We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and not so fresh.”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #191 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 5 November 2013

we stayed here during the hardly strictly bluegrass festival.
it was not really bad or anything. but seemed really overpriced for the accommodations.
our room was musty smelling.
the location was good for the wharf, but not the park-
i would stay here again if i had to, but only if there was no other option.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bulldawg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We are generally very well located for the venues in our area, the ocean being one of them. We are sorry we were not as well located by the park for the festival. We offer clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate and are extremely sorry that you had a "musty odor" in your room. Thank you for telling us so we can immediately address the issue. Surf motel is being refurbished in some of our areas so this should not be a continuing problem. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

There receptionist yelled at me. They did not have the room we booked. There idea of an upgrade from a king sized bed was two full sized beds. They have an expired elevator permit. The room had flies everywhere and smelled bad. And to top it off, they charged us twice.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parlockhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We provide clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate, however if there is an issue we can fix it when we are told about it. Our guest relations counter person should always treat our guests with respect and we are very sorry to hear that is not the case here. Also with the "odor" you found in the room thank you for telling us and we want you to know all of the issues you brought up will be addressed in the correct departments. Please accept our apology for your inconvenience and remember we take our guests comments very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I just spend a few nights in this hotel which is very well located.
But my room had bad smell, wifi not working correctly, ridiculous breakfast and extremely noisy !
I paid over 1200 $ for 6 nights !!
Just get away from there unless you pay 75 $ or less a night !

Room Tip: Impossible to get an acceptable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bregfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Surf motel. As you stated we are extremely well located to be able to enjoy all the venues around us and still be close when it is time to relax in your room. We certainly apologize about the "odor" you had in your room. When we have guest comments we take them very seriously and want you to know these issues you bring up will be immediately addressed. It is our priority to provide clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate. Again please accept our apology for your inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Took a chance with this hotel, looking at the comments..some good and some bad, couldnt beat the price and the location was great. actually walked to the wharf and it wasn't to bad of walk. plenty of places to grab a bite to eat within a block. the room was cute and clean to my surprise and i would st

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottsize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at our Surf motel. We do strive to offer clean and comfortable rooms with a great customer service and we appreciate you noticing. Location is so important when choosing a motel especially when traveling with your family and you pointed out that is is an easy walk to the Wharf. We look forward to you staying with us again when in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We spent just one night there and we didn't plan to be there actually. But the hotel was nice for what we needed. Good staff and free wifi upstairs. But the connection wasn't so good because I had to be standing close to the door to go online.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarissaSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Surf motel. We always appreciate compliments on our property as well as "needs help" comments. We strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests and free WI-FI is always a huge plus for our guests. Good staff is almost as good as anything we could provide for our guests and we thank you for noticing and commenting on it. We look forward to you staying with us again when you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

First off, the positive. Location is fabulous. Was able to take the bus just 2 blocks away to downtown. Free parking. Best breakfast in town is across the street at Home Plate. Go there !
The negative. Small rooms, not very clean, breakfast was a wrapped pastry at the front desk, coffee is made in your room. The worst thing is I booked a room on priceline. The hotel refused to give me 2 beds even though priceline says most hotels will do that if they have it available. Rude man at front desk refused to help us even though priceline even called them and asked. Priceline was amazed the hotel wouldn't help us. After I angrily lost my battle, the front desk then called us offering the extra bed for $20 more a night. Angered me more they had it available but wouldn't give it to us. My kids ended up sleeping on the floor. They were so rude. I travel all the time and I've never been treated this badly.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay at Surf motel. We were pleased that you agree with us that our location is wonderful. As for the rude service you received, please accept our deepest apologies as we do not ever want our guests treated as you were treated. We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms with great customer service as we honor the fact you chose to stay with us. This attitude will be addressed i can assure you.
Whenever you find your self in the Bay area please give us a chance to show you we really do care and offer the best customer service around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and myself stayed at the surf motel for three nights and found the hotel to be very clean and quiet even though it was on the very busy Lombard street.The only complaint was the very poor breakfast which was a sticky bun and a cup of coffee that you had to brew yourself in your room.

Room Tip: You must visit Mels Diner two blocks down from the Motel great food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Public Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Surf Motel. We are in a great location for the venues that are offered by our motel making travel to them a little easier. Clean and comfortable rooms are our goal with friendly customer service so knowing you received all of that is our priority. When you are next in the Bay Area we will look forward to providing your travel accommodations again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#133 of 230 in San Francisco
652 reviews
Marina District
Greenwich Inn
Greenwich Inn
#161 of 230 in San Francisco
240 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#125 of 230 in San Francisco
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#177 of 230 in San Francisco
326 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#128 of 230 in San Francisco
166 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#160 of 230 in San Francisco
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 2265 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2703
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £78 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing