We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I treated ourselves to a weekend in San Francisco. This B&B was recommended by a friend who lives in the city. Top rate place. Could have been 4 stars. We stayed in room 18 on second floor. King size bed. Window was a light well - very, very quiet plus private but we still had light from outside. Recently remodeled. Nice dinner at a neighborhood Italian place called Osteria. You must also try B Patisserie - a French bakery that has the most authentic French pastries in the city. Good coffee and even sandwiches if you want to lunch close by. About 5 blks and an easy walk. We did not have a car and used taxis, our feet and the muni buses to get around. Safe neighborhood.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Fairoakien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

As a repeat visitor to SF, I was looking for a place that was comfortable, within walking distance of places I need to be close to, and warm. This is it. Jack, the host, is so gracious. The rooms and common areas are tidy and comfortable. In a city that is always bustling, it is a quiet haven to return to. The rooms are quiet - mine faced Presidio and I wasn't bothered at all by traffic. The sweet surprise? the bathroom! Great shower and other amenities. :) Food and coffee are great and the staff is so accommodating. I will return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seekingsun45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to play "tourists" in the city where he lives. So we spent the night at this sweet little place. It had beautiful decor, the bed was very comfortable, and the lady who served us breakfast was adorable! She really went out of her way to make sure we had everything we could have wanted to eat and drink that morning. The only thing was that the window of our room (10) gave quite the view to cars passing by, so be careful as you're walking by, or you might give someone a show. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smcrawford38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here in May of 2013 on the advice of a relative. What a charming, wonderful, inviting bed and breakfast. I can't remember which was better, the bed or the breakfast. I stayed in the Tiny Room and really slept well. The common rooms were so inviting that I spent a lot of time in them reading, watching TV and enjoying the coffee and treats. The breakfast was amazing, cooked to order with absolutely the best crispy bacon I have ever eaten. When I arrived, I had not had lunch and they graciously provided a small meal that only whitted my appetite for more. I bought a Muni transit pass since there are multiple bus lines right in front or only a short walk from the hotel. I am so happy that I stayed here and will return again.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on their website and read the descriptions. First floor rooms have more light on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinkerFan90254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was my 3rd visit to San Fran. and this place made it the best! I had 2 not very p;easeant stays at other places--Nob Hill Inn and Laurel Inn --STAY AWAY from both!!! Stay at the Monte Cristo! So clean-extra quiet-not tacky imitation antiques like so many other BandB's-great breakfast -and the bus #43 at your door. Very safe and secure building that was the best bandb I ever stayed at and I have had many dissapointments up and down the East coast where I live. The price is the same as the dumps--so please -try it! I used a BedandBreakfast gift card -that is not honored at too many places in San Fran- but it is here! I wish I had found this place 3 yrs ago on my 1st trip because I think my son is moving to Portland for work-so I might not be visiting SF again.

Room Tip: I stayed in rm 16 on the 2nd flr facing the back. There are steps that are maybe not good for the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Very homey feeling in a turn of the century environment, at the best area of San Fransisco. Friendly service and wonderful, luscious homemade breakfast with fresh fruit, baked goods and great coffee! Rooms are cozy, clean and romantic. Recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed at the Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast on a recent trip to San Francisco with my girlfriend. We stayed in the Suite (Room 1). It was an amazing stay. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the antique decorations were delightful, and as silly as it sounds I now feel cheated whenever I use a toilet that doesn't have a bidet seat like our room. The breakfasts in the morning were great as well, they were the perfect start to our day. I should also mention that the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. We arrived in a rental car and parking on the street was pretty easy and straight forward. Also I can't stress enough how comfortable the bed was. San Francisco was amazing, and the trip culminated with my girlfriend becoming my fiance'. She also loved the room and if (when) we come back to San Francisco we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
71 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Kimpton Buchanan
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast

Address: 600 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115-2425
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £189 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If the walls of the Monte Cristo could talk, what stories they could tell, for this remarkable building has been a part of San Francisco since 1875. When the great fire swept the city after the 1906 earthquake, homes were put to the torch on Van Ness Avenue to create a firebreak, and the 'Saloon' not only survived, it served as a refuge for the newly post-quake homeless. This European-style B&B is convenient to the entire city and is at the junction of three great neighborhoods, Presidio Heights, Pacific Heights, and Laurel Heights. It is in one of the cleanest neighborhoods in San Francisco with abundant street parking. It is only two blocks to the elegantly restored Victorian shops, Zagat-rated restaurants and antique stores on Sacramento Street. It's within walking distance to shopping on Union Street and Fillmore Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Cristo Hotel San Francisco
Monte Cristo b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing