We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Metro Hotel
Ranked #33 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Seriously good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I booked here based solely on the positive tripadvisor reviews and even then I was prepared for anything. The location is central and in easy walking distance to some great restaurants and public transport. This is not the Hyatt but the bed was just as good for a much better price. My room had a TV, and basic ensuite, air con, hair dryer and a place to hang my clothes. It's a very simple setup but completely clean and fine. As other reviews have said, the reception staff, are just lovely and their helpfulness and personal interest in their customers well being is the added value here. I would not hesitate to stay here again and most definitely will as it is just a short walk to Nopa, Nopalito, The Pork Store and the restaurant next door, which I left till the last day to visit, is fantastic. There is a bustop a block away which is a direct link to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AUStoWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    190
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
78
201
63
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
158 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The newly renovated Metro Hotel on the corner of Oak and Divisadero Street is one of our favorite places to stay when we are in San Francisco. We stay at The Metro two or three times a year, and we have never been disappointed with the friendly staff and the cleanliness of our room. The rooms are small and other than a flat screen tv, and free Internet, there are no other amenities. However, the staff will be happy to refrigerate something for you in their office.
The price is right if you are looking for an inexpensive way to see San Francisco, and public transportation is just outside the door to Haight Street and beyond, and across the street to go downtown. The hotel does not have an elevator which could be a reason for some people not to stay here.
Oh, and try the Italian restaurant next door... Incredibly good (and hard to get a table later in the evening). And the new coffee shop right on the corner is a convenient, tasty place to stop for breakfast!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter. Make your reservations early because they fill up very quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredandtraveling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at the Metro and talked with them before booking the trip. They suggested not renting a car due to limited parking and their easy access to public transportation as well as restuarants and shopping - this saved us alot of money. We walked a good deal and took an easy ride down to Pier 39 and all of the tourist attractions. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and didn't steer us wrong on places to dine. We spent very little time in our room so it didn't matter that it didn't have all of the amenities you might find at a larger chain. It was clean, in good repair and you can't beat the price when you have access to just about everything you need. I'd highly recommend this and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Suite 115 has windows facing the garden which is used by the restaurant at night. If you go to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickie8689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

This hotel was a little further away from the sightseeing I was doing then I would have liked to be but the room was clean and update and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Do be aware that you must use stairs to get to your room. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: I booked a room at the back of the builing facing the garden. I believe it was room 209. It was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnMarieB2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at the Metro Hotel as part of a walking vacation of the San Francisco area. The location is outstanding, the staff was very helpful, and the room was clean and up to date. Our complaints would be no temperture control, the pull out bed had a hard wire running down the middle of it, and the only channel our tv received was Fox News. Which we all found a ironic.

The helpful staff and the central location outweighed these minor issues and we would stay here again in an instant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Replevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in July at the Metro Hotel for a cousin's wedding. We had two requirements: inexpensive play to stay and easy access to San Francisco. We found both of those items were covered by the Metro Hotel.

The front desk staff was super friendly. We got great recommendations on some good vintage shopping in the Mission.

The rooms are absolutely NO FRILLS. Bring your own toiletries as the ones the hotel provides are minimal. We stayed in room 112, which was literally a room with a bed. The bathroom and closet were decent sized, but the room itself was pretty tiny. No worries, the hotel website kept us in the loop about the size of the room so we weren't shocked when we checked in. The bed wasn't super comfortable, but it did the trick.

Our favorite part about the hotel was the adorable court yard. After a day of trekking around the city my boyfriend and I enjoyed spending some time in the courtyard with a glass of wine (that we brought ourselves) and some sunshine.

I would stay at the Metro again in a heart beat! I would be concerned about staying there during the winter months only because I couldn't locate a heater in the room, but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our say.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanika2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trapper Creek, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Metro Hotel is the perfect place to stay if you're looking for something clean, cozy, affordable, friendly, and simple. The staff makes you feel right at home and are full of helpful advise. The Metro is located near many of the cities most historic and culturally diverse neighborhoods. Within a matter of blocks you will find The Castro and Haight Ashbury, a little further and you're in the mission rich with some of the cities best nightclubs and restaurants. The hotel itself is located on Divisadero street in an area known as Nopa (North Of PAnhandle). In the same building you will find Ragazza, one of the areas best Italian restaurants. Divisadero and the surrounding area have recently become a popular location for locals and tourists a like with many locally owned restaurants and shops opening in the last few years.

A few things to note about The Metro Hotel:

Parking in the neighborhood can be a real headache. Keep in mind that this is an inner-city hotel in an area densely populated by residents and other businesses. There are no parking lots except the DMV parking located 2 blocks away. Parking at the DMV lot is $7.50/night for hotel guests however Monday through Friday your car must be moved from the lot by 7AM (Mostly a good option for weekends only). The front desk staff does not recommend bringing a car unless it is absolutely necessary.

The area around the hotel has become a popular destination and it is not so easy to reserve a room last minute or even a few weeks in advance. Keep in mind that the Metro only has 24 rooms and fills up pretty much every night. If you would like to stay try to book as far in advance as possible. If your dates are not available ask to be put on the waitlist.

Shampoo? Soap? Conditioner? Sometimes the staff forgets to mention that in the shower dispenser you will find a three-in-one shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. If you do not like this option they are happy to provide you with other shampoos and soaps which are kept behind the front desk. Also, available upon request are hair dryers, irons, space heaters, ice, bottle openers, and possibly even a roll-away cot.

Rooms 101, 102, 103, and 110 are rooms which overlook Divisadero street which frequently gets car traffic. While many people enjoy these rooms and are not bothered by the noise, guests which are more sensitive or light sleepers should try to avoid these. Also, room 108 is located above Ragazza's kitchen and can be noisy at night when the restaurant is closing and emptying their trash. The room is quiet starting at about 11:30 on.

The hotel is three floors. The ground floor being the lobby and front desk and the two floors above for all of the rooms. This means almost all of the rooms are located up at least one flight of stairs and there is NO ELEVATOR. The only room located on ground-level is room 1010 which is a studio apartment converted to a hotel room located outside of the main building and around the corner. Room 1010 is the only room at the hotel with a kitchenette.

The hotel has a garden in the back which it shares with Ragazza. Guests are allowed access to the garden between the hours of 7AM and 10PM.

Most of the rooms are equipped with iHome stereo/alarm clock/ipod chargers.

The front desk sells custom Metro Hotel postcards for $1 a piece that are very awesome and were designed by Matt who works at the front desk. There are three different designs, collect them all!

The front desk staff will arrange a shuttle to the airport for you for only $10/per person.

Room Tip: All of the rooms on the second floor are the quietest. I like room 209. On the first floor room 114...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank swirvington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#153 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#118 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Kimpton Buchanan
#41 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro Hotel

Property: The Metro Hotel
Address: 319 Divisadero St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming family-run boutique hotel that embodies the spirit of San Francisco focusing on human kindness, connection & simple pleasures. Our hotel is geographically in the center of San Francisco, historically known as the Western Addition the neighborhood is now referred to as Nopa (North of the Panhandle) which is near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. We boast 24-comfortable, clean, petite rooms ranging from a full bed, queen bed to rooms with multiple beds, private updated bathrooms and triple pane windows. The Metro Hotel has been featured in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. Come visit us in the world’s most diverse & vibrant city and explore our amazing cultural tapestry. Most importantly our warm, welcoming & considerate staff will make a lasting impression ensuring that your visit to The Metro will become your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing