We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Francisco City Center Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We are in a private room. It was so clean, no noise, great breakfast! The place was friendly and the people at the hostel was very helpful to find restaurant or activity. It is near to the cable car line and à lot of bus lines. We appreciate a lot to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Maude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, General Manager at San Francisco City Center Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us Maude, and for providing us with your feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We do our very best to ensure a safe, clean, and fun place for our many and wonderful guests, so it makes us very happy when you enjoy yourselves here!
Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This hostel was our first and we were pleasantly surprised at the good levels of cleanliness in the communal areas and in the dorms.

The kitchen was the largest out of all of the hostels we have stayed in and there's was plenty of room for everybody. It was great that you could get a breakfast of either pancakes or omelettes for $1

The only downside is that the hostel is not very sociable, there doesn't seem to be very many appealing activities to do
E.g some hostels do pub crawls, trips out etc. Despite that the tea tasting was great and the guy running it was very interesting and knowledgeable.

My top tip for anybody staying in this hostel is to make sure you are prepared to get taxi back to the hostel when you are our for the evening especially if you are a vulnerable person as the mentally ill/ homeless people in the tenderloin area can be quite frightening. However a taxi never cost us more than $6 so that was good.

All in all i would recommend this hostel to anybody looking to see all the sights in San Francisco, it's an ideal location being only a few block from union square.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Elizayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a group of 31. 23 adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities and 8 staff. We had rooms of 4 or 5 to a room which worked out great for us. We were split between the 2nd and 3rd floors. The rooms were nice. There is limited space for eating and meeting for a group our size. We usually met in the mezzanine and others didn't seem to mind that we pretty much took up one entire half and sometimes had to spread to the other half as well. We were usually up and out by 8:00 AM and didn't return until 7:00-8:00 PM. The bagels and toast were nice in the morning before leaving. We took advantage of egg/pancake breakfast for $1 each one morning when we slept in a bit and it was well worth it. It was very good! If you need a place to eat for your large group, Tommy's Joynt is within walking distance of the hostel and was GREAT! The people there were so accommodating and the food was really good. Nice space upstairs for a group to sit together. For a place for a large group to stay at a reasonable price in San Francisco, this place worked well for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmacktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our first stay in a hostel, and what an excellent experience we had.

Firstly the staff there are great, really helpful to the point of even managing to get our recently purchased computer to work when our Tablet had broken on our first night of our stay.

The breakfast that was included in the cost consisted of a choice of bagels, cream cheese, porridge, tea and coffee or you could pay $2 for eggs or pancakes. The communal kitchen was always clean and tidy and had more than adequate equipment and storage facilities for you to self cater which we did on a couple of evenings.

At the time we stayed they had movie nights which included complimentary popcorn which was a nice touch. The bar is open in the evenings with a Happy Hour which has a great ambience and great to fellow travellers.

Our room which was a double ensuite was on the second floor, it was serviced every day with new towels if we had requested them.

The location is a little scary at first as there are alot of homeless in the area however no one approached or hassled us. I would suggest getting a taxi if you were going into the town centre in the evening though, we only walked a few streets in the dark.

There is a lovely deli and winebar nearby, and the walk to Union Square took around 20 mins.

We used the local transport which was easy for getting around.

We would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, not sure about staying on the ground floor maybe noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOWEREXPLORERS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hostel is great, the rooms are big and the bathroom is really clean. The breakfast is one of the best I had in a Hostel. The prices are really great. They also have city tour walks with guides from the hostel which we loved, the guys from the staff are really nice and helpful. Nothing bad to say about this place.

Room Tip: just take care when you go out because the location can be a little dangerous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caavazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked a deluxe double room with a private bathroom, to myself, as a cheaper alternative to staying in a hotel. The room was excellent - just like a hotel, if not better! It was very clean and comfortable, and nicely decorated. The communal areas had good facilities, were fun, generally good atmosphere. The staff were extremely helpful, I loved all their recommendations, and their advice was spot on. Thanks guys! I was only there for a limited time, but there seemed to be lots going on in the hostel and lots of fun activities on offer. As a solo female traveller, I found the area a little 'iffy'. When you arrive the staff mark on a map the area around the hostel you should avoid walking through, which is helpful of them, but is unnerving. And I can believe it, because there was a fair bit of yelling going on outside, at all hours, and some unsavoury characters lurking along the street. I live in a city centre myself, so I am confident enough to handle this kind of thing, and nothing bad happened to me at all. Plus the desk is manned 24 hours, so once you're inside the hostel it feels safe. I'd probably stay here again. But if you're more nervous / cautious, then maybe this won't be ideal for you. The other San Francisco Hostelling International hostel (Downtown) is nearby, but in a safer, nicer area, and more conveniently located for the city's attractions etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, General Manager at San Francisco City Center Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Emily,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave this great review! You're right that our neighborhood is rather 'spirited,' and can be a little unnerving on your first encounter. We love that you felt so safe staying with us. The comfort and security of our guests is absolutely our top priority, so it makes me very happy to know that you felt taken care of! We also appreciate your intrepid traveler spirit, and that you were willing to try our hostel and explore a neighborhood that has an edge, but also a lot of soul, and some really cool, truly San Francisco, stuff going on.
Come back and see us again soon, and happy travels!
M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Location 2,5/5
Cleanliness 4/5
Staff friendliness 3/5
Bathroom 3/5

We stayed in a double bed ensuite for several nights.

- The neighbourhood is bad (wouldn't like to be there alone at night time). badly situated on Ellis street, only leave and enter the area via Larkins street!
- felt safe because you have to show your "hostel pass" on _each_ entry. (Did I say the neighborhood is bad?)
- Room: ok, but had not enough stowage (especially when you stay there more than one night).
- Bathroom was partly clean & very small. I think no one ever cleaned the sink drain. water pressure bad. water temperature unsteady (cold to hot in a sec)
- Room was cleaned every day but the housekeeping staff sometimes didn't knock or asked if they can come in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gil_D1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,377 reviews
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 53 in San Francisco
429 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 53 in San Francisco
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco City Center Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco City Center Hostel

Address: 685 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: £33 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Francisco City Center Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience budget travel at its best: Both private and shared rooms available (only 4-5 beds per dorm), all rooms with private bathroom, restaurant-quality guest kitchen, cafe serving free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet lounge, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, keycard security, plush common areas, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. Recently renovated 1920s hotel near San Francisco's best affordable restaurants, diverse nightlife, and world-class Civic Center arts district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco City Center Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Francisco City Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing