We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and very clean”
Review of The Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Metro Hotel
Ranked #20 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here for one night last month. The room was small, no-frills, but very clean. There was a small TV with cable, the towels were organic cotton, and we could tell they were eco-conscious. The best part about the hotel was their back patio- a beautiful place to rest and hang out, although we weren't able to use it since our day was packed with other activities. There was some noise above us in the late night and early evening coming from travelers lugging their stuff up the stairs (no elevator), but nothing my ear plugs couldn't fix. Also, bring your own shampoo, etc. as the kind they have is in one of those dispensers attached to the shower wall. They did provide hand soap and cups though. There is also a small continental breakfast and they had tangerines all the time in the lobby. Overall a great experience, great price, great location, and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was changed upon arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minniemoo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2011

Great place, great location, very friendly and helpful staff. It can get a bit noisy in my room as the wall shared that of the restaurant next door, but not enough for me to be bothersome, but it may to others.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bav20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We've stayed at the Metro three times now. Our son and family live a couple of blocks away so it's a very convenient place when we visit. We LOVE it and the neighbourhood! My brother stayed there last December on my recommendation and was on a first-name basis with the staff by the time he left. He also loved it. We feel right at home each time we visit. The front desk staff is exceptional as were the cleaning staff. Leave a nice tip!

We arrived early, as another writer also did, and had the same service of bags being delivered to the room. If you're looking to be pampered, perhaps this is not the place for you. But - if you want a clean room in a convenient location with a very comfortable bed, a bathroom with shower, lots of plastic hangers in the closet, a TV, a good sized highboy and storage room in both bed-side tables PLUS want a very reasonable rate, this is for you. Another writer mentioned the new restaurant right next door. It's excellent. Try to get there before 7 PM. We've discovered a number of great little coffee shops in the area where you can get an inexpensive breakfast or morning coffee. Our son loves The Grind on Haight. A new one to us is the Oasis about 4 blocks north on Divisidero - easy walking distance. A most delightful young woman welcomed us on our first visit and remembered us on our second. It doesn't take much to ensure customer satisfaction. The coffee was fabulous and the omelettes were superb. The front desk staff also booked our shuttle to the airport at a reduced rate plus they'll print your boarding pass for you.

Oh, and don't forget the lovely patio behind the hotel.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are inside or facing the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LennyVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The Metro is inexpensive (we paid $125), clean, convenient to points west in San Francisco, and has a courteous, friendly staff. However, amenities you might take for granted aren't available here, such as: an elevator, little bottles of shampoo and bars of soap, a bedside table, a chair for reading after dark and, especially, a parking arrangement. You find your own parking spot on neighborhood streets -- that was easy one night we were there, annoyingly tiresome on the other. If you're prepared for those handicaps, it's a good cheap choice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim53217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Pro's:
Excellent value. This hotel is a great choice for the traveller on a budget.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Good location close to Haight/Ashbury and public transportation.
Older building has a lot of character.
Free on-street parking.

Cons:
Small rooms.
Bed was not very comfortable.
Older building lacks all but the most basic amenities.
Parking is difficult to find at certain times of the day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We once lived in the neighborhood of the Metro Hotel, and decided to stay there when we went back for a short visit. It's a real bargain and we would stay here again. The rooms are very small (as in many European hotels), and there is no elevator (ditto), but the bathroom is large enough with a good shower and tiled floor, the staff is extremely helpful (they will print our your boarding pass) and there is free wi-fi. But you need to ask for a hair dryer. Great neighborhood with ease of access to transportation, though not next to a BART stop. Our room was in the back and very quiet. And VERY inexpensive (our room was $76 a night). The next door restaurant - Raguzza - makes wondrous pizzas.

Room Tip: The website describes every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkKathyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This place was a gem. I had to find a place fast and they had availability in the right location. I was impressed with how friendly and helpful the staff were. We arrived before check-in time and the front staff person offered to help us carry the luggage up to the second floor (no elevator) when we came back. When we came back, she had put all of our luggage in our room for us. That was amazing.

Then that evening we needed a suggestion for a vegan restaurant and a nearby grocery store. She suggested The Herbivore, only 2 blocks away, for the restaurant. The foold was delectable, nicely priced and the waiter was wonderful. The grocery store, Filettis, was a nice, little gourmet style grocery store - only two blocks away as well.

The room itself was quiet, even though facing the street. It was small, but the linens were really comfortable. Everything was clean. The carpeting is on the worn side, but everything was amazing given the price.

There is no a/c so not sure how it will be in the summer. There are fans in the rooms and high ceilings. And when I asked the front desk about this, she said that they have extra fans on request.

I didn't have a fan so I asked for one and they we happy to lend me one.

They have a deal with an airport van shuttle so it only cost $10 per person - cheaper than other shuttles which are at about $15 per person at a minimum.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WIHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,577 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#29 of 231 in San Francisco
424 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro Hotel

Address: 319 Divisadero St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £88 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming family-run boutique hotel that embodies the spirit of San Francisco focusing on human kindness, connection & simple pleasures. Our hotel is geographically in the center of San Francisco, historically known as the Western Addition the neighborhood is now referred to as Nopa (North of the Panhandle) which is near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. We boast 24-comfortable, clean, petite rooms ranging from a full bed, queen bed to rooms with multiple beds, private updated bathrooms and triple pane windows. The Metro Hotel has been featured in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. Come visit us in the world’s most diverse & vibrant city and explore our amazing cultural tapestry. Most importantly our warm, welcoming & considerate staff will make a lasting impression ensuring that your visit to The Metro will become your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing