We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but a goodie!”
Review of Aida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aida Hotel
Ranked #204 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have to say that this wouldn't have been the area I would've selected to stay in a hotel, but I get what I got. Aida is old & has that old smell to it, but it was built in 1912. They cannot change to make the hotel look like new because it is a Historical Landmark. Very ornate in spots. The feeling is that you are in that old era(music in elevator). With the exception of all of the homeless around that area, who don't seem to bother people other than other homeless people, it was a nice stay. The first night I wasn't so sure, but no ghost, no bumps in the nights, no sounds. Very serene. The management very attentive & desire to make a secure hotel for their customers, & there were plenty customers. We were fortunate enough to have a room with a private bath, so we were lucky, but we have been to Europe & the idea of shared baths in the hallway aren't really that bad either; just not as convenient. If you don't mind the rif-raf stay. It is very convenient to BART, trolley's, electric buses, stores/pharmacy, variety of fast food restaurants, etc. Try it for the experience. You'll like the nostalgia.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peanutspread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Aida Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Reasonable price (by San Francisco standard) but the hotel does not have parking. I ended up leaving my car in a parking structure that cost $46 per night (several choices nearby, average $35-$55 per 24 hour). Coffee and tea available all day long. Drug stores and fast food restaurants all around. Unfortunately, many many homeless people loitering day and night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank epox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The good news: a block from the BART Central Plaza station, 20 minute walk to Moscone. The average news: the beds are not bad, there's good pressured hot water and they have towels. The bad news is there is no AC or fan (to drown out the Market Street sounds), no desk, table or counter (where do you put you bag, toiletries or work on your laptop?), they have bedspreads (who has bedspreads?), they want you to turn in your room key (it is a key with a room number tag) anytime you leave the premises. This area of San Francisco is a dive. The street people are everywhere, most border on insane. I really do not see any charm to the city. For each good thing, I can find 10 negatives. This hotel is good for very short stays. Don't leave any valuables in your room.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, request a room away from Market Street.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hayes_jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location is great, the price is lower than on average for San-Francisco. On the other hand the rooms are not very clean and there is a strong smell of dust. Plus one can here everything what happens in the neighboring room ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank alexkartavtsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

But everything else is not I'm afraid. The room is small, the shared bathroom is also small. The area of the hotel might not be safe late at night but the tramp stops right in front of the hotel which is extremely convenient.

Room Tip: Don't go here unless you have no choice
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AisyaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Looking for a hotel in the area we wished to stay proved to be hard to come by and also very expensive. For the price we paid, we felt this hotel provided value for cost. Upon reading other negative reviews we feel we must add our positive opinion.
There are a few things paid accommodation must supply:
A descent bed, hot water, security, reasonable level of cleanliness and no bedbugs. Aida provides all that, with friendly service and clean towels daily. It is a quiet place and is in an excellent location for sightseeing and both the BART and SamTrans. The hotel smells pleasant, and security was not an issue, though there are a lot of street people in general in the city. This is an old hotel, it's not been redone, nor does it really need to be as everything works, and it's awfully nice for those of us who would like to holiday in San Francisco who are on a budget. It's got a bit of hostel feel, and it's worn in. You don't feel like royalty here, but then again, you probably aren't if you're reading this review in the first place ;) If you are the princess and the pea or feel entitled, this probably isn't the place for you. However if you are on a budget, and just need the basic comforts this hotel is great. I appreciated the fact the window opens, too!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with an adjoining bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elfi Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After reading some of the online reviews of this place, I wasn't sure what to expect. However, I was pleasantly surprised when I stayed here recently. Yes, it is an older property, and yes, it is on Market Street in the less desirable Tenderloin area of San Francisco, but the hotel is extremely clean, and the staff is very nice. The room was adequate (I had a queen bed room with private bath). I did pass by the shared bathrooms/showers on my floor and they always seemed clean and well taken care of. The wifi worked well throughout, even in my room. There is only one elevator, and it can get crowded at times, with long waits during check in/check out times of the day.
Even though the location can be sketchy due to the homeless people who frequent the area, the hotel is close by and within walking distance to many of the city's attractions. I never felt unsafe coming or going no matter what time of day or night. There is a CVS pharmacy very close by that sells anything and everything you may need, and there are multiple restaurants in the area to choose from. Both the MUNI and BART stops are right outside the door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor in the back of the building for a quieter stay.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davec936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#121 of 230 in San Francisco
401 reviews
Layne Hotel
#203 of 230 in San Francisco
257 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#193 of 230 in San Francisco
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#189 of 230 in San Francisco
152 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#185 of 230 in San Francisco
625 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aida Hotel

Address: 1087 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1605
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £52 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aida Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aida Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing