We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best for SF”
Review of The Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Metro Hotel
Ranked #18 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days during Xmas holidays. First things first, 87 dollars for a room in SF! Excellent! And not just any room, very clean rooms! Not huge rooms but you wont spend much time in the rooms in SF anyway. We had one room in the 1st floor and then another in the second floor. Second floor rooms are more quiet. Walls are thin - but no noise during sleep time. There was a distant engine sound in the downstairs room facing the garden ( lovely garden that you can relax in), not that much disturbing though.
Neighbourhood is safe. Walk right after exiting the hotel and catch either bus 71 or 6 for union square and then F street car for Fishermens wharf. Bus stop is very close- 5 min walk. Turn left after exit and there is acafe for breakfast ( Vinyl cafe). Alamo square is within walking distance ( 10 min). Personnel is very nice and helpful. You can also get transp to airport for 10 dollar per person. Arriving by shuttle from airport is 17 dollars per person. Overall, very good value for money, close to major attractions by public transport. I would stay here again and again ( and again, since my wife and I really like SF).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OzgurRosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

My friend and I heard about the Metro Hotel and they exceeded our expectations. From check-in the check-out they were helpful, friendly and made our vacation great! Location was fantastic if your looking to use public transportation like a local! Great shops, diners and window shopping on Divisidero street.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MissGreen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The Metro was located in what seemed to be a decent place. My friend and I arrived and the woman at the front desk, Shenae (?) was very friendly and knew what she was talking about. The bed was comfortable but the room itself could have used a little more fengshui, more colors. It was nice and very affordable for San Francisco.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Good location, staff were really friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. If you need to know anything about the area just ask, they were great with directions and things to do, calling cabs ect. Rooms were really clean and tidy, small but who cares really! Best bed ever! We had a room facing the little back garden which was nice and quiet. The lobby is really cool, there's no elevator so if you're on a hospital visit or need help up stairs keep that in mind. Great little hotel, nice location, clean and friendly. Great stay, thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J_Rostagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Terrific little hotel in cool neighborhood. A great value for the price. And I thought it was kinda cool that the windows in my room actually open... (Not that I wanted them open since it was cold and rainy outside, but still.....:)

Also, check out the cool little pizza spot downstairs...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

The rooms are probably way too small, and though it suited me fine, my mum wasn't quite used to the lack of walking space. The bed was springy, probably too springy, as you can feel the other person's every movement. For a double bed, it was also probably too small, though it fit us two Asian females just fine.

Having said that, I think this place is still good value for money and I'd recommend it to anyone who's on a tight budget and just want a comfy place to come back to and sleep in.

We arrived way before the check-in time on the first day when the room wasn't quite ready yet, but Shana gladly took our suitcases in and then brought out a map to quickly explain to us how the buses and routes to the attractions worked. Following her instructions, we made our way to Fisherman's Wharf in under an hour from there.

Like what the others have said, this place is rather accessible to all other places via the buses. Bus 71 and 6 practically takes you everywhere you want to go, via a few transfers.

To get to the hotel on the first day, we took the shared ride van from the airport (thanks to the tip from another reviewer) which cost $17 per pax. On the last day, Shana helped us book an airport shuttle which only cost $10 per pax.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chunlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hotel was conveniently located for us. It is a small hotel, but that gives it a very personal touch. The staff at the hotel are wonderful--so friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but very clean.
The only concern I had about the hotel was that it was a bit noisy. It would benefit by replacing the hollow-core doors to the rooms with solid-wood doors. That might help with the noise issue. A sound machine might take care of this problem as well. I would also request a room to the back of the building, off Divisadero St.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was an excellent value!

Room Tip: Request a room to the back of the hotel, up on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,579 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
#27 of 231 in San Francisco
431 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#19 of 231 in San Francisco
5,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro Hotel

Address: 319 Divisadero St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £88 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming family-run boutique hotel that embodies the spirit of San Francisco focusing on human kindness, connection & simple pleasures. Our hotel is geographically in the center of San Francisco, historically known as the Western Addition the neighborhood is now referred to as Nopa (North of the Panhandle) which is near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. We boast 24-comfortable, clean, petite rooms ranging from a full bed, queen bed to rooms with multiple beds, private updated bathrooms and triple pane windows. The Metro Hotel has been featured in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. Come visit us in the world’s most diverse & vibrant city and explore our amazing cultural tapestry. Most importantly our warm, welcoming & considerate staff will make a lasting impression ensuring that your visit to The Metro will become your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing