We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #191 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“You get what you pay for”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I'm here right now and I'm pretty sure there are prostitutes having a coke party next door. That's something management should be looking out for if they'd like to continue having patrons. It's cute from the outside but the rooms are dirty and there's lots of mildew and mold in the bathroom and around the baseboards. Parking is tight but available. Expect to hear cars coming and going all night through the parking lot and of course the 6 lane road that's next to it. Lady at the front desk was pretty nice and accommodating. Our reservation was supposed to be 2 beds and we ended up with only one which she switched for $20 (even though Priceline said that the hotel would change to 2 beds if available with no extra charge, especially if that's what we made the reservation for). She also gave great recommendations for restaurants. It is a nice location next to awesome shops and a couple cool bars. Still the coke party next door continues and sleep will be minimal due to the extremely thin walls. Good for a quick night but no long term stay. If you have the money, go elsewhere--You definitely get what you pay for

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iLikeTrips2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Surf motel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the guests next door created for you. It is always our intention that our guests receive clean and comfortable rooms. Your comments on cleanliness will be forwarded to our GM and owner for immediate corrective action.
Again, thank you for letting us know about your stay. When you are next in our area please give us another opportunity to provide your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    48
    64
    41
    53
See reviews for
51
70
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This place was pretty cheap when I stayed here. It's not a bad place if you won't be in the room much. Its in the Marina area and there are a lot of bars and restaurants around. The room was a borderline subpar in terms of cleanliness and general quality. I have seen it at higher prices and wouldn't of rented it under those circumstances. One plus is that parking is included.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We offer a good rate for our location as we are very close to venues and the ocean. Always including in the room rate is free parking which makes a difference when you are looking for a parking spot and cant find one or have to pay for one. We pride ourselves on offering clean and comfortable rooms for our guests and hope that if there were something you felt was not clean you reported it to the front desk so we could take care of the issue. We look forward to seeing you again when in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The motel does have a good location but it is on a noisy, busy, 6 lane street. And it is cheap by SF standards. The kindest word to describe it would be Spartan and it does have parking. For a quick overnight, it might work for you but a longer stay is probably not a good idea. My room had a very strange aC/Heat unit that would heat for 15 minutes, then cool for 15 minutes, and repeat all night long. The cooling part was no fun at all.

Room Tip: Look for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaberwockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at Surf motel. We pride ourselves on offering clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate. With our free parking it really is a bonus not having to look for parking when wanting to go see the ocean. Our location is one of the best so that it is easy to go to different venues around us. We take our guests response seriously and are very sorry you had issues with your heater in your room. Our front desk should have had it taken care of or moved you to another room. Again please accept our apology and thank you for staying with us. We will be doing a huge renovation of our property and would love to have you come back and see all of our new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

we stayed here during the hardly strictly bluegrass festival.
it was not really bad or anything. but seemed really overpriced for the accommodations.
our room was musty smelling.
the location was good for the wharf, but not the park-
i would stay here again if i had to, but only if there was no other option.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldawg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We are generally very well located for the venues in our area, the ocean being one of them. We are sorry we were not as well located by the park for the festival. We offer clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate and are extremely sorry that you had a "musty odor" in your room. Thank you for telling us so we can immediately address the issue. Surf motel is being refurbished in some of our areas so this should not be a continuing problem. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

There receptionist yelled at me. They did not have the room we booked. There idea of an upgrade from a king sized bed was two full sized beds. They have an expired elevator permit. The room had flies everywhere and smelled bad. And to top it off, they charged us twice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parlockhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We provide clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate, however if there is an issue we can fix it when we are told about it. Our guest relations counter person should always treat our guests with respect and we are very sorry to hear that is not the case here. Also with the "odor" you found in the room thank you for telling us and we want you to know all of the issues you brought up will be addressed in the correct departments. Please accept our apology for your inconvenience and remember we take our guests comments very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I just spend a few nights in this hotel which is very well located.
But my room had bad smell, wifi not working correctly, ridiculous breakfast and extremely noisy !
I paid over 1200 $ for 6 nights !!
Just get away from there unless you pay 75 $ or less a night !

Room Tip: Impossible to get an acceptable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bregfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Surf motel. As you stated we are extremely well located to be able to enjoy all the venues around us and still be close when it is time to relax in your room. We certainly apologize about the "odor" you had in your room. When we have guest comments we take them very seriously and want you to know these issues you bring up will be immediately addressed. It is our priority to provide clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate. Again please accept our apology for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porterville, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Took a chance with this hotel, looking at the comments..some good and some bad, couldnt beat the price and the location was great. actually walked to the wharf and it wasn't to bad of walk. plenty of places to grab a bite to eat within a block. the room was cute and clean to my surprise and i would st

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottsize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at our Surf motel. We do strive to offer clean and comfortable rooms with a great customer service and we appreciate you noticing. Location is so important when choosing a motel especially when traveling with your family and you pointed out that is is an easy walk to the Wharf. We look forward to you staying with us again when in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#158 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Marina District
Greenwich Inn
Greenwich Inn
#172 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Marina District
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#168 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#154 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#181 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Property: Surf Motel
Address: 2265 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing