We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Metro Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Diva(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Orchard Hotel(San Francisco)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$553
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$466
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$488
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
265
210
39
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
210
39
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaight ashburygolden gate parkno elevatordivisadero streetalamo squarebuena vista parkpainted ladiesgreat neighborhoodhayes valleyceiling fanrooms are smallpublic transportrestaurants and barssafe neighborhoodpriced hotelqueen bedbus lines
Filter
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This hotel was a little further away from the sightseeing I was doing then I would have liked to be but the room was clean and update and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Do be aware that you must use stairs to get to your room. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: I booked a room at the back of the builing facing the garden. I believe it was room 209. It was quiet and I had no problems sleeping as a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnMarieB2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at the Metro Hotel as part of a walking vacation of the San Francisco area. The location is outstanding, the staff was very helpful, and the room was clean and up to date. Our complaints would be no temperture control, the pull out bed had a hard wire running down the middle of it, and the only channel our tv received was Fox News. Which we all found a ironic.

The helpful staff and the central location outweighed these minor issues and we would stay here again in an instant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Replevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in July at the Metro Hotel for a cousin's wedding. We had two requirements: inexpensive play to stay and easy access to San Francisco. We found both of those items were covered by the Metro Hotel.

The front desk staff was super friendly. We got great recommendations on some good vintage shopping in the Mission.

The rooms are absolutely NO FRILLS. Bring your own toiletries as the ones the hotel provides are minimal. We stayed in room 112, which was literally a room with a bed. The bathroom and closet were decent sized, but the room itself was pretty tiny. No worries, the hotel website kept us in the loop about the size of the room so we weren't shocked when we checked in. The bed wasn't super comfortable, but it did the trick.

Our favorite part about the hotel was the adorable court yard. After a day of trekking around the city my boyfriend and I enjoyed spending some time in the courtyard with a glass of wine (that we brought ourselves) and some sunshine.

I would stay at the Metro again in a heart beat! I would be concerned about staying there during the winter months only because I couldn't locate a heater in the room, but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our say.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zanika2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Metro Hotel is the perfect place to stay if you're looking for something clean, cozy, affordable, friendly, and simple. The staff makes you feel right at home and are full of helpful advise. The Metro is located near many of the cities most historic and culturally diverse neighborhoods. Within a matter of blocks you will find The Castro and Haight Ashbury, a little further and you're in the mission rich with some of the cities best nightclubs and restaurants. The hotel itself is located on Divisadero street in an area known as Nopa (North Of PAnhandle). In the same building you will find Ragazza, one of the areas best Italian restaurants. Divisadero and the surrounding area have recently become a popular location for locals and tourists a like with many locally owned restaurants and shops opening in the last few years.

A few things to note about The Metro Hotel:

Parking in the neighborhood can be a real headache. Keep in mind that this is an inner-city hotel in an area densely populated by residents and other businesses. There are no parking lots except the DMV parking located 2 blocks away. Parking at the DMV lot is $7.50/night for hotel guests however Monday through Friday your car must be moved from the lot by 7AM (Mostly a good option for weekends only). The front desk staff does not recommend bringing a car unless it is absolutely necessary.

The area around the hotel has become a popular destination and it is not so easy to reserve a room last minute or even a few weeks in advance. Keep in mind that the Metro only has 24 rooms and fills up pretty much every night. If you would like to stay try to book as far in advance as possible. If your dates are not available ask to be put on the waitlist.

Shampoo? Soap? Conditioner? Sometimes the staff forgets to mention that in the shower dispenser you will find a three-in-one shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. If you do not like this option they are happy to provide you with other shampoos and soaps which are kept behind the front desk. Also, available upon request are hair dryers, irons, space heaters, ice, bottle openers, and possibly even a roll-away cot.

Rooms 101, 102, 103, and 110 are rooms which overlook Divisadero street which frequently gets car traffic. While many people enjoy these rooms and are not bothered by the noise, guests which are more sensitive or light sleepers should try to avoid these. Also, room 108 is located above Ragazza's kitchen and can be noisy at night when the restaurant is closing and emptying their trash. The room is quiet starting at about 11:30 on.

The hotel is three floors. The ground floor being the lobby and front desk and the two floors above for all of the rooms. This means almost all of the rooms are located up at least one flight of stairs and there is NO ELEVATOR. The only room located on ground-level is room 1010 which is a studio apartment converted to a hotel room located outside of the main building and around the corner. Room 1010 is the only room at the hotel with a kitchenette.

The hotel has a garden in the back which it shares with Ragazza. Guests are allowed access to the garden between the hours of 7AM and 10PM.

Most of the rooms are equipped with iHome stereo/alarm clock/ipod chargers.

The front desk sells custom Metro Hotel postcards for $1 a piece that are very awesome and were designed by Matt who works at the front desk. There are three different designs, collect them all!

The front desk staff will arrange a shuttle to the airport for you for only $10/per person.

Room Tip: All of the rooms on the second floor are the quietest. I like room 209. On the first floor room 114 is nice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank swirvington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I booked my room at the Metro Hotel online. It was easy and the website is user-friendly. The staff here is nice and very helpful. The rooms are small, clean, really comfortable beds, nice TV, standing shower, no tub, great location. My only real complaint is that you can't control the temperature in the rooms. San Francisco is a cold/windy city, and after being out in it all day sight-seeing it was uncomfortable to come back to a cold room. We asked the front desk if there was any way to turn the heat up and the answer was no. A friendly staff person gave us a space heater. It only worked for about 5 minutes then shut off & wouldn't turn back on. Overall, a great room for the value.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CandyHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews