hadn't there is only 1 good thing about the place, free parking , it's noisy, dirty, and it looked as though some one had tried to kick the door in, in all a really bad experience

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Froggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rnp94102, General Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced, however, we were not made aware of any issues. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction. It's unfortunate that during your 2 day stay with us you did not come by the front desk to express any of your concerns. We would have happily switched your room, fixed any issue you may have had in your room, or given you a full refund.

Sincerely,
Rocky Patel
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Traveled with a Friend for her appt. at UCSF., I was not sure about Motel at first. When we checked In, I was shocked at how clean office was and Kind Greeting &Service. Covered parking close to elevator <old and slow - yet works> Room was very Clean - no flat screen T.V, and took a trip to office to get the remote figured out and directions to connect to cable < nothing IN PRINT in room > Room size tight - yet only staying the night.. it worked. Light in Bathroom closest to shower was burned OUT. Small details that lacked. Close to various food establishments, felt safe in walking close. Highway noise is present - room half way back in the building. All in All a good value - and MUCH cleaner than I expected.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed at the Surf Motel for two nights with a friend and I thought it was awful. The bathroom was filthy, broken tiles on the wall, mould, cheap poor quality fittings. The room stunk so badly of of years of cigarette smoke we left the door open. The lights didn't work on the first night and we couldn't get hold of anyone in reception to fix the problem. The motel looks like it could do with a complete renovation, and i wouldn't rate it'd chances of standing up in an earthquake. The woman in reception was overly aggressive when checking in and made me wait until 3pm despite a notice on the wall clearly stating check in was from 2pm. The best feature was the location, which is close to the Marina Triangle, although the traffic noise won't be to everyone's liking. Worst of all was the price, $200 per night when booking through hostel world is outrageous when I think it is worth $80 per night absolute max. Overall not a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RappaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTA BARBARA, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Noisy location, small room, no breakfast, nothing special. Use as a last resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SURFINGWOLF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Well, at first sight, I was weary about staying. It looked rundown and pretty empty.. we got 2 nights without checking out the rooms first and I was honestly expecting to walk into a smelly room, dirty sheets and even dirtier unkempt bathroom.. But I was surprised at how decent the room looked.. fancy by no means, basic stuff.. But everything was functional.. Only thing that bummed me out was the noise, I have insomnia and being close to the road didn't help much but it does quiet down at night. Overall is a safe, economic stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Datlady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#163 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Marina District
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#166 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#157 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#132 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#142 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#180 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Property: Surf Motel
Address: 2265 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing