We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for My Family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Park Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Park Motel
Ranked #112 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for My Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Ended up at this hotel on a family trip to SF because everything was booked due to a conference. So glad. Called and spoke to nice man who recommended a room that had two bedrooms. Very affordable for SF with free parking, TV, coffee, fridge, Wi-Fi. They even have a little play set for the kids in the yard area. It's steps to Ocean Beach, the SF Zoo, Java Beach Cafe for breakfast. While my sister and niece were with me we used our car, but when they left, I hopped on the L train which is right outside the motel. It was a pleasant 40 minute ride to get to Union Square.

If you love Art Deco, you'll love this place. It's amazingly well preserved as you can see in the pictures. It's great. I've even thought of going back. It was a nice quiet stay on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FiveAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    95
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
99
79
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a very interesting place that some people will love and some people will hate. It's a retro motel in a really funky part of San Francisco. It is 2 blocks from the Pacific and you feel like you are in another world. We only stayed for one night. I had wanted a room with one bed and when I called they only had a room with 2 beds, which was offered to us at a discount. When we arrived a smaller room, at a lower price, had opened up. The room was very small - just a bed, a dresser, a chair and a small bathroom. As a place to sleep one night it was fine. For a longer period of time, I would suggest a larger room. The decor was dated, but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The outside was very well kept up, with plenty of parking - and if you are without a car, there is the muni right outside the hotel (and yes, it is noisy!).

My advice is to read all the reviews and you will know if it's your kind of place or not!

Room Tip: If staying more than one night, I would ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paia, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We're a french family and stayed at the ocean park motel for 3 nights- It's a really nice and very clean place. Owners are very very sweet and very helpful, even the staff cleaning were fantastic h
We definitively recommand this perfect place where you can walk to the beach in 2 minutes and watch the surf-
Awesome! thanks Mark & Vickie!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mar407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Circa 1939 decor was unique and welcoming. Location to transportation was excellent. The room was a double queen and very clean. Kitchenette was small along with the shower/bathroom. The owners were very courteous and made sure your needs were met on all levels. Decor was original and suitable for the 1930s and 40s, however, if you are looking for a large room this will not be your choice. I enjoyed this unique motel along with its amenities and courteous staff. Great place to stay to enjoy the first motel in San Francisco. Check it out you will enjoy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank dmarruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Cozy and charming, with a quiet, special flower garden area. Delightful.
Recommended by friends that are locals, I would stay again at the Ocean Park Motel.
Chester, Jack, Mark & Vickie were the pleasant difference. And so close to the beach,
coffee shops and ol' John's Ocean Beach Diner! Chan in Sedona.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CHAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I remember the early years of motor hotels (AKA motels), and the Ocean Park Motel is a beautifully-maintained slice of history that is bound to bring nostalgic sighs from old folks like me. My husband and I spent four nights in an upstairs suite with 2 queen beds that was roomy enough to be an apartment. The small, incredibly cute kitchen is fully equipped with fridge, gas range, and microwave. Cooking utensils, dinnerware, drinking glasses, and flatware are provided (they even thought to include an oven mitt). There's a large dining room with a table that is also handy for setting up computer equipment. Lots of electrical outlets for charging things, and good free wi-fi. The outdoor hot tub was great. There's a Muni trolley that runs along the front of the motel until midnight, but the train noise didn't disturb my sleep, and the Muni was very handy for getting around town inexpensively. Someone has obviously put a lot of love into this place, bless their hearts. Next time I come to San Francisco, the Ocean Park Motel will be on my list.

Room Tip: If you are ultra-sensitive to nighttime noise, you might ask for a room that is distant from the Mun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I met a group of friends at the Ocean Park Motel and had a wonderful weekend in San Francisco. The motel is cozy and charming, well maintained and comfortable. It's also a visual delight and located only two blocks from the beach near the zoo and a short walk to Java Beach.

I highly recommend this vintage treat for anyone wanting comfort and cleanliness. Well run and maintained and absolutely adorable!

Room Tip: The commuter train runs by the front of the motel so if you need a quieter experience, you will want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank demenshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
Alpine Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Daly City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
El Camino Inn
#4 of 6 in Daly City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#154 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Mirage Inn & Suites
#151 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#159 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Motel

Property: Ocean Park Motel
Address: 2690 46th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116-2699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco's first motel is an award-winning Art Deco gem where guests enjoy our secluded gardens after a whirl of downtown attractions. Family friendly rates in a variety of rooms, some with full kitchens. Dogs are welcome and enjoy Ocean Beach and nearby Fort Funston. Entirely non-smoking, with free parking, local calls, and internet. Twenty minutes' drive to airport or downtown, with downtown streetcar at door. Near UCSF, SFSU, Golden Gate Park; opposite beach/zoo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Francisco
Ocean Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing