We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, nice location, friendly staff”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #191 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No frills, nice location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I really could enjoy the free parking, as I went from there to just about anywhere on foot. This is a budget motel, and you get what you pay for,, but the place is comfortable enough and quite quiet, despite the location.

The quality of a place is also how welcome you feel and I really enjoyed the team's friendliness and especially how helpful the manager was.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xave o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us at Surf motel. We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms, so we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. You are so right about having a perfect location as we are within walking distance of several of the great venues close to us that our guests can enjoy. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area and thank you again for choosing Coastview Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    48
    66
    41
    53
See reviews for
52
70
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very close to everything, no more than 35 minutes walking to the pier, Alcatraz or union square, really cool area, the street parallel to that one is full of restaurants and places for a drink or a coffee, quiet and clean, free parking, is not posh, but is good value for what you pay, in the same street, if you walk towards the snaky bit of the street, you will find a laundry that they also rent bikes in a very affordable price, cheaper than the ones in the pier by far. Breakfast as always in
US, just normal, fruit, and bread, I highly recommend it as is quite safe quiet and convenient.

Room Tip: The smoking rooms are a bit smell, better to have a non smokers and smoke outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us at Surf motel. We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms, so we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. You are so right about having a perfect location as we are within walking distance of several of the great venues. You have outlined several that are close to us that our guests can enjoy.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area and thank you again for choosing Surf motel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here because the Capri was booked up. I just wanted a room to shower and sleep in the night before my flight home and the Surf gave me that. the two employees I dealt with, Joe and Suny, were excellent. Had trouble opening the door and getting the TV on but Suny came up quickly and got things straightened out. Total charge was $138.00 which is about as inexpensive as you'll find in SFO. There's no coffee maker, fridge or microwave but IHOP is next door. I wouldn't care to stay here for long but if all you want is a safe place to shower and sleep before heading out the next day I heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: 202 was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmprats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We have an awesome location and we have a high priority of providing a clean and comfortable room for our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and we invite you to come back and stay with us the next time you are in our area and want to enjoy the many venues around us without having to look for a parking space. It sure makes a huge difference when you can park at no additional charge at the motel you are staying at! We hope to see you real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Cheapest motel we could find with free parking but rooms are the smallest we have ever seen. There are plenty of good places to eat nearby and you can walk to the marina and fisherman's wharf pretty easily. There are busses nearby too that will take you straight into the downtown and china town.
No fridge or microwave in the rooms.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Musti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Surf motel. We do offer a great location and clean and comfortable rooms for our guests. As you were able to utilize we have so many wonderful venues within walking distance and public transportation too. We appreciate you choosing our motel and invite you to come back and stay with us the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I somehow have a little bit of mixed emotions when I stayed here. First was the check-in process, the front desk clerk didn't want to accommodate 5 of us and we were willing to pay extra. We ended up on a bigger room with a kitchenette. Getting all of our luggage to the 2nd floor was a little bit of a stress since the elevator they have was a little bit malfunctioning. Pressing the 2nd floor gets you to third floor which was ridiculous. So we needed someone to press the button at the 2nd floor just to get our bags there. Upon arriving inside the room, i wouldn't say that it was very clean. The edges of the floor was a bit dirty and dusty. It looks like they haven't serviced that room for a long time. A/C unit was broken so we called the front desk to have it fixed. We had a little bit if a misunderstanding. He thought that I didn't know how to operate the A/C so he told me he would go check. Unfortunately I was waiting all night and he didn't show up. Next morning I called again to check on the A/C unit and thank goodness, someone from engineering showed up and had it fixed.
We had no other problems except the A/C unit. Breakfast was good. The location is very nice. I find Lombard St. to be safe. Stayed here for 4 nights and the location was really safe. Also convenient if you don't have a car since there are bus stops nearby if you want to go to Golden Gate Bridge or to Fisherman's Wharf. There are also good restaurants nearby so food wasn't really a problem. WiFi is horrible. Seriously, it was quite a massive problem for us since we were tourists. Good thing ihop restaurant was just beside and we could connect our devices there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We always love to hear from our guests! You are so right when you talk about our location, as it is one of the best around since we are within walking distance of great venues that surround us. We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms so to hear that you had issues is a concern for us. Please know we take your comments very seriously and they will be sent to our general manager and our owner as well. I expect that these issues will be addressed immediately. We know you have lots of choices when looking for sleeping accommodations, so we thank you for choosing Surf motel. The next time you are in our area please give us another opportunity to provide a clean and comfortable room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Pleasantly surprised by the surf motel - the reviews make it sound like a dump but it's really quite comfortable and the parking and breakfast are a real bonus. Wifi was quite slow but wasn't a massive problem for us. We had a double room which was a comfortable size and the others we were visiting with got one of the suites which was a great size and looked in good condition. No mould or damp or anything and clean sheets all round! Only issue we had was a language barrier with one of the receptionists who tried to charge for an extra room which we didn't need but the manager sorted it out the next morning so no complaints there. We would definitely stay there again :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter away from the road. Don't be afraid to ask to move rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Surf motel. We love hearing glowing reports of how our property looks to our guests and we appreciate the fact you also included your opinion of what other guests had wrote about their stay!! We do always want to provide a clean and comfortable room for our guests and provide the parking as "icing on the cake". It is lovely to not have to look for a parking spot and we have such great venues all around us within walking distance. Again thank you for taking your time to let us know how your stay was and we sure look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Doing a 10 day road trip through California. Stayed here day 5, was the worst place we ever stayed throughout the whole trip. No TV remote, but staff brought a spare to the room, toilet is extremely loud flushing, shower is nice, location is okay, exterior of building very aged, no fridge or any kitchen accessories anywhere in the room, place has a convenient ice machine. Bed was good size and fairly comfortable. Room was a good size. I think it's the cheapest place to stay in SanFrancisco city. So it's okay if you are on a budget.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. Our location is amazing as we have lots of different venues within walking distance for our guests. Also we offer clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate and have the beach very close so our guests don't have to drive and look for a parking spot. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#157 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Marina District
Greenwich Inn
Greenwich Inn
#169 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Marina District
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#175 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#154 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#184 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#127 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Property: Surf Motel
Address: 2265 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2703
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing