We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surf Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$592
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$284
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$209
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$323
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$245
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$300
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$274
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$329
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
7
50
72
43
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
50
72
43
58
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Pleasantly surprised by the surf motel - the reviews make it sound like a dump but it's really quite comfortable and the parking and breakfast are a real bonus. Wifi was quite slow but wasn't a massive problem for us. We had a double room which was a comfortable size and the others we were visiting with got one of the suites which was a great size and looked in good condition. No mould or damp or anything and clean sheets all round! Only issue we had was a language barrier with one of the receptionists who tried to charge for an extra room which we didn't need but the manager sorted it out the next morning so no complaints there. We would definitely stay there again :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter away from the road. Don't be afraid to ask to move rooms as they seemed quite accommodating.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Surf motel. We love hearing glowing reports of how our property looks to our guests and we appreciate the fact you also included your opinion of what other guests had wrote about their stay!! We do always want to provide a clean and comfortable room for our guests and provide the parking as "icing on the cake". It is lovely to not have to look for a parking spot and we have such great venues all around us within walking distance. Again thank you for taking your time to let us know how your stay was and we sure look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Doing a 10 day road trip through California. Stayed here day 5, was the worst place we ever stayed throughout the whole trip. No TV remote, but staff brought a spare to the room, toilet is extremely loud flushing, shower is nice, location is okay, exterior of building very aged, no fridge or any kitchen accessories anywhere in the room, place has a convenient ice machine. Bed was good size and fairly comfortable. Room was a good size. I think it's the cheapest place to stay in SanFrancisco city. So it's okay if you are on a budget.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Charlije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. Our location is amazing as we have lots of different venues within walking distance for our guests. Also we offer clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate and have the beach very close so our guests don't have to drive and look for a parking spot. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

unless you like screaming homeless crazy people outside your motel. the mattress felt like a boxspring , sex stained blankets,spent over 85 bucks for a sleepless nigh.breakfast was good , white guy at desk was very nice and helpful,asian guy was an idiot. Please hire better maids ,they must be blind.they need to update the beds ASAP

Room Tip: there are no good rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you taking the time to review your stay with us at Surf motel. Your comments are taken seriously and will be forwarded to our General Manager and Owner. Please accept our apology for your many issues you dealt with while staying with us. It is our goal to provide clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate for our guests. We are in the process of refurbishing our property and thank you for making us aware of the bed and blanket situation. Again, please accept our deepest regret your stay was tainted. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide a clean and comfortable room for you and your family the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I rated this hotel a 1 because -10 wasn't an option.
We chose this motel as a last resort late at night when every other place we went to was full.
Upon entering the room we were greeted with the smell of an old, mildewy basement. The room felt moist and cold. When we closed the door I noticed that the lock was broken as if someone had attempted to kick the door in.
The bathroom was the worst part of the room. The roughness of the towels would have been tolerable had they not been stained and worn out. There was a hole in the bathroom wall that looked like someone punched it. The toilet paper holder was ripped off the wall so the roll of toilet paper (and the broken pieces of the toilet paper holder), were just sitting on the toilet tank. The shower curtain bar was bent in the middle, like someone tried to hang off it. The floors were filthy and there was mold in the shower. I think they go with dim lighting to prevent you from seeing just how bad it is in there and I shudder to think what I didn't see.
The shower itself had no water pressure. It was like showering in a mist, which might have been alright in a nice shower, but you want to get out of that one as quickly as possible so using mist to get shampoo out of your hair is obviously not ideal.
The rock that they try to pass off as a bed left us sore and unrested in the morning.
I notice in some of the replies a representative from the motel claims that cleanliness and comfort is a priority of this motel, this is clearly not true, as all the reviews say essentially the same thing and nothing has changed regardless of the complaints and bad reviews. I also didn't see any renovations going on, unless you count holes punched in walls and broken toilet paper holders as renovations, you guys have a long way to go.
The only good thing about this motel was that it helped me stick to my diet because just thinking about it made me lose my appetite. I would NOT recommend this motel to my worst enemy, let alone any of my friends or family and I most certainly would never, ever stay there again, not even if I was paid to.

Room Tip: My tip is...find somewhere else to stay.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitsliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Surf motel. It is a priority for us, as I have stated before, to offer clean and comfortable rooms for our guests and to hear of your recounting of the many issues you found in your room will not be taken lightly I can assure you. I will be passing your comments on to our owner and General Manager for immediate action. Please accept my apology for your stay in a room that had so many issues. We are in the process of renovating our rooms and clearly you did not receive one of them. This is written to you with our heartfelt apology as it is not our desire for any of our guests to be put in a room with the issues you have told us about.Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns so that we can make corrective action so other guests are not put in the same dilemma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

stayed here for 2 nights. hotel room was worn out. front door looked liked it had been kicked. bathroom wasnt great and bed was average, its ok for the price and would do if stuck for one night. its location was handy and guy at front desk was very helpful. decent breakfast for free.
overall it was safe and quiet so was happy overall

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fergus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Surf motel. We appreciate our guests comments especially if there are needs or issues to deal with as you are so important to us! Our priority is providing clean and comfortable rooms for our guests. Our location is amazing offering so many venues for our guests enjoyment as well. We are in the process of refurbishing our motel so we would love to have you give us another opportunity to provide your motel accommodations the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews